2006 M3

Consumer Reviews
2006 BMW M3

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
2006 BMW M3
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

M3 Slideways in Style

by Ranoa from Solana Beach, CA on June 2, 2006

I can't believe the power, handling, and capabilities of this rig. It is a rough ride, sometimes jerky, but well worth it. Gas goes quick, but your having soo much fun you don't realize how much you pay. It actually gets pretty good miles on the freeway (just over half a tank from San Diego - Santa Barbara). You go through tires quick, but again well worth the fun. My rears lasted 12,000 and the fronts can go to 18,000. If you want them to go quicker, click off SMG and see the rubber go up in smoke in the mirror. The M is fun for the enthusist. The normal day driver would think it is too expensive and rough a ride. If you can afford it, buy it, drive it, and don't look back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wolf in a Sheep's Clothing

by BMW & M Enthusiast from Tucson, AZ on August 29, 2011

Classic, almost understated at first glance, styling with exceptional power and handling. This is my 5th BMW, 3rd M, all of them fabulous cars. I highly recommend this car to anyone looking for an every day driver that can blow away most on the road and many on the track. Buy this car and shock the porsche and corvette owners in your neighborhood.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

For Driving!~

by Jack from New England on May 14, 2010

Fantastic driving, handling & performance!! And it still gives practicality/space & great mileage on trips. Great appointments & quiet for a soft top. Add a wind blocker for max top-down comfort. Changed rear camber (to -1 degree) to get 100% longer tire wear, with minimal handling change.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Autobahn Proven

by M3 pilot from Germany on May 8, 2008

Bought this car new in Germany. Put over 16000 mostly autobahn miles on it and have not stopped smiling. When I say autobahn - I mean cruising at 120 - 130 mph and racing other cars up to 160 mph (electronically limited)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Owner

by M3 4 ME from SPAIN on June 29, 2008

Im here to tell you handling, excelleration and fun is all there. I love this car. Yes the competition has caught the E46 in speeed and horsepower, but when it comes down to the bimmer feel and trust they will never catch that. It is a beautiful rock solid car. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this car to all. I have 17,333 happy miles on mine and when I drop the top its a highly enjoyable experiance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The M3 addiction....

by M3fanatic from Clifton on February 5, 2010

when you own one of these immaculate works of machinery. You will never want anything else. What an amazing car. You need a garage and a nice road to open this baby up. Everyone gives your respect for having it. its the meaning of reaching success.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and fun to drive

by drsnooz from San Diego, CA on September 30, 2006

Very reliable. Just the amount of engineering and design that went into this vehicle is amazing. Add to that 4 years or 50,000 miles of bumper to bumper coverage and this car cannot be beat in terms of supercar reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What can I say

by bob the builder from happy town on February 24, 2008

This is a great car. I beat my friend's rs4 with it so it is really fast, and the handling is just sooooooo good. But it lacks comfort. As a sports car this is perfect, but as a car to just cruse its not the best.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car out there

by john doe from Chicago ill on September 13, 2006

This car is great. It handles like a dream and looks great. The interior is second to none. There are great features and lots of room. I think that this is the best car on the market period. No one can beat this baby.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 E46 M3 CS: Competition Package

by driver from NY on March 20, 2010

The E46 M3 is by all accounts an excellent car. BUT I passed on it until I drove the version with the competition package: "With the ZCP Competition Package, you get the CSL's 19-inch forged alloy wheels, larger Michelin tires, stiffer shocks and springs, a quicker steering ratio (15.4-to-1 to 14.5-to-1), larger cross-drilled front brake rotors (12.8 inches to 13.6 inches), cross-drilled rear rotors and brake pads with a more aggressive compound. The ZCP's less intrusive M Track mode is also part of the package. Actuated by a button on the steering wheel, it backs off the coupe's Dynamic Stability Control, but doesn't shut it down completely. Inside you get a buttery-soft Alcantara-covered steering wheel, which we think is worth $4 grand alone; an Alcantara-covered handbrake grip; and uniquely textured aluminum trim. Plus, cruise control and steering wheel audio controls are deleted from the vehicle. The Competition Package is available including a Harman Kardon sound system." I have the means and life (kids) to only have one "reasonable" sports car. To date, I cannot find a more compelling blend of serious handling...and liveablity (can pick a destination for a 20 minute drive, grab groceries, and blast back). The pure / direct driving experience of this car is exceptional. In the last year as the warranty was coming up I have driven the Corvette Z06, new M3, 911C2S, Lotus Exige, Mercedes C63, and some that were franky joy rides (Porsche Turbo, Mercedes CL63 as I won't spend over 100K for a car). The only car that I didn't test drive was the GTR which looks awesome...but I don't respond to the video game driving experience...I still love a manual and the german fit / finish. This car has unbelievable breaks, surgical turn in, plenty of power, loads of grip...and perfect balance. If I told you I recently beat a guy in his 996 Turbo on a Twisty Road that I knew well would you believe me? Yeah, I wouldn't believe it either...but that is how good this car's handling / grip is and useable power is (and I am a fine driver :). If you want a car to go 200 mph in a straight line, this isn't it...but a brilliantly engineered driver's car... This is one of the best choices on the market. It looks gorgeous...understated but clean muscular lines. Car freaks recognize and know this version of the M3...so prepare for lots of car talk with car freaks. Fun Stuff! I trade cars every two years...and have kept my Carbon Black / E46 M3 CS since 2006. Well, that is the strongest praise I can give. Good luck out there and keep the rubber on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3