2000 740

Consumer Reviews

2000 BMW 740

$753 - $12,345  MSRP Range
2000 BMW 740

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

15 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 BMW 740?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

New owner

by Happy BMW Owner from Westville, NJ on Sun Feb 26 2012

I love this car. I have put 4k miles on it in a month with one issue. The fuel level sending unit says I have 75 miles to go and I ran out of gas for the first time in my life. The car is comfortable and has too many options that all work! I just sold an infiniti so I am not worried about the price of the fix. I just don't want it to break often that is why I bought this car with 99k on it. I drive 1100 per week and cannot afford to break down ever 2k. And it doesn't. With my bad neck and my wife's bad back the seats are like heaven. Handling is amazing, like you are not driving a 2 ton vehicle. Fast and agile! A true drivers machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Strong Powerful Luxury Car fit for executive!

by DanceMaster from san francisco on Sat Dec 16 2017

740il has plenty of legroom to stretch out and play in the back! Ceiling is high so head space is huge. This car is powerful and solid like a tank! Definitely safety is utmost importance so if you hit another car, you will survive in this BMW due to plenty of crumble zone and solid structure! Luxury options include leather, heated seats, black tinted windows for privacy, Sunroof, GPS, MultiDisk CD player, premium sound speakers! V8 Engine e38 Fast & Powerful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than most new cars

by Karas from Naples, FL on Tue Feb 27 2018

Drove for then years. Went from 1997 740i to new Infiniti fx45, mazda cx9, mercedes e class, chevy volt and went back to e38 for another 5 years till now. 2000 740i with m sport package absolutely blast to drive. I have everything done on my car including whole cooling, gaskets, vanos front rear suspension and ride is absolutely rewarding.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value for the Price

by Noles Fan from Tallahassee, FL on Mon Nov 15 2010

I was a Corvette owner for years and purchased a used 2000 740IL two years ago. The larger vehicle handles just as well if not better than the Corvette. Plenty of power for such a heavy car. Very comfortable for me and my two over six foot sons. Great value for the money. I didn't like the cup holders and the plastic moldings on the bottom of the inside door frame easily scratches if you drag your foot on it. A car built this well should have solid moldings that don't scratch the paint off when used as designed. Otherwise, a great car that I have had no problems with since I purchased it. I do my own maintenance so the expense is low. I have traveled extensively in this car and am very pleased with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Beast

by Bshaw from OHIO on Sun Mar 28 2010

I purchased a low mileage black on black 2000 740i Sport in the spring of 2008. I had the car shipped to Ohio from CA. The car was in great shape, but I have spent about $7,000 bringing the car up to my standards - this includes both mechanical and aesthetic work, as well as updating Navigation software and replacing all speakers. The car runs very strong, and rides like a dream. It does not handle as deftly as the smaller 3 and 5 series models, but given its weight, you would expect that. Repairs are not cheap!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Makalumike from AZ on Tue Aug 18 2009

It is the best handling car that I have driven to date. It feels very solid and corners like it is on rails.I have the Sport "M" package which probably contributes to the cornering. Still, the ride is very comfortable. With the low used prices it is a great value premium car. It could be expensive to fix but this year does not appear to have any major problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car

by Jen from New York, NY on Mon Jul 07 2008

This is one of the best cars i have ever owned. It is safe and has power when you need it. I would recommend this vehicle to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome performance car

by trotter from Bay Area, California on Wed Nov 19 2008

Excellent car, especially the driving experience. Solidly built. Can be pricey to repair. Recommend strongly used because such a great value compared to what they sold for initially.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the very Best Car

by Ben from dallas on Mon Jun 27 2016

This is the very best car I have ever driven. Driven 911, 740il, 750iL etc. None compare to the 2000.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 BMW 740IL

by Eddie from Atlanta on Tue Oct 04 2011

The 2000 BMW 740 IL is an excellent vehicle. I was able to purchase agreat example for the price I wanted. The performance, styling and quality are just what I wanted. There is one important factor. Do your research. I apent alot of time learning about this vehicle and the common issues. With this vehicle, areas of concern are: Cooling System, Thrust Arms on the front end and minor issues with trim quality. Once again do your research and check the car you choose. Another point is, find a reliable BMW mechanic before you buy. This was an expensive vehicle and with that in mind it can be expensive to repair. If you find a reasonable mechanic first, you will have an enjoyable experience. The heft of this car coupled with the performance and amenities gove you a safe reliable performer. Per my mechanic, BMW strived to improve fuel economy and control weight. Thus they used many plastic components instead of heavier or metal parts. Cooling system issues come from plastic necks and parts of the radiator. The interior trim pieces that should be metal are plastic. Of course the wood grain is of the highest quality. The car still gets admiring looks after 10 years and is a source of pride. My most important advice is that all that glitters is not gold. A car that looks great (BMW paint and Leather are the best) can be a financial albatross if the core (Engine/Transmission) is not checked. Find a mechanic first. You will have the little crazy things like cupholders and pixels but that is the norm. Another point of advice is to join a car club. E-38.org is my recommendation. They have every DIY project and forum to keep your car in great shape. Also they have the hook-up for parts which you will need. If you have a good mechanic, you can buy your parts wholesale and avoid Dealers. The Dealers will kill you. This was a 70K car when new and if you find a good one under 10K, you don't want to have to pay for it over again at a dealer. In addition, their prices vary for the same work. It all depends on whether they want to soak you or not. Closing out, don't let others discourage you because they don't do their homework.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 BMW 740

BMW's big 740i sedan has never exactly been a wallflower, but the availability of a Sport package ($2,600) gives it new vigor that brings it closer to being the life of the party.

The 7-series is BMW's flagship four-door. The 740i has a 4.4-liter V8 and starts at $62,970. The 750i has a 5.4-liter V12 and starts at $92,670. These prices are way beyond the average buyer, I know, but BMW sold more than 18,000 last year.

Our test car was equipped with BMW's in-dash navigation system, an $1,800 option on the 740i but standard on the 750i. This system uses GPS satellites to pinpoint the car's exact location at all times, which is then displayed on a small color screen in the center of the dash... Read More