1998 740

Consumer Reviews

1998 BMW 740

$15 - $8,083  MSRP Range
1998 BMW 740

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 BMW 740?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

THE ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE!!!!

by 5 Beemer owner from CHICAGO, IL on Mon Jul 19 2010

tHIS IS AND WAS the best CAR i HAVE EVER OWNED AND I AM ON THE 5TH 740 MODEL!!!! Do not believe the statements here by some owner that said his car fell apart...that is a stupid statement as this is the BEST most solid automobile that drives like no other, none! It requires good maintenance, how hard is it to change oil and update needed items that wear out...this is the car that is worth while keeping. I have owned them with the following mileages: 46,000, 166,000, 296,000, 92,000 and now I bought my 5th with 137,000. I expect to drive it to 200,000 miles and get another! This is absolutely the best driving experience for the money and the new ones are over $100,000 now! This automobile provides a solid road feel like no other, no other German car beats this vehicle. Not a Mercedes, not an Audi...this is truly the Ultimate Driving Machine...drive one and you will see...your wife will like it even more and your children will too when you hand it down....There are plenty of shops that repair them and have good reputations and are not charging dealer prices as well. THE BEST!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A FINE MACHINE !!! LOADS OF POWER AND STYLE!!!

by stavy from FL on Wed Nov 24 2010

I HAVE OWNED BENZ'S, LEXUS'S,CADDY'S ETC.. BOUGHT IT USED CERTIFIED ITS A 98..HAD 43K MILES..JUST HIT 155K MILES, HAVE PUT $7K INTO IT AFTER WARRANTY EXPIRED...BUT I MAINTAIN IT METICULOUSLY...UNREAL PERFORMANCE AND POWER. HUGE INSIDE , GREAT TRUNK SPACE...WOULDNT BUY WITHOUT SOME KIND OF WARRANTY...AND FOR THOSE THAT COMPLAIN ABOUT REPAIR COST...YOU SHOULDNT BUY IT IF MONEY IS AN ISSUE...MY DAD ALWAYS SAID "IF U WANNA LOOK THE PART,YOU HAVE TO PAY THE PRICE" IT WAS WELL WORTH EVERY PENNY.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A dream car

by Luxury Car Enthusiast from Wake Forest, NC on Sun Jan 10 2010

I've driven a BMW 740iL since 2001. I puchased my 1998 used with about 40K miles. It's the perfect combination of luxury and comfort with sport handling. The "iL" version, with it's extended leg room, helps your passengers feel as though they are being driven in a limousine. The ride is so comfortable, you can find yourself going 85mph without knowing it. The car doors are heavy and solid. They give a very satisfying closing sound...you can really hear and feel the quality in the vehicle. You also have an extra sense of safety with everything being so solid. The engine gives a nice growl when you goose it and it can hug a corner like a race car. The appearance is of a stately luxury ride. Purchased used, I don't think there is any other car on the road that can match the value and comfort. The only draw back is the cost of repairs. When you need to repair something, it will be costly working with an authorized BMW dealership. They charge and arm and a leg for parts and their services, so if you don't do work on the vehicle yourself, then plan on the maintenance expenses if you purchase this vehicle. If you can find a used car that has been well maintained, then there isn't a better car available to give you a feeling of status at a very reasonable used car price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Bimmer Enthusiast from Laurel, MD on Wed Apr 07 2010

My second Bimmer... first was a 3-series from mid-80's I got new. Great little car but a little sluggish. Second was 7-series from late 90's I got as certified used. This was just the best! Tons of pep, luxuriously appointed, all the bells and whistles. And while it may be costly for a dealer to work on, I found it very easy to do routine maintenance and the odd repairs that crop up with any vehicle. As looking for my next Bimmer now and will stick with th 7-series! BTW, great Internet forums are available to help owners and prospective owners... just search for BMW forums.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Huge Bargain for a King of the Road.

