2009 X3

Consumer Reviews
2009 BMW X3

Change Vehicle
4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

10 Reviews
2009 BMW X3
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Versatile Car I've Owned.

by Bravo from Newark, Delaware on June 29, 2011

Awesome would be a one-word description of my BMW x3. It's like owning three cars in one. It's compact and small enough to provide easy handling, yet large enough to accommodate three passengers in the rear seat with the extra advantage of being a small SUV with a large trunk capacity and fold-down seats to haul a substantial amount of cargo. Combined with these features are the steering and maneuverability of a sports car and the luxury appointments and refinements of an upscale motor vehicle. Bravo BMW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Highly versatile

by Dhia from Abu Dhabi on February 6, 2018

The X3 is an SUV that almost convinces you it's a sedan. The NA inline-6 never feels overworked (2700-2800 RPMs at 120kmh), and the transmission always feels like it's in the right gear. The low center of gravity (for an SUV) and stability control allow it to take turns that would have others oversteering, and at times I forgot it's all-wheel drive with how well it handles. The steering is very precise but I don't think there's enough feedback. The suspension is harsh but I prefer that over an overly smooth one. My biggest gripe is the very soft brake pedal. The exterior is nicely styled save for the choppy looking tail-lights. The interior nearly feels like a full-blown luxury car; the only downside is the button layout on the dash is unintuitive. The navigation system I never use but I expect it to be outdated. Cargo space is top-notch, as well, and rear legroom is decent. Visibility is excellent and the sunroof makes the car feel very airy. Fuel economy is very decent; I average 8.9-9.2 L/100km. That being said, the car is somewhat overpriced, though in my experience it has had very few problems over nearly 40,000 kms driven.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great little car

by Kobus from Pretoria, South Africa on December 4, 2014

It is a solid car of good quality and very decent performance. Mine is the 3,0 litre diesel with six speed auto gearbox. Fuel consumption is around 11 l/100 km (21 mpg US, 26 mpg UK) around town, and 8 l/100 km (29 mpg US, 35 mpg UK). Die gearbox and engine are impressively smooth, and the car is perfectly stable at speed, making long distance travel a pleasure. There is, however, a noticeable turbo-lag: drive at low speed and suddenly open the throttle, and for a few moments very little happens before the high torque kicks in and propels the car forwards with a satisfying push.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by Rev39 from Lancaster on April 30, 2018

Love it love it love it couldn't ask for a better car best car ever so if you plan on getting one please do you will be so excited to have owned one believe mev

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Least reliable car I have owned.

by Bwanarick from Durango, CO on April 23, 2018

Lots of fun to drive, handles extremely well. However, the car is off the charts expensive to repair. Once out of warranty, BMW will not stand behind their product and BMW North America will not return calls or respond to correspondence, regardless of the severity of the problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great suv, 3 liter had great power. Heated seats n

by Skiprobill from KILLINGTON, VT on May 19, 2018

Wonderful car for travel and skiing. The heated seats and sterring wheel made the cold mornings in Vermont bearable. All wheel drive made Vermont winters a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent handle and capability

by can be used for any occasion from MIAMI on April 6, 2014

5 STAR VEHICLE ALSO IT'S A SAFE AND SOLID AUTOMOBILE; I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE, I HAD THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE BEFORE AND NEVER LET ME DOWN AT ALL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love to hate

by CarolNC from Buladean NC on August 8, 2017

This is a wonderful high performance car... holds the road better than any other car I've ever driven; the roving headlight feature is awesome for mountain driving at night. The downside is that this car is expensive to operate and maintain, not to mention repair! And repairs were something I got very tired of!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A bit costly but gets good mileage.

by Jake from Riviera on September 6, 2011

Even for a car in good condition, this one's a bit costly, but if they get their asking price I'd like to have them sell my car too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Everything you need and want.

by Mohamad from Aurora, co on November 6, 2017

This is a very fun sav to drive. It has everything I need. It has power, awd, panoramic sunroof, navigation, etc. It has it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1
Our Expert Review: 2009 BMW X3