2009 X3

Consumer Reviews

2009 BMW X3

$6,143 - $14,179  MSRP Range
2009 BMW X3

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

10 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Highly versatile

by Dhia from Abu Dhabi on Tue Feb 06 2018

The X3 is an SUV that almost convinces you it's a sedan. The NA inline-6 never feels overworked (2700-2800 RPMs at 120kmh), and the transmission always feels like it's in the right gear. The low center of gravity (for an SUV) and stability control allow it to take turns that would have others oversteering, and at times I forgot it's all-wheel drive with how well it handles. The steering is very precise but I don't think there's enough feedback. The suspension is harsh but I prefer that over an overly smooth one. My biggest gripe is the very soft brake pedal. The exterior is nicely styled save for the choppy looking tail-lights. The interior nearly feels like a full-blown luxury car; the only downside is the button layout on the dash is unintuitive. The navigation system I never use but I expect it to be outdated. Cargo space is top-notch, as well, and rear legroom is decent. Visibility is excellent and the sunroof makes the car feel very airy. Fuel economy is very decent; I average 8.9-9.2 L/100km. That being said, the car is somewhat overpriced, though in my experience it has had very few problems over nearly 40,000 kms driven.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Least reliable car I have owned.

by Bwanarick from Durango, CO on Mon Apr 23 2018

Lots of fun to drive, handles extremely well. However, the car is off the charts expensive to repair. Once out of warranty, BMW will not stand behind their product and BMW North America will not return calls or respond to correspondence, regardless of the severity of the problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned

by Rev39 from Lancaster on Mon Apr 30 2018

Love it love it love it couldn't ask for a better car best car ever so if you plan on getting one please do you will be so excited to have owned one believe mev

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great little car

by Kobus from Pretoria, South Africa on Thu Dec 04 2014

It is a solid car of good quality and very decent performance. Mine is the 3,0 litre diesel with six speed auto gearbox. Fuel consumption is around 11 l/100 km (21 mpg US, 26 mpg UK) around town, and 8 l/100 km (29 mpg US, 35 mpg UK). Die gearbox and engine are impressively smooth, and the car is perfectly stable at speed, making long distance travel a pleasure. There is, however, a noticeable turbo-lag: drive at low speed and suddenly open the throttle, and for a few moments very little happens before the high torque kicks in and propels the car forwards with a satisfying push.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great suv, 3 liter had great power. Heated seats n

by Skiprobill from KILLINGTON, VT on Sat May 19 2018

Wonderful car for travel and skiing. The heated seats and sterring wheel made the cold mornings in Vermont bearable. All wheel drive made Vermont winters a breeze.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Versatile Car I've Owned.

by Bravo from Newark, Delaware on Wed Jun 29 2011

Awesome would be a one-word description of my BMW x3. It's like owning three cars in one. It's compact and small enough to provide easy handling, yet large enough to accommodate three passengers in the rear seat with the extra advantage of being a small SUV with a large trunk capacity and fold-down seats to haul a substantial amount of cargo. Combined with these features are the steering and maneuverability of a sports car and the luxury appointments and refinements of an upscale motor vehicle. Bravo BMW!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent handle and capability

by can be used for any occasion from MIAMI on Sun Apr 06 2014

5 STAR VEHICLE ALSO IT'S A SAFE AND SOLID AUTOMOBILE; I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE, I HAD THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE BEFORE AND NEVER LET ME DOWN AT ALL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love to hate

by CarolNC from Buladean NC on Tue Aug 08 2017

This is a wonderful high performance car... holds the road better than any other car I've ever driven; the roving headlight feature is awesome for mountain driving at night. The downside is that this car is expensive to operate and maintain, not to mention repair! And repairs were something I got very tired of!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A bit costly but gets good mileage.

by Jake from Riviera on Tue Sep 06 2011

Even for a car in good condition, this one's a bit costly, but if they get their asking price I'd like to have them sell my car too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Everything you need and want.

by Mohamad from Aurora, co on Mon Nov 06 2017

This is a very fun sav to drive. It has everything I need. It has power, awd, panoramic sunroof, navigation, etc. It has it all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2009 BMW X3

There is very little about the 2009 BMW X3 that hasn't already been covered by Cars.com; the 2007 model that Kelsey Mays reviewed is essentially the same vehicle that's offered for 2009. What has changed, however, is the X3's competition, as a number of new luxury SUVs have debuted in the intervening years that BMW now has to contend with.

While the car's pros and cons haven't changed much, the X3 is showing its age in terms of technology features — especially when compared with newcomers that best it in both price and style.

Exterior
The exterior remains the same for 2009, and the X3 retains its awkward angles, disjointed taillights and odd lower bodywork. It's not unattractive, but it... Read More