Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 M5

Consumer Reviews

2002 BMW M5

$3,769 - $72,601  MSRP Range
2002 BMW M5

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 BMW M5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Dean from Ohio on Tue Aug 14 2007

This is the most incredible car I have ever owned! From interior design to the sheer handling on the highway to the beauty of the exterior, I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys performance and luxury all mixed into one..................Awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4-door Supercar

by M5 4ever from Washington DC on Sun Jan 17 2010

I owned a 2002 M5 Carbon Black w/camel interior and it was one of the finest cars I've ever owned. Performance, subdued style, interior space, long distance drive champ, & FAST. To me the M5 was at it's best on a road trip - weather your driving in the mountains or flat lands, the M5 will keep the smile on your face from door to door. The only draw back, the rims are soft and will get beat up if you are not careful. They are almost $1000 if you bend one. I don't know what the long term dependability is, but I would be concerned about any repair as it will be very $$$

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best 4 door ever

by race from annapolis md on Sat Dec 29 2012

Bought new in 2002 Killer performance with decent highway mpg will never sell this car Carries 4 adults in comfort with great performance no spare tire so run flats a must

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Realible Car I have owned.

by M5FAN from MIAMI, FL on Mon Aug 06 2018

I have had several other cars in my last 40 years. I have had BMW X3, 323 but by far the best value for my money. It is solidly built, quiet, and smooth. The ride is like a Lexus and it handles almost like a seda. It's just the right size, has very comfortable seats and is loaded with technology!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best BMW ever!

by IDAGE06 from Walnut Creek,Ca on Mon Nov 06 2017

I've owned 3 of these cars and i would buy a 4th if i could. My absolute favorite model is the 2000-2003 BMW M5

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I have drove and owned

by RODOLFO SOTO from THE WOODLANDS,TEXAS on Thu Oct 26 2017

It is the best car for the price in the market if you buy a BMW with less than 65,000 miles. For the same price, you will buy a car that is not for many years like this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST CAR IN BMW

by RODOLFO SOTO from THE WOODLANDS,TEXAS on Sat May 13 2017

This is a safe, nice, power and comfortable car built by BMW. One advantage of this car, you never loose money, the price of this kind of car is going up with time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

///M5UBLIME

by Bimmer_anonymous from Staten Island, New York on Sat Nov 04 2017

The best car I have ever driven. Hands down! E90 M3 a close second but the E39 M5 is, in my view the ultimate 4 door sports sedan!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sports Sedan

by Swingwing from Colleyville, Texas on Sat Jul 15 2017

The E39 M5, arguably the yardstick by which performance sports sedans are measured. Sure, it may not have all the electronic gizmos (who needs 'em?), but this car packs a punch unlike any others. Sleek and powerful, with plenty of torque available in all regimes. Roomy and comfortable, driver-oriented, fast. Very reliable, with just about any repair procedure available through the forums. I've owned nine BMWs to date, and this one's the best, hands-down.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun in a four door sedan ever!!

by Bmw fanatic from Charleston sc on Sun Mar 11 2018

I needed a four door car because of a resent addition to my family. I am a huge BMW fan and the e39 m5 was a car I’ve always wanted own. It truly is an amazing experience driving this four door beast. With its manual transmission and 369 foot pounds of torque it accelerates with such ease and joy for the driver. If you are in the market for a fun driving car that can fit the whole family you have to check out the e39 m5.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2