2012 M3

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW M3

$19,249 - $44,853  MSRP Range
2012 BMW M3

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2012 BMW M3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Beast!!

by Gus from Bradenton, FL on Wed Jun 20 2012

Got rid of my loaded 2011 550i that gave me problems and traded for the 2012 M3 loaded with the competition package and dual clutch automatic. Alpine white most gorgeous color. Had a 2010 ISF which was nice before my 550i; but overall the M3 is pure perfection and performance. Does everything right!! Get one if you can get one; not cheap but worth every penny!!! a pure 10 and in love!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest Racecar I know

by Fedora Hat User from Guaynabo, PR on Fri Jan 20 2012

Its a great car. Worth the money. Fast acceleration. Comes with great seats, or in other ways, very comportable. You'll love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

straight to the point

by carlos from florida on Wed Jul 27 2016

really fast car in a straight line and around the turns! i purchased the 2 door with competition package and dct transmission. definitely inspires confidence. coming out of a lexus rc coupe, the interior is plain and barbaric. this car is all about performance and very little luxury. but normal driving is smooth and with the push of the M button, ready to attack any road! have a few issues with the car, right headlight didn't work, shop is still fixing it, $2k later, still not fixed. nothing out of my pocket tho. paddle shifters don't work but the shift stalk works so I use that instead. and the driver door smart access does not work. all issues are being looked at by the dealer definitely get warranty with this car. ANYTHING on this car is expensive to fix!! even just an oil change is more than $200 I would still highly recommend this vehicle tho. it's just that much fun to drive!! and looks amazing too! you can definitely tell this apart from the normal 3 series cars. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2012 X3

by Les from phoenix, az on Mon Jun 25 2012

This is a new replacement for a 6 yr old 550. The engine is the 3.0 300hp. On the plus side, it is an extremely comfortable car, and when cruising I have NO complaints. The ride is smooth, interior ultra-lux, very comfortable seats, awesome sound system, low road noise level. On the bad side, there is an annoying turbo lag, and if I want to quickly accelerate in traffic, it takes a second for the turbo to spool up and give me the speed. The new transmission is an 8-speed steptronic, which I think is too many speeds. BMW sacrificed fun-to-drive for fuel efficiency. My old 6-speed steptronic 550 and 540 were much more fun to drive, and the fact that they were not turbo gave me a much greater sense of speed. The new transmission always downshifts to first gear when you stop, so you cannot start out from second unless you manually shift up to second, and the car has to be at a dead stop to get into second from first. In my 5 series cars, starting from second was the way to go, since you can go about 30 feet before having to shift up, anyway. I think that an 8 speed transmission is just too busy. I am averaging 23 mpg in combined traffic, but I would give up some of that efficiency for more fun. Once I am up to speed, it is a great vehicle. Had I the opportunity to do it over again, I would have looked for a 2010 model, while it was still 6 speeds. I guess my test drive was not long enough to really appreciate the nuances of the new transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my dream car

by taytay wuvs this car! from miami,fl on Fri Jun 01 2012

i luv this car this car should be the only car in the freaking world omg i luv tjhis car every one should get this car!!!!!!!!!!! 5star's over all

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beast of a motor!

by Delboy 21 from YONKERS NY on Thu May 24 2018

I recently purchased a 2012 BMW M3 and apart from a few issues with the dealership (Seldon Motors in PA, Currently suing them for selling me a $35k car with the catalytic converter removed, so I can't get an inspection anywhere in NY nor PA for that matter) I love the car, handles and drives like it's on rails. The power is surreal and personally once I get this lawsuit out the way I can't wait to enjoy the summer with the top down!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

M power??

by Santana from Gardens, FL on Mon Jan 22 2018

This car is the beast mode, if you love to drive you?ll have to get this car. This car would make you want to drive alll day

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Smilemaker

by michael from Hayward, CA on Tue Jun 05 2018

When the E92 M3 replaced the E46 I hated it. It seemed big and swoopy and bloated. And a big heavy V8 instead of a smooth yet raucous straight 6? How could M do such a thing? Years passed and I fell in love with the car. Yes it's a V8, but what a V8. It sounds amazing and screams to its 8400-rpm redline. The car itself is heavy but hides its weight well, and it has a ton of mechanical grip. Is it as go-kart like as the older, lighter E36? No, but it's much more powerful and a much nicer car to drive from a comfort perspective. I hope I can somehow keep this car forever. It puts a smile on my face any time I even look at it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GT3 Hunter

by Big Cat from Plainville, MA on Sun May 20 2018

Amazing motor with great paneling and brakes for the street. With mild upgrades it can take a GT3 down at the track. Tremendous value with looks to match.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Have coveted the E92 M3 for a long time

by PACarGuy from Wynnewod, PA on Wed Jun 14 2017

Beautiful car with stunning performance. Can be driven sedately as a daily driver or wrung out hard on the track and handles both equally well. The M-DCT transmission is quick and makes this car extremely easy and fun to drive. Maintenance isn't cheap, but the performance and usability of this car make it worth it. Car seems reliable so far, and I had a thorough PPI done before purchasing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2