2005 M3

Consumer Reviews

2005 BMW M3

2005 BMW M3

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2005 BMW M3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Sports Car

by M3vroom from Arlington, VA on Tue Apr 05 2011

2005 M3 is a great sports car. This car satisfies any driver who wants to enjoy the road. The suspension is very hard and the control arms are made of alloy. So be careful of potholes. I accidently cracked one and it costed me $800 to fix. The car is fun to drive but maitainence is as important. You would definetly need winter tires if it snows in your area. Anything above an inch of snow, this car would not be able to handle in normal tires. Even with winter tires more than 10 inches of snow is hard to handle in this car. The seats are great and the accelaration is awesome. This car is so fun to drive at any speed. You can really enjoy this car in the speed limit too. The rpm response is great and the grip on dry roads is amazing too. This car truly comes out on curvy roads. I would definetly recommend buying this car. Back seats do not have enough room for anyone taller than 5'6''. The trunk has decent room. I have never had a problem. This is my primary car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car

by Nocaster from Canada on Mon Feb 02 2009

I have just purchased a 2005 BMW M3. I test drove both the 6 speed manual and thye 6 speed SMG. Both cars I tested had almost identicle mileage but they felt very different. My thoughts on the SMG equiped M3 are that when you're in "Going for it" mode the SMG works great and is great fun. However when you're just driving in a more regular fashion the SMG is terrible. Depending on the road and traffic you're always hunting to find the right settings on the SMG when used in "Auto" setting so to speak. One test drive with the wonderful 6 speed manual and the M3 and I bonded. With the SMG unless you're really driving hard it feels like you're just along for the ride. Handling of the M3 in both real world conditions and extreme driving is is sublime. The driver can do no wrong on the M3, or at least it makes you feel that way. Build quality, materials used, comfort, eqipment, layout, looks, reliability, performance etc are all superb. Activating the "Sport" button is a waste in the city but on the open road where it's twisty and hilly it is simply jaw dropping. I always shake my head when I drive the M3 because it's a fantastic as an every day car and equally fantastic as a pure sports car. I highly suggest the M3 to anybody as a cure for boredom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Responsive is too mild a term for the M3

by Beemer believer now from Denver on Mon Aug 23 2010

Perhaps the most fun (almost practical) sports car I've driven that can seat 4 people. It's tight, rides smooth, good visibility, and also has surpising head room when the top is up. I really liked the Carbon Black exterior, it appears Midnight Blue in certain positions. How? Beats me but it's cool.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SMG killed the E46 M3

by LEO from Houston, TX on Wed Nov 29 2017

December 2013 I'd purchase the used 2005 M3 E46 Convertible with 58 k miles on it and in pristine condition. At first I love the SMG but I's spent $ 5000 replaced the SMG hydraulic pump a year later. Then in June 2017 it failed again and another $5000 to replace the new one (the new pump have 2 years warranty from BMW dealer). E46 has the timeless design style but the interior materials are all cheap plastic easily to brake except the leathers. Great engine design and performance, go with the manual if you want to get one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by M3 Enthusiast from Los Angeles on Mon Oct 25 2010

I have had my M3 Black/Black manual for about three months and love the car. It had 18,000 miles on it and it was in excellent shape. I have no complaints. I had to buy four new tires, but that was expected. I love the way the car handles and from 2-6 gear, it's smooth. The only problem I have is driving it normally and keeping the car over 2500 rpms. It wants to be driven over 3000 rpms at all times. This is a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Car

by M3 Owner from Central IL on Mon Nov 07 2011

The speed is excellent, but the ease with which it gets to speed is amazing. It simply accelerates with such grace and power. The brakes are sharp and strong, even a bit touchy, especially on the Competition Package. The interior is very high quality. It's all around a spectacular bit of engineering. And the engine, oh my that engine....perfect. I got a low mileage one, only 33,000 miles, I think that helped a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Summer Fun

by BMWeasel from Chicago, IL on Thu Apr 12 2007

Top down, loud music, sunny day and a BMW M3 convertible. What a way to start your day! The stock car is a monster in performance and handling. Hit a dime and you can tell heads or tails, but you're probably going so fast you didn't realize you ran it over. Too much fun.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by H from Washington, DC on Thu Nov 23 2006

perfect all around car! Performance, handling and 200 bucks worth of groceries in the trunk with the top down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Power and handling

by Porsche Bemmer Lover from LA on Fri Dec 20 2013

Love everything about the car except the rough shifting SMG transmission. Great Power and handling. Solid body even with the convertible body style.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Spectacular

by M3 race car driver from California on Wed Nov 05 2008

The handling and performance is pure BMW "M" division masterpiece. Competition package is close to CSL.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3