Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 650

Consumer Reviews

2008 BMW 650

$9,813 - $20,821  MSRP Range
2008 BMW 650

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

24 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 BMW 650?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Everything you could want in a Luxury Sports Car

by MAC from San Jose, CA on Tue Dec 16 2008

Luxury or performance, that is the question. In this case you get both, without compromise. This car is so understated in it's raw power and low end torque; yet so smooth, quiet, and comfortable that there is scarcely a sense of speed at all. At higher speeds it hunkers down, becomes very stable and predictable, and remains as quiet as a concert hall before the tap of the conductor's baton. Unless you watch the speedo (and I love the heads up display) suddenly you'll be backing down from the brink of a very big ticket. It's pure joy to drive on a winding back country road but equally enjoyable on an uninhibited freeway. Performance is where this car excels. Craftmanship inside and out is top notch. There is a pervasive feeling of control and security, luxury and comfort. I must confess however, I've never spend time in the rear seat. Any shortcomings seem to disappear with time and experience. My 650i is the 6 speed manual and it runs through the gears so quickly one needs to work at the throttle and stick shift to get it right. Next time I'd be tempted by the paddle shift. The visibility is not great. Outboard mirrors are small and tinted which makes driving at night in traffic a bit tentative at first. There's in overly impressive array of electronics that take some time to learn. My suggestion is to master the driving of this car first, then learn the electronics and the I-Drive system later. Better yet, have your passenger handle the entertainment, navigation, and climate control while you devote undivided attention to the many elements of mastering the road at high speed. As a former owner of a 330i, I found the 650i more difficult to drive because everything happens quicker yet the details are more subtle. But dang if it isn't a whole lot more fun to drive. And after all that you'll arrive in comfort and style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Luv this Car

by louisiana girl from shreveport, la on Mon Jun 24 2013

I absolutely LOVE my car! I drive it on my off days. I've never had a true love affair with a car, but now I do. The BMW 650 is awesome! My family (uncle, mom, cousins) luvs it too. Im having trouble connecting my music to the idrive because I have a android phone. Also, although it has a back seat, the back seat is null & void. Other than that, its an awesome toy

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best bmw i have owned yet!

by mexicodoug from cancun mexico on Fri Oct 17 2008

Fantastic machine. From the styling to the performance I have been impressed with this car. The concrete highways in the Mayan Riviera can get incredibly dangerous when wet, or at high speeds and needing to stop or slow down quickly. The performance enhancements incorporated into the power performance leave peace of mind for weekend trips :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

08 junky

by 08 junky from los angeles,ca on Mon Dec 23 2013

got this car with 29k at about 31k the top did not open or closed took to a dealer they fixed but it continued to do the same, the next problem was transmission noise when shifting .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun

by Donmat from Cinn on Mon Apr 16 2012

This car is the most fun you could have , with 4 seats . The back are ok for kids only. Fast and nimble , looks are it's best feature . I get told "nice Car " everywhere I go .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2008 BMW 650i w/ sport package - Review

by TylerV8 on Tue Sep 05 2017

The BMW 650i is hands down the best grand tourer for the money. The 650i packs a 4.8 liter V8 producing 362hp and 361 lb-ft of torque. The result is a 0-60 time of 5 seconds flat with a top speed of 155 mph. But, a grand tourer isn't just about going fast. It's about being seen and the 650i certainly draws attention. Even today this car still looks every bit as expensive as it's original 80 plus thousand MSRP. Speaking from experience, when I brought this car to work, the owner of the company asked how much they were paying me. He thought I bought a new $90,000 car. It embodies the elegant sportiness of cars like the Aston Martin DB11 for a fraction of the cost. The car boasts an elegant interior with high-quality materials that can compete with even the best luxury cars. The seats are well bolstered providing comfort for long trips. The dashboard mirrors the car's exterior with elegant curves. The center controls lean toward the driver creating a driver focused cockpit. The car's handling is perfect for daily driving. It provides the right balance of comfort and feel with shift points that never feel too slow or too aggressive. For those days where you want to have even more fun you can unleash the car's sportiness by pushing the sport button. Sport mode transforms the 650i into a high revving, low growling beast that fully delivers on BMW's ultimate driving machine promise. Overall you will be hard pressed to find a car for under $25,00 that delivers the luxury and driving experience of the 650i. Verdict, not only is the car a statement piece to impress your friends, it is an excellent daily driver and sports car. It is the ultimate grand touring machine. A low mileage example of this car can be had for just under $25,000.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car, ever

by vahshe driver from CA on Sun Dec 23 2007

Amazing car, in love with the performance, interior very classy, and brakes are excellent!!! " I love traffic, now that I have my BMW..650 conv......." Basic Package is fully loaded, Who could want anything more??

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ride

by Shisam from California on Thu May 24 2012

Awesome drive and great handling. It defines the Ultimate Driving Machine.... Fun, Fast, and a Convertible!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun to drive, performance when you need it.

by SAVI from Frederick, Maryland on Mon Nov 05 2018

Performance when you need it and economical when your cruising. Fun to drive top up or top down. The car has automanual transmission which can be manually shifted with the stick or the paddle shift on the steering wheel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth the cash & the wait

by Working Stiff from Northwest, OH on Sun Mar 27 2011

Purchased an '08 black/black convertible at 15K miles in late 2010. Have driven for 3K miles, and could not be happier with my purchase. I am coming from large SUV's (Denali/QX56), and have never missed them for the type of driving I do most. Car was very stable in the snow with the addition of OEM 18" rims and new Dunlop snow tires. This car also has the cold weather package, and the heated steering wheel and seats make a huge difference when the snow is flying. Have been continuously impressed with the driving feel of this car, as it is both heavy enough to handle all road types, and responsive to even the most aggressive driving styles. Have yet to try sport mode, as the 6 speed manual is enough to enjoy the power and refinement of the engine and transmission. One feature that I really enjoy is the heads up display, though I never would have thought it would be of any real use. It is great for both speed and nav assistance, and is one of those gimmicky options that actually is worth the hype. The back seat is small, yet enough for 1 or 2 child booster seats when needed. Unless you are under 5' 10", I highly doubt hat you could fit any larger car seats in the car.....but probably not an issue as this is not meant to be the "grocery getter". Interior sound is much better than expected, and the upgraded sound system does an excellent job, even with the top down and at high speed. The only complaint I have is the lack of any aggressive exhaust notes. Even with the top down, the overall note is a bit too subdued.... It hides the audible aspect f the power of the ride, and could use a bit of after market help without even approaching obnoxious. Waited for this car, and paid less than half original sticker after 15k miles.....a great car and a great deal. This may be the one I keep stored for the summers, after I decide on a different daily driver in a couple years. BMW does not disappoint with this total package....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 BMW 650

The BMW 6 Series blends performance and luxury in a way few BMWs, relative to their competitors, have managed to do, and it throws in just enough practicality that it might actually suffice as the only car you'd own. Don't get me wrong: This is no sedan substitute, but it does pack just enough utility to give it a leg to stand on when your sensibilities — or spouse — try to rein you in.

The 6 Series comes as a 650i coupe or soft-top convertible. There's also a high-performance M6 version that's covered separately on Cars.com. The current 6 Series was introduced for 2004; through the years it's received a larger engine and, for 2008, a few styling tweaks. Click... Read More