Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 645

Consumer Reviews

2004 BMW 645

$5,566 - $15,386  MSRP Range
2004 BMW 645

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 BMW 645?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 645 Does Not Disappoint

by ladynred from California on Sun Jan 13 2013

These cars stand the test of time when maintained. Exterior styling is sporty, slightly aggressive, but still refined. These cars cradle the driver in comfort and responsiveness while simultaneously providing all the luxury options. Seats are very comfortable, dash is easy to view, and when all windows and top are up, the ride is amazingly quiet. Fantastic car, highly recommened!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bimmer ever made

by gulfstreamgary from Akron, Ohio on Mon May 08 2017

This fine coupe is the best car I have ever owned. It has a 325+HP 8 cyl matched with a 6 speed manual that shifts like silk. This car handles like it's on rails on high speed turns, & stops straight on a dime. With the cruise control set at 75mph I get 28-30 mpg. Built for comfort & speed in 2004 this six coupe is the first generation since the 1988 635

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most enjoyable drive

by BMW fan from London on Tue Jan 02 2007

it combines precision, comfort and superior handling....as precise as a BMW 335 but , with much better comfort levels i wish i could have got the M6

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun in the sun!

by The Thomas J from Staten Island, NY on Thu May 24 2018

The only way to own a BMW 645 is to have a convertible and 6 speed manual transmission. Fantastic combination that offers fantastic performance. Press the sport mode button and the BMW 645 becomes a barely containable beast! The ride is very comfortable. Not overly firm. Just enough bounce to absorb the harsh bumps in the road. The car handles very crisply with the standard suspension setup. Adding the sport package gives you active steering and that makes an already well handling car handle even better. Steering wheel movements are precise. I strongly suggest looking for a car with the winter package that adds heated seats and a heated steering wheel. Seats are very comfortable. Long trips are an absolute joy. Don't be afraid of long trips away from home. The BMW 645's trunk is much larger than it looks even with the soft top storage try down. There aren't to many negative's with this model. The few complaint's I have is.. 1. Only one cup holder 2.the i-drive on early and later models is archaic. There is no Bluetooth, USB, or AUX port on 2004-2006 models. There are several aftermarket solutions available for the consumer that can be added on. 3. Despite it being such a large car the back seat seems smaller than my old BMW 3 series convertible e46 model. 4. The Guage package is seriously lacking. For some reason BMW decided to remove the traditional fuel economy Guage that has graced BMW dashboard's for nearly 40 years. There isn't even a coolant tempature Guage. But, there is an oil temperature guage. I find this all odd. I would have liked to see the fuel economy guage and an option to look at the readouts through the digital readouts that the driver can scroll through. Again, there are aftermarket solutions if the lack of these instruments truly bother someone. The reality is that most of these issues fad away when you start driving, drop the top and hit the gas. The smile on your face will be ear to ear. What to look for when buying a BMW 645? As with every used car purchase it's buyer beware. However if you must buy a used BMW look to see if proper maintenance has been preformed as well as the few major weak spots of the 4.5 liter V8. These engines were known for their excessive leaking of oil and coolant, burning oil and tail pipe smoking. There are 3 repairs that can be costly for an individual but relatively inexpensive at the dealer level as these repairs have become routine. Look for cars that have had oil valve seals, valve cover gaskets, timing cover gaskets, and anything else associated with an oil leak or oil burning repaired. Also look for cars that have had the main coolant pipe replaced as well. Once these repairs have been done they are life time repairs for the most part. Outside of those 3 issues these engines are rock solid can take a ton of hard driving. With proper maintence these motors will last hundreds of thousands of miles. I highly recommend the BMW 6 series.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to own the 645

by J.Chap from Tulsa on Fri Feb 16 2018

This vehicle handle very nice and I was not expecting such a quality performance in an older model. The BMW 645 definitely surpasses its competition in every category in my opinion. The perfect car for a nice sunday drive or just everyday for that matter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Manual screamer

by colink from Oklahoma on Sun Dec 16 2012

Bought in 2012 with very low mileage. Dealer was able to activate Bluetooth and together with Voice Control I feel the car has most of the technology regular 2012 cars have. I love the convertible top. The engine revs higher on the freeway in 6th gear than I would like but, is probably more responsive because of that. Still has the original run flat tires so probably more road noise, but for a convertible sports car, the ride/noise/comfort is really very good. Had an Active Steering fault occur, but it was addressed by topping up the Pentosin fluid. Interested to see if some of the more frequently reported issues will occur (cracked rims, worn valve intermediate levers, coolant transfer pipe leak). All in all, compared with Mercedes of the same age I think the BMW will be more reliable/less costly to maintain. The BMW interior is very nice, but not quite as nice as Mercedes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks Like a Super Car

by Black and Tan from St. Louis, MO on Wed Feb 06 2008

I have received more compliments on this car than any other I have had in my garage. Performance is tops. Ride is perfect. Don't buy this car with out the sports package! There is a very noticeable difference. Very happy with the car and as always BMW builds a superior low maintenance car. No problems to date. And just as important.... The exhaust system sounds good! I have to agree with most, the i-drive system takes a little getting used to, but it is a very convenient system once you get the hang of it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite BMW!

by My favorite BMW from Chicago, IL on Sun Dec 16 2007

I have owned many BMW's M3, M5, X5, 745 and this car is my favorite. The handling styling and reliablity have been second to none. You combine the comfort of a 7 series with the handling and responsiveness of an M. I have owned my car since July of 2004 and it has only been in the shop for scheduled maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by bob from arizona on Fri Mar 25 2011

I have owned this car for over three years,and have not had any mech problems whatsoever, it handles great and I get nothing but compliments about the look of the car, especially when the top is down. It is an excellent value for the money when it is compared to the other two or three other comparable sports car convertibles in its class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

high tech problems

by sports car lover from georgia on Tue Sep 14 2010

my 645ci has had several problems before 45,000 mi the electronic steering, speakers going bad ars system failure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 BMW 645

Surrender Without Shame
2004 BMW 645Ci Convertible

Winter had broken its truce with spring, sending in cold winds and chilled rain. The top was not coming down on the 2004 BMW 645Ci convertible in that climatic betrayal. I was not disappointed.

My spirits remained aloft with the cloth roof. That is the power of this car, also available as a hardtop coupe. It is motorized Valium. Rain or shine, soft top or hard, it brings smiles to the tightest faces, parts the stiffest lips.

It is a matter of letting go, yielding to the machine. In this case, there is joy in surrender.

The 645Ci convertible is no ordinary car. It isn't practical, nor is it politically correct. It is not ashamed of... Read More