2008 M5

Consumer Reviews

2008 BMW M5

$13,368 - $28,848  MSRP Range
2008 BMW M5

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

21 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 BMW M5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest car I have ever driven.

by M5ISMINE from Bakersfield, CA on Thu Jan 05 2012

I have owned 7 BMWs with the oldest being a 2004 model. I have had a couple 335is and got bored with them. Bought a few Mitsubishi Evo MR race cars. The price is high, they are quick but nothing like this car. I feel there is not an M mode but a non M Mode. Once driven in M mode it's hard not to do it all the time. It's like a 100+ shot of nitrous when you hit it. It goes from 400HP to 500+. And of course all the independent suspension and breaking is controlled by the computer. I have never came close to wrecking this car with the Traction Control System on. Once turned off, good luck handling this beast. For the first 2 months, and sometimes randomly, when I get out I am still shaking from the adrenaline. This is the funnest car I have ever driven hands down. Erik

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

M5 is sweet

by Biimer Guy from Colorado Springs on Mon Oct 10 2011

The BMW M5 is a heck of a car. This thing flies low and with the SMG trans it is a blast to drive. I noticed that the speed signs into turns became mere suggestions. You can pass at will and there isn't all that much that can outrun you. The gadgets in the car can be distracting until you learn the car but once you get th I Drive down, you can rock in that car. The power in this beast is phenominal. I really tried to max it out but it didn't happen. She still had room to go The only negative is the size of the fuel tank and the mileage. Other than that, this is more car than I originally thought.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

m5 2008

by fs from ca on Mon May 23 2011

I love the car. Can't say enought about it. Great handling, best sedan in the world, wished give better gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME CAR

by GOFASTER from NEW JERSEY on Wed May 11 2011

THIS CAR IS FAST, IT HOLDS TE LINE AS IF IT WERE ON RAILS AND FITS MY FAMILY OF 5 . THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THAT UNLESS YOU HAVE ACCESS TO RACE TRACK, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO REALLY APPRECIATE THIS CAR'S POTENTIAL. ONCE YOU PRESS THE 'M' BUTTON ON THE WHEEL, IT CHANGES PERSONALITY AND SMOKES MOST OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD. I PURCHASED IT ON 04/10 WITH 15K MLIES.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's what they say and you hope squared

by Wrex from SF Bay Area, CA on Sat Oct 04 2014

First off let me say the car is amazing! The reviews that you've read and the complaints that they make, all of it's true. The gas mileage is horrible. It is definitely a little jerky at low speeds. It definitely does not like to go slow. But the performance is everything you expect an hope and then some! And then some more! Times two! And most people buying this car a bind for the performance so you really don't care too much about that other stuff. The performance is that good, that any complaints you have, you honestly won't care. For anybody buying an M5, the performance is why you're buying it, that's all that matters and in that aspect it's unbelievable. Truly an unbelievable machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST SPORTS SEDAN EVER

by ARAB M5 from Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates on Wed Jan 09 2013

One of the best and smoothest sedan ever made and is very powerful comparing to other sport sedans cars and its a functional vehicle we can say its a luxury sports sedan

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only V10 Engine in a 4 door sedan

by Tim D. from Las Vegas, NV on Fri Jun 02 2017

The E60 M5 has the best engine BMW has ever made. A naturally aspirated V10 formula 1 inspired engine that redlines at 8250 RPM. It has the sexiest engine not of any car ever made with 4 doors. I have tracked her a couple times of year for the past 4 years and have passed several ferraris with her. Best sedan ever made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A work of art on wheels.

by orgie from Great Falls on Sun Apr 15 2018

Incredibly vehicle that can take you to work in comfort and style during the week, but also offer an exhilarating and supercar performance during the weekend. The car fit my needs while putting a smile on my face.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Car

by Family Man from Southern California on Thu Apr 03 2008

I've owned the car for six months. The SMG transmission makes for sharp quick shifts. I'm not a fan of the automatic mode - it's a bit jerky - but helpful in heavy traffic when i dont want to bother selecting gears. It's nice to have the option. The power and acceleration are breathtaking. Steering is tight and the car responds well. The car's limits are well beyond my own. All that in a car that has a smooth ride (unless you want it tight - it's a setting), holds my family comfortably and plent of room for 4 sets of golf clubs. It doesn't get any better. The interior is minimalist. I think it looks better in the brushed aluminum, but it's available in wood. Not luxurious nor is it meant to be. The upgraded leather seats are fantastic and adjust to every size of person. Heads Up display is a must - extremely helpful. iDrive - I disagree with the critics. It becomes easy to use after 30 mins. The Navigation interface isn't great but it's passable. The blue tooth phone system is the best I've ever experienced. You can hear people clearly and they can hear you easily - even people in the back seat can talk! This car is definitely worth a look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No regrets

by M Driver from Northern Va on Mon Apr 30 2012

This car is amazing. It's way more capable than my driving skills, so I'm driving as much as possible to improve. It's just so much fun to drive! Manual transmission all the way!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3