2008 M5

Consumer Reviews
2008 BMW M5

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

20 Reviews
2008 BMW M5
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest car I have ever driven.

by M5ISMINE from Bakersfield, CA on January 5, 2012

I have owned 7 BMWs with the oldest being a 2004 model. I have had a couple 335is and got bored with them. Bought a few Mitsubishi Evo MR race cars. The price is high, they are quick but nothing like this car. I feel there is not an M mode but a non M Mode. Once driven in M mode it's hard not to do it all the time. It's like a 100+ shot of nitrous when you hit it. It goes from 400HP to 500+. And of course all the independent suspension and breaking is controlled by the computer. I have never came close to wrecking this car with the Traction Control System on. Once turned off, good luck handling this beast. For the first 2 months, and sometimes randomly, when I get out I am still shaking from the adrenaline. This is the funnest car I have ever driven hands down. Erik

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

M5 is sweet

by Biimer Guy from Colorado Springs on October 10, 2011

The BMW M5 is a heck of a car. This thing flies low and with the SMG trans it is a blast to drive. I noticed that the speed signs into turns became mere suggestions. You can pass at will and there isn't all that much that can outrun you. The gadgets in the car can be distracting until you learn the car but once you get th I Drive down, you can rock in that car. The power in this beast is phenominal. I really tried to max it out but it didn't happen. She still had room to go The only negative is the size of the fuel tank and the mileage. Other than that, this is more car than I originally thought.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME CAR

by GOFASTER from NEW JERSEY on May 11, 2011

THIS CAR IS FAST, IT HOLDS TE LINE AS IF IT WERE ON RAILS AND FITS MY FAMILY OF 5 . THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THAT UNLESS YOU HAVE ACCESS TO RACE TRACK, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REALLY APPRECIATE THIS CAR'S POTENTIAL. ONCE YOU PRESS THE 'M' BUTTON ON THE WHEEL, IT CHANGES PERSONALITY AND SMOKES MOST OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD. I PURCHASED IT ON 04/10 WITH 15K MLIES.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

m5 2008

by fs from ca on May 23, 2011

I love the car. Can't say enought about it. Great handling, best sedan in the world, wished give better gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's what they say and you hope squared

by Wrex from SF Bay Area, CA on October 4, 2014

First off let me say the car is amazing! The reviews that you've read and the complaints that they make, all of it's true. The gas mileage is horrible. It is definitely a little jerky at low speeds. It definitely does not like to go slow. But the performance is everything you expect an hope and then some! And then some more! Times two! And most people buying this car a bind for the performance so you really don't care too much about that other stuff. The performance is that good, that any complaints you have, you honestly won't care. For anybody buying an M5, the performance is why you're buying it, that's all that matters and in that aspect it's unbelievable. Truly an unbelievable machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST SPORTS SEDAN EVER

by ARAB M5 from Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates on January 9, 2013

One of the best and smoothest sedan ever made and is very powerful comparing to other sport sedans cars and its a functional vehicle we can say its a luxury sports sedan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Car

by Family Man from Southern California on April 3, 2008

I've owned the car for six months. The SMG transmission makes for sharp quick shifts. I'm not a fan of the automatic mode - it's a bit jerky - but helpful in heavy traffic when i dont want to bother selecting gears. It's nice to have the option. The power and acceleration are breathtaking. Steering is tight and the car responds well. The car's limits are well beyond my own. All that in a car that has a smooth ride (unless you want it tight - it's a setting), holds my family comfortably and plent of room for 4 sets of golf clubs. It doesn't get any better. The interior is minimalist. I think it looks better in the brushed aluminum, but it's available in wood. Not luxurious nor is it meant to be. The upgraded leather seats are fantastic and adjust to every size of person. Heads Up display is a must - extremely helpful. iDrive - I disagree with the critics. It becomes easy to use after 30 mins. The Navigation interface isn't great but it's passable. The blue tooth phone system is the best I've ever experienced. You can hear people clearly and they can hear you easily - even people in the back seat can talk! This car is definitely worth a look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No regrets

by M Driver from Northern Va on April 30, 2012

This car is amazing. It's way more capable than my driving skills, so I'm driving as much as possible to improve. It's just so much fun to drive! Manual transmission all the way!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Impractical Family Sedan

by JC21 from Germantown, Maryland on August 19, 2017

Possibly one of the most interesting combinations for a powertrain of any family sedan ever built. I have driven this car to work many times, and i've taken it on weekend cruises. It can do it all including going from a tame typical sedan to a 500+ HP monster with the press of the M button. The only thing you could really hate about this car is the 11 miles per gallon average. But that shouldn't bother a true enthusiast. I would recommend buying a 2008+ only. The interior changes, SMG pump upgrades and many other updates they did to the 2008 is why you see such a price difference typically between a 2008 and a 2006. Impractical yes, but its not without reason. You have a sedan with a V10, have fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Performance & Styling but High Maintenance

by Domino from Evansville, IN on September 12, 2017

I always liked the E60 styling over my old E39 and the power increase with the 10 cylinder is awesome. It IS a BMW though so once you get into high mileage, there are a lot of routine maintenance items that can add up. This model especially is too smart for it's own good sometimes with so many sensors and calculations that a minor sensor failure can easily impact performance. Still, it is pretty awesome to take a mid-size four dour beast and hit 60mph so fast you don't have time to blink. I don't think they are standard features on the E60 M5, but I have the comfort access with keyless entry and start and also the Heads Up Display and love both.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2