2012 X3

Consumer Reviews

2012 BMW X3

$10,519 - $20,291  MSRP Range
2012 BMW X3

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding vehicle

by Tag-Fla. from Sebring Florida on Mon Apr 23 2012

Have owned several BMW in the past and this new X3 is outstanding. Pleasure to drive and the rides is smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bmw x3

by billb from Canada on Thu Dec 22 2011

My 2011 x3 is like a horse - maximum performance with little gas I get better gas than expected and is fun to drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MY Wife Loves It

by BBBilly from Lafayette LA on Wed Dec 07 2011

My wife has wanted a really nice car for quite some time. We checked out a lot of the top brands, MB, VW, Lexus, and many others. The BMW X3 was the right size, right price and the service is free for 4 years or 50,000 miles. The car we had was 8 years old and had only 69,000 miles. I am looking forward to no bills for service for 4 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

depreciation at its best

by NemGuitar from Indianapolis on Tue Jul 24 2018

We bought a 2012 X3 28i with the 3.0 N/A N52 engine and 8-speed ZF auto. These cars are incredible. The active roll-bar will leave you wondering how a 4,000-lbs car can turn so flat!!? Power is adequate and in sport mode the car is more that motivated to go. The ride is as plush as ever, and the car is quiet and feels expensive. We paid less than third of its sticker price, just 6 years later... An incredible value proposition! I recommend sticking with the N52 engine to avoid the known issues with turbos and timing chain guides on 2013+ X3 28i, and well as 35i.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Practical Luxury & Performance

by Bio-exec from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Feb 19 2013

2012 X3 Xdrive 35i, Bronze Metallic (All packages) We bought the car based on consumer reports and other reviews noting the car's smart design and features, and comments on its power and handling were a bonus. It was difficult to find the color and trim and larger engine in the combination we were looking for without ordering new, however, we found a dealer-used model through Cars.com, and quickly researched and bought the car...even though it was four hours away. I strongly recommend the X3 x35i in general - and in the midwest, recommend the cold weather package. The design and features are smart and simple and very high quality...just what I was looking for. The power and performance has exceeded my expectations. There may be more powerful and better handling cars on the road, but for the money, this may be the best "pound for pound" buy. Really great car. We also bought an extended warranty, which is essentially a pay ahead service plan. Having a Lexus SUV before this one, I know what I spent a year and this will be a significant savings (and convenience) over time. The On-Star-like system (I forget the name) is also a nice addition that helps when family is driving or with me.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

$ 800 first week repair!

by BMW First Timer from Indiana on Sat Sep 15 2012

Looks and drives well. Bought with 15,000 miles. Had micro- punctures in 2 tyres the very first week and had to replace for $800. Some reports that the 19' alloy wheels with flat run tyre is not that durable. Slightly stiff ride with precise steering. Looks small but spacious inside for 4. Simple and well laid out interior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 BMW X 3

by Sports car fan from NY, NY on Fri Mar 02 2012

I recently bought an X3 with M sport package. I searched most of the competing brands - infinity, lexus, Audi, MB. BMW stands out. Its performance is way better than an Audi or Infinity. BMs are truly the driving machines

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A ton of car for the money

by Bmwx3owners on Sat Mar 03 2018

Drives great...super smooth and quiet. Excellent technology. Super reliable. Outstanding family ride. BMW service is fantastic. Go buy this car and you will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great suv

by Hrishi from glen allen on Tue Jan 02 2018

Great suv for a family. We had it 6 years and enjoyed it. Head up display feature is cool where we dont have to bend down the head and look at the dashboard for speed. Its projected onto the windshield

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great suv

by Exjraordinary from phoenix on Mon Sep 11 2017

SUV love my BMW always was a Toyota car guy then my friend got a BMW and I loved it. Just like my X3 so comfortable and roomy I fit in huge furniture moved house easily and got synthetic grass holds everything. I really love the dash with Sirius Xmas awesome and GPS and connects to phone well. Also has panoramic roof and sporty fast. I know it's a lot about 40k but worth it the ultimate driving machine and handles great. I am not a disappointed buyer and will get another one after my new Tesla next year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 BMW X3

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2011 about the 2011 BMW X3. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The BMW X3 may have been a pioneer among compact luxury crossovers, but a number of competitors — including the Audi Q5, Mercedes-Benz GLK-Class and Volvo XC60 — have entered the fray since its debut as a 2004 model. Now, with the second-generation X3, BMW has new metal to take them on.

The 2011 BMW X3 is still the small luxury crossover of choice for driving enthusiasts, but its substantially more forgiving suspension tuning should make the new version far... Read More