Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2013 X1

Consumer Reviews

2013 BMW X1

$10,092 - $20,948  MSRP Range
2013 BMW X1

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

36 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 BMW X1?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X1 first 1,000 miles

by Planenut from Palm Harbor, FL on Tue Apr 02 2013

I replaced my 325 ixt wagon with a new X1. The cars have allot in common and it feels familiar from the first drive. The hardest thing to get used to is the engine shutoff feature when you come to a stop. It is unnerving, annoying and you must remember to defeat it at startup by pressing a button as the shutdown feature is the default setting. My dealer just told me that there is a way for the service department to re-program the car to permanently disable this and I plan on doing that soon. The additional ride height is welcome as a daily driver is exposed to high curbs, parking stops and entrance aprons that can bottom out most performance cars, yet it does not seem to affect the handling as the X1 is still much lower with a fairly low CG compared to the larger SUV's. The X1 is still fun to drive, can accelerate surprisingly quickly and can be tossed into corners and keep it's composure. The seating position has more room than the older 3 series and lots of legroom. My criticisms are minor. I miss the separately opening window in the tailgate that the wagon has. I also would like the rear compartment to extend back a few more inches, after all this is not a car that will be used for heavy off-road use so exit angle for rough terrain is not really a consideration, so there is no need to chop the back so short. Also, the roof rails are the new aero styled type that renders all of my Yakima products obsolete, so it will require buying all new attachments and crossbars for the new style. Overall, the X1 is a great all around, versatile daily driver. For the BMW purists, you will miss the sound and smoothness of the traditional inline six, but the twin turboed 4 works great, just a little raspier, and the 8 speed autobox is really surprisingly versatile from just cruising to spirited driving, the transmission reads your mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pocket Rocket

by 5thBMW from Toronto, Ontario on Mon Apr 14 2014

I only got this vehicle a week ago to be honest, and I was quite skeptical having only test driven it once. Unfortunately I was in a hurry to get a new car, and didn't have the time to research it. This is my 5th BMW, all previous having been 3 series. the 4 cylinder bothered me and i am not the biggest fan of AWD. So having had the vehicle for 10 days. Wow wow wow. This car is a rocket, and I could not be happier with my decision. I thought the off and on at the lights would bother me, I am used to it already. Smooth ride and I love the sound of the engine. Sounds like a little V8 and never seems to be even mildly overworking. So far fuel consumption is excellent, but will only get better, because I have done a lot of stop and start cold driving. Interior is still the old style, which I prefer. Quality of materials I am very happy with. The car is very deceptive. When you are close to it or inside, it feels like a much bigger vehicle than it is. Put it next to another car and it's actually quite small. Profile looks ok from the front, outstanding from the side and a bit boring from behind, which is what most cars will see :-) Very happy with my decision on this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

X1 S Drive

by HoKoJoJo from San Francisco Ca on Sun Dec 08 2013

This car is so easy to drive. Point and shoot. For a city car look no further especially with distance control front and back. Being five inches higher than a 3 series helps as well. Good long distance cruiser in complete comfort. Nice to be back with rear wheel drive after a short owners purchase of a Acura RDX front drive. Ten thousand dollar mistake I won't make again. One dislike is the ever present chime if you don't fasten your seatbelt right away. Love it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW !

by Oklahoman from Madill, OK on Mon Jan 27 2014

I recently had this (rather) car (than SUV) or better Sportwagon as a loaner for a weekend, and now happily traded my 2012 Honda CRV-EXL for a new X1 xdrive28i (xline premium package). Do I need to say more? This "wagon" looks incredibly good (esp. in lighter colors and with Xline package) and drives almost like a 1-series hatchback (yes, I had two of those, a 120d and a 123d, in Europe). This is the nimble, quick, compact yet roomy and attractive BMW I always wanted. Period!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Schevyy from Evanston, WY on Fri Jan 20 2017

My first BMW and the experience and car has been amazing. I've owned over 30 new cars during my life and so far this one has been my favorite

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little SUV

by Adam from Austin, TX on Wed Mar 22 2017

This is a fun little SAV with all the benefits of a sedan in terms of driveability (used to drive a 2006 325i), and many of the benefits of a bigger SUV as well. Steering, handling, acceleration, and ride comfort are all outstanding, as BMW's should be, while the interior is simple yet luxurious with the premium or ultimate package. I would highly recommend this vehicle for small families or outdoorsy singles, esp in colder climates.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best of all worlds

by sporty dad from san antonio, tx on Sun Nov 24 2013

x1 does exactly what it's supposed to do as a compact crossover. it's faster than my old 328i and handles almost as well. buy the S drive for best handling. 17" eagles are smoother than the flashy 18" imports. use your phone for navi and save a bundle. love the free bmw connect and xm radio. warranty is bumper to bumper including maintenance for 4 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very fun to drive and small but roomy

by Joevirgo from Boston Ma on Wed Feb 01 2017

I bought exact car bmx x1 that I saw on cars.com. I previously had a Mercedes sedan. I wanted a small SUV to park in the city easily. It is perfect. The saddle brown interior is beautiful. I'm really enjoying the sporty ride. It's still luxury feel w the interior but a more sporty feel and is great in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lot of wagon for the money.

by Save the manuals from South Carolina on Mon Sep 29 2014

Bought this car for my mother - it's a great little wagon for people who would rather say they drive an SUV than a station wagon for whatever reason. As with any BMW - the options make the car (premium package is an absolute must). S-Drive (RWD) and the sport suspension make the car handle better than any "compact SUV" on earth. I pulled a few stars away from Performance because you can't get S-Drive with the six cylinder turbo and a proper manual transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Terrific vehicle

by First BMW from Schererville, IN on Fri Jan 18 2013

Very good looking, very comfortable. Lots of bells and whistles. Steers and corners well. heated seats and steering wheel are terrific.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2013 BMW X1

Though pint-sized, the 2013 BMW X1 delivers huge value in gas mileage and affordability while keeping BMW's signature driving enjoyment and luxury.

Since 2004, the X3 has been BMW's smallest SUV. Now the company has added the all-new 2013 X1, which becomes both the smallest and most affordable BMW SUV. The automaker could have easily muddied the distinction between these two models — a mistake we've seen from other automakers — but BMW properly distinguishes the similar-looking X1 and X3 SUVs in size, price and usability so buyers should have an easy go deciding which one better fits their lifestyle.

Compared with BMW's other SUVs, which include the X3, X5... Read More