1995 740

Consumer Reviews

1995 BMW 740

1995 BMW 740

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 BMW 740?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by LoveMyCar from Charlotte, NC on Tue Sep 19 2006

I think this car has helped my personal life and my business, and it wasn't even that expensive used.....Definately worth it! Looks like a million bucks and is extremely classy. Demands respect and handles like a champ. Definately hooked on BMW's now. I see why they call them luxury cars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New low quality cars don't beat the 95 BMW 740i

by Bimerfan from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Aug 28 2010

This is the kind of car I like when I'm on the market. If I compare this car to others marked for the same price, I surley pick this BMW. Its powerful horsepower, super confortable, elegant, quiet, sporty when looking for performance and good on gas milage for being 8 cyl. No way I would pick other cars if I can get this one for the same price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent vehicle

by happy owner from Madison, WI on Mon Oct 03 2011

I purchased this car on a whim as I've always thought it was a beautiful ride. I purhased mine knowing it had some electrical and mechanical issues due to it's owner not being able to maintain it properly. I did all of the needed repairs myself and now I wouldn't trade this car, with 140,000 miles on it, for any NEW car I've ever owned. It is quiet, quick, nimble, very comfortable, handles beautifully, has amazing traction control, all the bells and whistles anyone could hope for and, it's just plain FUN to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Rosa from Chicago on Fri Mar 04 2011

This is the best BMW. Its super comfortable, elegant, quiet, best looking car. I would not pick other cars if I can get this one for the same price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

tHE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE

by LEADERONE from MILWAUKEE, WI on Tue Dec 06 2011

LONE RANGER HAD SILVER I HAVE MY 1995 BMW 740IL ID RECOMMEND THIS YEAR AND MODEL TO ANYONE LOOKING TO PURCHASE AN AUTOMOBILE LIKE THIS TRULY EVERYTHING ELSE IS JUST CARS HAD A FENDER BENDER A YEAR AGO SO I PURCHASED A 92MERCEDES 300SEL WAS AT A LOST SO I SOLD IT AND BOUGHT ANOTHER BMW740IL THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE YES YES

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth & Powerful

by BMDubz from on Mon Sep 24 2012

I have had this car for almost 2 years. It drives beautifully. You feel very comfortable in the seats at any speed. I have been over 100mph and there was no noise or vibration. It is unbelievably smooth. It is the perfect blend of elegance and sport. Make sure you get it from a reputable dealer or a private owner who did regular maintenance. This is very important.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Occasional Worthwhile Moneypit

by Euro_Car_Guy on Wed Apr 11 2018

It was a 64,000 car in 1995. That was expensive then. It was worth it to those that could afford it. From it's onset these cars had their issues, like most do. The service records show that the fuel pump was replaces within 6 months. The tail lights had issues. These are still common issues today for those that still own them. Aside from that, these cars were and still are in some respects ahead of the times. They ride like a knew car, well better than. They have weight and stability that give the driver a feeling of confidence that makes any drive a better experience than that one can get from most cars. Newer cars and even trucks feel light and fragile. For good reason; they are! The drive for safety in the respect of having the car take the impact opposed to the driver has lead most designers to find ways of creating a more lightweight vehicle that will collapse quickly. sadly too much emphasis was an is placed on this opposed to leaving the aspect of the more heavy-duty car still there and focusing more on the internal/cabin safety features. The lighter weight vehicles also mean more rust-prone materials being used. And the use of ABS/Plastic/Polymers etc. some of which are concenogenics. That 'new car smell'? It's poisonous to you. Literally! Anyway, on the downside, these cars are laden with so many options, bells and whistles (eg electronic read window shade - yeah try to find one in any other car!) that something is bound to go wrong more often. So inherently we have the feeling of dependability when it matters in times of the thought of a long trip. Plus we all know that when were in a desperate situation like breaking down on the highway and our BMW is towed to the nearest garage in the middle of nowhere, that has seen at the most 1-2 BMW's ever, sees gold being towed into their driveway! Overall opinion, if you have the ability to maintain one, it'll be the best ride you'll get even better than most cars that are new today. Keep the drives local (ish) and have a current AAA membership or roadside assistance program with your insurer!. Fun, wonderful. comfortable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sick ride

by gev from on Fri Jan 08 2010

for a 1995 car this is the best condintion u will find after test driving it now i understand germen engeniring!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smoothest car ever and beautiful condition for a 9

by Sabina from on Sat Dec 25 2010

I would never be able to tell it was a 95 looking at it inside and out. Its very well taken care of.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SPORTY & ENJOYABLE

by JHANNOLD from INDIANAPOLIS, IN on Tue Apr 18 2017

THIS IS ONE ENJOYABLE CAR TO DRIVE, IT GETS A LOT OF LOOKS AS I DRIVE AROUND. YOU FEEL SAFE THAT IT WEIGHS 4115 LBS, THAT GIVES IT A GOOD FEELING ON THE ROAD.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 BMW 740

NEW ORLEANS -- MY FATHER hadn't left the house for weeks. He was incarcerated by illness. But something of his old irascible self was stirring this particular morning. He wanted to get out.

Of course, he was too proud to say, "I want to go out." That would have implied a request for assistance, inasmuch as he can no longer drive.

So Dad approached the subject through careful inquiry -- a method he developed over years of work as a biology and chemistry teacher, and as a fellow of the National Science Foundation.

"What is it you have out there?" he asked, motioning toward the driveway.

"A BMW," I said.

"A BMW? Is it a big car?" he asked, which meant, "Can I get in and out of it easily? Will... Read More