Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2012 550

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW 550

$13,371 - $23,823  MSRP Range
2012 BMW 550

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 BMW 550?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience

by Autotransformer from Orange County, Ca on Wed Oct 16 2013

Excellent sport style, super fast, excellent driving control, you need to drive it to see for yourself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car for my bad back

by Dr G from Winter Springs on Sun May 29 2016

Best combination of comfort and forgiveness for my back on long ride. I had 3 back surgeries and have been having to make custom chairs in the past 10 years at a cost of $1500 per/- had to make the changes on 3 occasions (Lexus 430, Mercedes 550 and Audi A8).- 6 months ago, I bought an off-lease BMW 550i and never regretted it. Better yet, I am getting 23mpg in combined City/Hway driving after more than 10K miles. EPA rating is 15 City-22 Hway. Not bad if you ask me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle in great shape

by WWStuck, owner from Greenville SC on Fri Nov 03 2017

Great speed and handling. Has had no electronic or mechanical problems. Paint looks brand new on this 5 year old model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Extremely comfortable, very fast yet soft

by MisterJax from Chicago, Il. on Thu Jun 15 2017

It's too big for me but it's comfortable, easy to drive with heated and AC Seats. It's a luxury car but not much of a drivers car despite the 450HP.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it....

by avery b from charlotte, NC on Tue Dec 06 2016

buy it, enjoy it. love it!!!!! It is the ultimate driving machine. i really hesistated about buying it at first, but now i kick myself because i didnt cross over sooner...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If You Can Afford It...

by BGJonno from Highland Park, Illinois on Wed May 24 2017

I would often tell my friends that owning the BMW 550i XDrive was like a dream that occasionally startled you out of nowhere with a nightmare. Without a doubt the most amazing machine I've ever owned, driven, ridden in, etc. Silky smooth with ridiculous power and comfort features. Be aware, however, that this car is prone to serious repair issues that cost thousands to address. Take my advice, don't fall for the beauty if you can't afford to repair it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I have owned!

by Paula K from Liberty Hill on Tue Dec 05 2017

This a is comfortable ride and I have enjoyed driving it. This dependable vehicle has a lot of extras including a Dinan exhaust system; and Sport and Comfort mode.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance

by Bmw fan from Chicago, IL on Tue Aug 29 2017

Great driver. High performance. Drives like it's on rails. Great fit and finish. Even after a few years of use, it is solid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car so far

by 550ifan on Sun Jul 15 2018

The perfect match between family sedan, and sports car. More power that you'd ever need, and room for 4 with handling to match. Sport mode transforms this family sedan into a real beast, and the styling is pure, clean, and refined. The M-Sport package gives you all of the niceties (and horsepower) of the M, without the insurance bill . Comfort mode allow your o escape that harsh ride and aggressive reaction to every control put and ride in comfort and style. A true "Transformer" of a car. My favorite car so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best BMW that I have owned

by Mdude from Denver, Co on Wed Feb 21 2018

I have owned a lot of BMW's but this particular one is my favorite. So far it's been very reliable no issues at all. I love the V8 Twin turbo with all wheel drive. I got pretty much every package you can have. She is fast, beautiful comfortable and turns into a M when you hit the sport button.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 BMW 550

Editor's note: This review was written in November 2010 about the 2011 BMW 550. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

I don't walk away from every new model with a single overriding impression, but sometimes a car grabs me by the collar and shakes me. While that wasn't exactly the case with the redesigned 2011 BMW 5 Series, that car did consistently whisper in my ear.

If the new 5 Series is anything, it's quiet and comfortable.

This new level of comfort broadens the sport sedan's appeal, but at the same time the newly redesigned car gives up even more of its old visceral experience, which... Read More