Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2014 X3

Consumer Reviews

2014 BMW X3

$13,655 - $26,899  MSRP Range
2014 BMW X3

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

60 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 60 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

X3

by Mr Bull from CT on Mon Aug 18 2014

We were looking for a slightly smaller SUV (wife's car) than the X5 we had. We tested Audi Q5 (nice but generic and poor back seat feel & quality), Acura MDX (nice, but no folding mirrors??? and still pretty big), MB ML (too big and truck like), MB GLK (too small and cheap feeling). Then back to the BMW dealer. We hadn't driven the X3 until we did all the others and it was like, wow. No brainer. We got the 3.5xi but frankly it's overkill (and I'm a car nut that drives a BMW 435 M-Sport). This SUV is a rocket and drives really nicely (5.3 seconds 0-60 in an SUV?!!?). If you don't need a 3rd row, it has a lot of space. In fact, we can barely tell it has less room than the old X5. Magic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty SUV

by WJP from Midwest on Fri Sep 30 2016

X3 28 loaded with every option. Fun and sporty to drive. Comfortable seating with excellent entry and exit space. Leather upholstery is superior. Gas milage excellent. Airbag safety technology a deciding purchase factor. Run flats have been replaced producing a smoother ride. The voice navigation spot on. We are satisfied and delighted with this BMW! Would highly recommend your consideration of owning one of these babies.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Saved Our Lives

by Euro14 from Chicago, IL on Sun Mar 09 2014

This car is great. The 35i motor runs strong. The XDrive AWD works great. Never slipped in these Chicago winters. Cabin is super quiet, with creaks and rattles over harsh pavement. We were recently involved in a rear end collision and it saved our lives. We were on the highway and at a stop. A truck plowed into the back of the car. The airbags and seatbelt tensioners kicked in immediately-as they should. BMW SOS called the authorities when the airbags went off. Everyone walked away from the accident, only sore necks. The navigation system works perfectly. Reliability has been spot on. Always starting in cold weather. The car is expensive, but we heavily optioned the car out. The design is a little bland. (Nowhere near as interesting as Range Rover Evoque 5 door). The 35i engine is a monster. We love our X3!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X3 2014-Great Purchase!

by Diana G. from Chicago on Thu Jul 17 2014

I love my new car, it has so many great features! I previously owned an X5 but decided to get something more compact so I decided on an X3. The car is great on gas, the design makes it feel like you are in a cockpit with the iDrive, voice activation, big screen navigation display, it has an internal hard drive, stores my music, my contacts, etc. I can go on and on with the features! Leather seats, smooth drive. It's worth every dollar, luxury and safety is what I found with this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a blast to drive

by Paid2Fly from Middlefield, OH on Sat Feb 01 2014

Absolutely love my 2014 xDrive 28i. Fun to drive, quiet, a lot of zip for a 4 cyl engine, great fuel economy. Who could ask for more. Yeah their expensive but once you get over the sticker shock,they are an incredible car. Had a couple of fuel injectors that failed and the dealership replaced them all no questions asked and said they did not want anyone to have a bad BMW experience. Excellent factory support.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 BMW X3 Review

by X man from New York on Sat Dec 14 2013

Car handles great. Ride is comfortable. No issues have have surfaced after 900 miles. Controls took a little getting used to. The start stop feature is annoying, but there is a button to turn it off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 1st vehicle with adequate towing capacity!

by Dave - multiple BMW owner from Dover, PA on Fri May 04 2018

The vehicle served us well until the third generation BMW X3 came out. The changes have been a significant upgrade in luxury, technology and handling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice but BMW needs to wake up

by Driver from ventura on Mon Jun 25 2018

I have owned many BMW's over the years .. lately BMW has taken a course that in my opinion has cheapened the car. the X-3 is a fun driving SAV.. but honestly there are several aspects about it that make you feel that you are diving a Toyota. Not sure what the execs at BMW are thinking but they need to reverse the course and bring back the ultimate driving machine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This thing is awesome !

by Medic317 from Kingsport on Mon May 01 2017

2014 BMW X3, 1 owner with 14k miles ! Like new, my wife loves it, highly recommend BMW vehicles! Interior is mind blowing with cool features !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most agile and enjoyable car I've ever driven!

by Mo from Dallas on Wed May 17 2017

I highly recommend a BMW X3 to anyone looking to step into a SUV. The size, the technology, the feel and the agility surpass the others. After testing all of the competitors, I kept coming back to BMW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6