2009 M3

Consumer Reviews

2009 BMW M3

$16,541 - $35,809  MSRP Range
2009 BMW M3

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

26 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 BMW M3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

My third M3

by M3 Loyalist from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Jul 07 2011

My previous M3s were 1997 & 2002, now I own a 2009 M3. The 1997 was a little under powered at 256 hp, but still fun with a stick shift, the 2002 with the SMG and 333 hp, was fast, but the engine sound when driven hard was a bit scratchy. Now the 2009 V8, 414 hp motor is a big boy, and with the 6 speed manual shift, it is a blast, and the engine roar is very nice. The 2009 is built to run at higher RPMs, so you might be disappointed when driving at lower RPMs around town.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

E92 M3

by Funnoo+ from Phoenix, AZ on Mon Dec 03 2012

Awesome 8500rpm V8. Sweet exhaust note with the Eisenmann system. Having a manual shifter makes it fun as well. Tight suspension while providing decent ride quality. Fast and practical. Best car I have owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2009 M3 Stick Shift

by Wang Man from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Jun 06 2012

Like many previous M3 owners, this is my third M3, 1995 (stick shift), 2002 (SMG), and now 2009 (stick shift). With over 400hp, it is a little slow with RPM below 3200, but the monster engine wakes up when you kick it up beyond 3500 RPM. The gas mileage is bad because the engine running at 80 mph in 6th gear is at 3300 RPM, but I purchased this car knowing all the facts, and I have to say that BMW designed this car with low RPM power for routine driving in the city, but gave it all the power for freeway driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

e90/92 M3 the Best Performance Car Value for Money

by ase2daus from Alexandria VA on Mon Sep 12 2011

I have been a BMW Enthusiast for years and have own e39 M5, e46 M3 and 08 6MT M3. Moving to my 2009 DCT M3 is one of the best move. Having owned it since late 2008, this car provide me the most driving pleasure on the open road and on the tracks. Its sound is subtle but gives a soothing growl when you open up the throttle. The amazing downdraft taking corners with its DCT is a brilliant automotive engineering marvel. I have yet to find a car that performs this well. Its V8 is one car worth keeping for naturally aspirated car fans. I intend to keep even after the new rumoured tri-turbo 6 cyclinder comes out in a couple of years. The only downside is wishing my 17mpg average can be better. Reliability, I have not had any issues with it yet and can say its much better model year than its early release. I noticed the coupe and DCT brings a much better resale that the sedan and 6MT counterparts and I can understand why.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A mountain road carver with great steering feel

by German Quality is best from Boston, MA on Wed Dec 13 2017

I bought the M3 to replace my Porsche Cayman S when my wife and I had kids. Although the car has a nice revving V8 and very communicative steering with good feedback it is no match for the Cayman. As a around town drive the family around car it isn't a lot of fun. The ride is stiff and the chassis doesn't feel alive in town BUT when you drive on a twisty mountain road the car is in it's element. The chassis and steering come alive and eagerly attack each upcoming corner. It loves elevation changes and always feels composed and buttoned down. I have never tracked my car but assume it would eat up a good road course like Lime Rock. The mechanically quality is fair but the materials used are far and above domestic and asian products. Even the door sill have a noticeable heft and quality you wouldn't find with a Lexus or Toyota. The thing that do break are more expensive to replace because of this too. Overall good touring or track car but not a lot of fun around town.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the m3 rocks

by bmw rules from fort myers, fl on Sun Jul 12 2009

there is no car in the world that touches the M3 for the money. outstanding performance that you can custom tailor to your driving preferences and skill level...luxurious interior...distinctive styling and everyday usability and reliability. it doesn't get any better than this. want more power?...one quick chip change will get you to 500 hp in a heartbeat. my M3 is my second BMW and they just keep getting better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Correction from the Previous reviewer

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Orlando, FL on Mon Mar 23 2009

The previous review either didn't read that the vehicle does have Traction Control (Standard) and ESC (Electronic Stability Control) standard on M3s. Now he might have the settings wrong. And have the vehicle on M* mode which lowers the tolerance for both TC and ESC to engage. That is why the reviewer thought there's none.. but there is. You just have to familiarize yourself with the vehicle. Overall, the vehicle is decent and I would agree on the styling qeues on the new M3. Not like the predecessor E46 M3 or E30 M3.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Current M3 sold out!!!!

by Car freak from on Sun May 05 2013

It?s been an absolutely wonderful run, but now it?s time to say goodbye to the existing E90/92/93 BMW M3. According to an interview Car and Driver recently had with BMW M boss Friedrich Nitschke, it was revealed that the current M3, while still in production, is now officially sold out. In other words, BMW is no longer taking orders for the current M3. Production will happen for about another six months for the coupe and convertible only and all of those cars have already been spoken for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by Sports Car Enthusiast from New York, NY on Wed Jul 15 2009

This car has it all performance,luxury, and great styling. You should purchase this car if you want to be engaged to the road and have fun driving a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It never gets old...

by Yervais from Dallas, Tx. on Thu Dec 10 2009

Theres nothing better than redlining this V8 to 8,400 rpms! the sound and the thrust its outstanding, this car IMO is the best car in the world, practical, safe, comfortable, really quick and yet on the other hand it can be customized to feel like either a GT cruiser or a sharp handling sports car with the EDC, Power and steering hardness settings, no other car touches it in this price range... believe this car has one precious thing it that it will never get old you will look forward to drive it everyday even if you don't have to!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3