2006 550

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW 550

$3,796 - $13,012  MSRP Range
2006 BMW 550

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2006 BMW 550?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most all-in-one package

by Sam from Oklahoma on August 21, 2010

Perfect car. Beautiful outside, luxurious inside, and the 550 purrs like a dream. I loved this car and would by a 5 series over and over again. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 550i - the best

by Black Model Boi from Baltimore, MD on February 25, 2010

I recommend any BMW in this series but defintely after the value levels out after 3yrs. This is the best stragedy to pay for true value and not take anymore large drops in value to price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It is fun to drive.

by Muda from Fairfax VA on September 8, 2008

It is a wonderfull vehicle. This was my first BMW and now I am sold to BMW. The only down side is - not very impressive gas mileage - but once you ride the car you will forget about mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rides like a dream

by BMWfanatic from Santa Barbara, CA on July 4, 2010

Best combination of power,handling and luxury that I have ever experienced in a car. I have the special M body kit and sometimes the front bumper is too low to park near curbs. Only issue I have ever had with the car and it has 60 thousand miles on it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best handling car in my life

by Jose BMW lover from Mexico city on January 7, 2007

The car is explendid,I would like a litlle more comfort in the seating areas and space for keeping goods in the interior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most Unreliable Call I've ever owned

by Ali from on May 5, 2017

Pros: 1. V8 power and torque is really good. 2. From 2006 perspective, options offered were nice. For instance, the one I own has Sports package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, Navigation, Active Steering, Adaptive headlights, Bi-xenon headlights etc. Other options that I have heard are Heads up display, M-Sport Package etc. 3. Seats are phenomenal, the most comfortable seats of the car (believe me, I've driven 10 hours straight with a gas fill from DC to Atlanta) 4. Exterior sports package styling is really nice 5. Interior dashboard is average but improved significantly in LCI (life cycle impulse) models form 2008 through 2010. Cons: 1. Most unreliable car (transmission changed, iDrive changed, valve stem rings changed, security/alarm system, thigh support, window regulator, numerous RFT tires, several cracked wheels, cooling breakdown, AirCon breakdown and the list goes on and on) 2. $70k+ car, 5 years later available non-cpo for $22-25k; you can do the math

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More reliable than expected.

by ARodMCMLXIX on July 3, 2017

This car exceeded my expectations. The engine is smooth and powerful while the interior is subdued and sophisticated. I would not hesitate in purchasing this vehicle once again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best sports car ever

by MeLL from NC Charlotte on August 8, 2018

I loved it still love it can?t wait to buy another one a newer one . Speed, handling , comfort, tech all in one car I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The last of the great German drivers cars

by Milky white Carrera from Chicago on August 15, 2018

Remember the era of the great sports sedans from Germany? Steering feel and light weight. Not the heavy turbo monsters with hi tech and comfort distractions. The 550i (code e60) is a true drivers car. Shares the famous E39 underpinnings with aluminum front end to save weight. Has the flamed surface design from Chris Bangle when BMW wasn?t afraid to be bold. All of the recent BMW designs are bland and don?t evoke the thrill of new ground and modernism like the E60.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2006 BMW 550

A fast and maneuverable sedan with tight handling, superb shifting, responsive steering and a lush interior, the new BMW 550i embodies all those good things that permit BMW to crow about ultimate driving machines.

The 550 is an upgrade of the 545, with a bigger V-8 that churns out 360 horsepower, enough for thrilling acceleration and an EPA-imposed gas-guzzler tax of $1,000.

But once you've shelled out $65,000, the cost of the test car with options, that extra grand is just a blip. Of course, there also is the frequent stops for $3-a-gallon gas, but hey.

The new V-8 is a muscular unit that emits a high-performance growl and packs loads of torque, enough for significant pulling power even in sixth gear... Read More