2008 M3

Consumer Reviews
2008 BMW M3

Change Vehicle
5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

35 Reviews
2008 BMW M3
4.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Well rounded, refined, modern muscle

by Rudeman from Vancouver, BC on November 17, 2010

Easily the best car I've ever owned, and I've owned two Porsche 911s and the previous generation M3. This car does it all, and does it all quite well. It's got extremely comfortable seats, very good ride quality, minimal levels of interior noise and an almost luxurious interior. It's hard to find fault in this car. By far and away, and just like my previous M3, the motor is the trump card. It sounds utterly amazing, offers very good torque, revs like a nitrous fueled chainsaw, and, unlike my old M3, has a very linear delivery of power. Negatives? None really. I was however surprised that the fuel economy was significantly worse than my old M3, as the EPA ratings are marginally higher. When the only negative is fuel economy, you know you've got a winner. Hats off to BMW. This really is the most well rounded performance vehicle I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is THE car..period

by M3 winner from Moab, UT on August 27, 2010

I had an 06 coupe and now an 4 door 08 M3 - the V8 is amazing! I went for the four door..very practical and more of a sleeper. than the coupe. With one tocuh of the "M button", the car changes personalities,, it goes from very comfortable cruiser to an all out sports car...in my case.. with four doors and a huge trunk! The car is very refined and very dependable...never any issues with either the 06 or the new one. I drive this car everyday and love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The car against which all other cars are judged.

by BigDoggie from Ontario, Canada on April 10, 2012

Everything that magazines and tv programs tell you about this car is true. It can do and does everything excellent. I firmly believe that everyone who enjoys driving should own a car like this at least once in their life. It would be unfair to tell people how great it is without mentioning it's faults. It has only two. The bluetooth doesn't pair properly with a bunch of phones and it's a gas pig. Really though, when you drive it, you could care less about calling someone or when your next gas stop will be. If you are considering an M3, just get one. It cannot disappoint you. I have two suggestions when choosing an M3. 1. Go for the upgraded stereo/nav/Idrive - while the menu system is not what I would call instinctive, it does allow you to customize the car to your tastes. 2. While the automatic with paddle shift is technically a quicker car, you will rarely if ever be put in a situation where that few tenths of a second means anything. Get the Manual Transmission. Theres no feeling like shifting from first to second at 8300rpm. This is the type of car you want to feel. This car makes me smile every time I press the accelerator just a bit more than needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for your Buck!

by BMW Fanatic from Toronto, Ontario on February 22, 2008

6-Speed Manual Rear-Wheel Drive 400+ Horsepower Easy to use iDrive system Leather wrapped steering-wheel New V-8 engine compared to older 6 cylinder engine Generally the same price as the previous generation Handles better than the 2008 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG and the 2008 Lexus ISF Adamtive Suspension System Ajustible traction control featuring M Dynamic Mode, Sports Mode, even a mode where you can fully take off all traction control Steering can be changed for a stiffer or a looser feel

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

by mdrobc from Maryland on October 23, 2008

2nd BMW M3 I've owned and the best one yet. Excellent daily driver that also doesn't mind being pushed and driven on the twistys. Sedan, convertible, coupe models all available at the same time make it easy to get your M3 the way you want it. Blue tooth and idrive a must...really link the car together into an extension of the driver when you're in the car. Options can get pricey but you won't regret them. Simply great...can't STOP driving it! Brings a smile to my face everytime! :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever!!!

by thedudewiththeplan from Augusta GA on July 10, 2008

This is a great car with really good handeling and is a great value for the money. Would definatly recommend it to anyone. The convertible is the nicest of all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dream Car

by BostonSon from Allston MA on June 6, 2008

Was on the waiting list for over a year, and finally got mine early May in Boston. One of the first in the area with the white and carbon fibre roof. Vehicle is everything and more than one could desire from a msrp between 55-70. Would not change a single thing except maybe more cup holders! HA!.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast car and dependable

by Sports car driver from on January 29, 2014

This car was one of the most dependable cars I have ever own. Great everyday car as well as long distance. If you take it easy on the gas it even gets decent gas mileage for its size its just so hard to do that when you have 420hp... Fun car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Taybee from Seattle, Wa on August 13, 2013

Luxury, speed, reliability, and it's beautiful...what more can you ask for? It sounds great, rides great, and I literally have no complaints...Minus an oil change costing about 300 dollars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned, perfect family car

by Hockey Player from New Jersey on January 3, 2012

Five Stars to the BMW M3 sedan. Two baby seats fit in back. The trunk fits my hockey equipment, and you can take the car to the track on the weekends. I even put winter tires on the car and drive it all year round. What other car has four doors, a V8 that screams to a 8,400 redline and can do 0-60 in 4.1 seconds with a true manual transmission? only the M3 sedan. One must have option is the Electronic Damping Control (EDC). When you're driving around with the family, use comfort, when on the track use the stiffest setting. The normal setting adjust on the fly. The standard PS2 tires handle great in the wet or dry. I use blizzacks for the winter. The M3 sedan is a sports car that can be driven every day. Tell your wife it's the perfect family car, because it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4