2017 M2

Consumer Reviews

2017 BMW M2

$52,500 - $52,500  MSRP Range
2017 BMW M2

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

13 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 BMW M2?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

M2 is a BEAST!

by EYung from Oakland Gardens on Wed Sep 06 2017

This car is a beast. I already knew that it had a lot of power but you really feel it when you drive one. It is a pleasure and a joy to drive. It handles corners well and sticks to the road. You wouldn't think it's a RWD car. The M2 makes you feel planted to the ground. Definitely would recommend to someone who is a BMW and a M fan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It is a nice car, with excellent handling and grea

by M2 FLL from Pompano Beach on Sat Jul 08 2017

It is a fast car, good size so it is fun to drive. I really like it. I had to wait 6 months to get the car, due the production it is limited; however I realized it was worth to wait for this car. I am very happy with my new M2.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

M2: WOW!

by Nhock2 from Crownsville, MD on Sun May 21 2017

I knew the motoring press loved the new M2, however, its not until you take delivery at BMW's Performance Center in Spartanburg, SC that you realize just how truly terrific this car really is! The team of the BMW Performance Center Delivery Program is the only way to experience and learn just how outstanding the M2 really is. The PCD program provides you with time on the Performance Center's track, led by the team of BMW Driving Instructors who safely show the driver the superior performance and handling capabilities of the car you you have purchased, while you are driving their cars. The M2 far exceeds my expectations in every detail. We took five days driving home, mostly on the Blue Ridge Parkway, a fun way to learn about the car. The M2 is simply an all around great car. with pricing that allows you to purchase it without a second mortgage. How great is that??

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An Exhilarating Drive

by CB98 from Los Angeles, California on Sun Jul 09 2017

Great value. Very good performance and exterior styling. By far the most fun BMW M Vehicle I have driven yet.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Baby Beast is a Pocket Rocket!

by Ucitykid2 from Saint Louis, MO on Mon Jan 29 2018

I bought this car to replace my current pocket rocket and am delighted! It's aggressive styling, spartan interior, 6-speed manual, and the driving experience to match. The engine has low end torque and the exhaust note is suitably snarly. Comfort mode is quite civil and sport + is boisterously angry. The color is Long Beach Blue Metallic which is nice but I'd like to have had more color options. Thus far it's a 5 star hit!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW hits a home run

by Hoosier-Fan87 from Indiana on Wed Jun 07 2017

This is a terrific car! I have owned an M3 (2012), Audi RS5, and traded-in a Porsche Boxster S (2013). I had trepidation trading in the Boxster S, as that is a great car as well. Simply put, the M2 is even more fun to drive. Great power and acceleration. Modern updates like Apple Play, lane departure warning, and front-end collision safety paired with a visceral driving experience make this a great buy. I had read all of the publications about the M2 before purchasing. They are true. I am not a track guy. I simply wanted a car that is fun, practical, and didn't break the bank. The M2 can be placed in comfort mode and it is a nice daily driver. Put it in Sports or Sports+ mode, and it is a beast. The lines on the car are aggressive and bold. I love the stance and the flared front and rear fenders. The wide read end reminds me of the proportions of a Porsche 911. If you want a great looking, powerful, fun, and reasonably priced sports car, look no further.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best entry level performance vehicle imaginable.

by Jade Jimenez from Alameda, Ca on Tue Jul 04 2017

Those stunning BMW colors alone grab your eye from across the lot. The defining lines cut like diamonds, and you can't look away. Once you've built up the courage to approach, the real thrill begins. No matter if you're looking for a comfortable, luxury style vehicle to cruise the town... Or a power packed beast, with handling like claws drilling into the pavement. In the BMW M2, You've got it all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most exciting car I have ever driven!

by Rubi-Zero from Antioch on Sat Jan 27 2018

most exciting car I have ever driven with so much character and style. The sound this car makes puts a smile on your face. You just want to keep driving until your tank goes empty. BMW really recreated a second coming of the lovely iconic e46 M3 with this new platform of the M2. Go drive one now!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The car is as fun as they say.

by joakym on Mon Jul 30 2018

This car has been very reliable, a lot of fun to drive. 6 Speed manual gearbox, the executive package, apple car play, and BMW's MPerformance 3 way adjustable coil over suspension. I added the extra year of BMW maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance car!

by DCfunguy from Washington, DC on Wed May 03 2017

Picked up my new 2017 M2 and have put on almost 1k miles. Brings a smile to my face every time I fire up the engine. Superb power and handles as if on rails. DCT transmission shifts quickly, especially in Sport+ mode. Not a lot of room in the back seat or truck, so if you are looking for a roomy family car do not consider. Just a fun sports car with wonderful sounds for the weekends combined with the expected traditional BMW reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2017 BMW M2

The verdict:

If you like sharp, stylish, blisteringly fast and hugely satisfying sports cars, you should already be at a BMW dealership right now.

Versus the competition:

The M2 is very competitive, with uncompromising abilities, top-notch equipment, classic styling and a good suite of features for both track and street driving. Cars that can match the M2 on price and performance tend to be larger with bigger engines, and few match the M2’s balance and poise.

Editor's note: This review was written in September 2016 for the brand-new 2016 M2. Little has changed for 2017, but to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here.

BMW purists have lamented how the company has diluted its vaunted M Division’s prestige by offering M badge packages on just about all its cars and SUVs. But if you’re interested in something more than a 3 Series with a flashy appearance package, you can still get the real thing: a true M vehicle with a host of performance upgrades that turn it into an honest sports car, not just a sporty car.

The latest arrival from the magicians at BMW M is the new-for-2016 M2 coupe, a diminutive two-door based... Read More