by Automaniac from Ann Arbor MI on Fri Sep 27 2013

My 740iL 98 is now 15 years old, maybe 16. I bought it in 2005 for less than 10% of what it costs now. It had already 113k miles, and was not even a one or two owner car, I may be the 4th. But after asking around and test driving it twice ( I was not looking for this model but the smaller 540i with the 6 speed Manual, 1997-2003), I decided to take a risk, and was amply rewarded! The V8 purrs and at speed sounds like a turbine, Awesome sound, power, torque. The car handles as if TRULY it is on rails, utter confidence. No other peer vehicle, (flagship luxury sedan) German or not, comes close. Fuel efficiency as you would expect from a big heavy powerful car is low, but I still get 22-24 MPG HWY on long trips at high speeds. Reliability is the only area I did not give it 5 stars, but 4. There are no major problems with either the engine or transmission all these years. I spent $850 at the dealers fixing a small oil leak, in retrospect I should not have bothered. Other problems were few and very minor. In fact, in 2009 I actually MADE MONEY using this car, because I was reimbursed for 4 trips of over 1,000 miles each, and the total was far more than the full year's gas, insurance, license fees, service, repairs, and even the small depreciation! The dealers make their $ from the repairs and service, and much less from selling new cars. Therefore, if you arer wise, you will shop around and find an INDEPENDENT Mechanic that is a BMW Expert, and trust him with your repairs, if any. Dealers offer free clinics where they list all kinds of unnecessary repairs, take them (and enjoy the free food) but do not waste your $ on the repairs, just make sure the belts and hoses are OK and the car will do great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just bought- has high potential (I hope)

by High Hopes from S.F. Bayarea, Ca on Sun Nov 06 2011

I bought my 740il in late Oct 2011 for less than 5k. It had 132000 miles. It seemed to run amazingly well. It was "push you back in the seat fast" and it handled like it was on rails. The car's temp guage kept so cool,even though I was running it hard (several 0 to 80 runs, followed by quick stops) that I thought the temp guage was broken, but it isn't. I drove it a little, bt did not want to do much driving until I had it inspected. I then found out that the car needed suspension work, major front and rear brake work, power steering pump replacement, and various other work, along with a full tune-up and servicing, which is costing another 5k. I'm hoping that with all the work done, it will be once again in its' glory days, and that I could rate some things higher than I did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4 I BMW owner

by kba5757 from plainfield, IL on Mon Jan 28 2013

that is one great and reliable car to own. I purchased this car with the intent of reselling it for a profit and I decided to make it my second car!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

275k miles . Drives great , go anywhere, anytime

by DC from VA on Fri Dec 01 2017

Most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned. 4.4 v8 very responsive and handling is by far greater than other vehicles on the market that are newer or even brand new that sell for 40k or less. My 740il is 20 yrs old and to go on a long trip would not consider taking anything else. I have 275k miles currently and plan on driving it to 500k. . I bought it used with 140k and have never been stranded. Would not trade even for a new car that are on the market that sell less than 30k. Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good value for what it is

by Car from TN, PT on Wed Mar 28 2018

Has saved my life. Apart from that let's write a review. First off all, if you own one you should spend a bit of money on getting g the 6th shift as it really needs it and doesn't come with it Second acceleration is really the worst part of the car, even in 0% inclination

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and Safe..

by Tony T from Los Angeles on Fri Feb 17 2012

740i Purchased used with a relatively low 66,000 miles; absolutely the most amazing sedan ever built. The drivetrain will take you a very long way, but as the assessories age they will fail, and replacement costs -maintenance will be high priced (as others I'm sure have commented here). I am fortunate to have a great, honest independent BMW mechanic. This car is impressive on the highway and extremely comfortable in annoying city traffic. In my opinion the seats were designed better than Mercedes from this vintage. You really can't go wrong with the 7's from '95 to '01 but watch for it's history and service records.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 BMW 740

If I ever hit the lottery, there will be a BMW 7-series car in my palatial driveway, along with a Jaguar XJR, a Range Rover and several motorcycles.

The 7-series is precisely the kind of car you want to put your family in. It feels as strong and safe as your average bank vault.

With six air bags - and 2 more as options - in addition to traction and stability control systems, it seems unthinkable that a driver or passengers could get seriously injured in anything short of a freak accident or natural disaster - such as an airplane crashing on the car or the ground disappearing from underneath it.

PERFORMANCE, HANDLING

The 7-series comes in 740 and 750 models.

The 740 sports BMW's 4.4-liter four-cam... Read More