2016 X3

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW X3

$23,967 - $39,779  MSRP Range
2016 BMW X3

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

27 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

BMW X3

by horse girl from College Station , Tx on Fri Jul 31 2015

I searched high and low for a diesel SUV that was inexpensive, fun to drive and safe. This is it. It hops off the line, gets awesome mileage, has room for a large dog crate and can even pull a small eurostyle horse trailer. Amazing! It takes a bit to get used to the new shift technology (in and out of park ) but once that's under your belt- you'll be verrrrry happy. BMW dealers were nice and helpful- not high pressure. Great car shopping experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect blend of luxury, performance and utility

by sid314 from on Wed Jun 21 2017

We got the BMW X3 after looking at most other luxury crossover SUVs. For us, it was the perfect balance of performance, luxury and utility. The Porsche Macan was slightly more powerful but had a LOT less space in the trunk. The Audi Q5 was pretty close but the BMW drove better. The Acura RDX was spacious (and comes rather well loaded at base price) but looked a bit bland on the inside and outside. Despite owning many BMWs over 15 years (3 right now), I am still amazed that BMW does NOT come with many modern technologies as 'standard' in their cars (e.g. backup camera, lane departure etc). I don't see how they can call themselves a luxury brand when even non-luxury brands like Honda bundles a 'luxury' like backup cameras in their baseline Honda CRV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our "used" new car

by Skiqueen from Minneapolis, MN on Tue Mar 14 2017

Upgraded from a 2006 BMW X3 to a 2016 X3. BMW kept all the things we liked about the vehicle and improved some things that make us love the new one even more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mild to Wild, BMW X3 remains composed

by Driven from Portland, Oregon on Sat Aug 12 2017

Bought in August 2015, my first BMW has proven to be classically German. Refined, solidly built, with firm sensibility. It's everyday, mild mannered practicality, can lull you into believing you have a plain vanilla. Push it, and it encourages you to push it more, as it remains composed. Temptingly, it becomes more and more addictive, as it continues to build your confidence, remaining in control, as you push the limits. Equipped with the Diesel (27/36 MPG) is real, with a low of (24MPG), with my pushing it in the city/frwy driving. Only negatives I have found, is the throttle delay (may only be with the diesel), and highway acceleration being slow. Use the "manual shift" option, and highway acceleration will be solved. If you want a practical, reliable, fuel efficient, performance vehicle, that is fun to drive, buy the BMW X3.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall, best car I've owned thus far!

by kfox from Texas on Fri Jun 09 2017

The X3 has far exceeded my expectations in the first month of owning it! The gas mileage is fabulous, the leg and cargo room is so roomy, the back up camera is absolutely so clear, the ride is smooth and it is so fun to drive. I have never been one to look forward to driving, like I do now in my X3!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV!

by JAG from New York on Tue Mar 29 2016

It is the kind of Vehicle I wanted to own my entire life. It rides beautifully, with great performance. Must get with Technology Package.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Looks good but ...

by DocNyto from Tallahassee on Wed Aug 02 2017

This car looks good and would please my Uber passengers on that scale, plus they would love the BMW logo. But after driving a Lexus for 2 years, I found the ride much stiffer and less comfortable. The dash and center console layout is nice. But overall it did not meet my driving passengers luxury needs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car buyer

by Terri M from on Mon Mar 20 2017

Surprised by the power of the 4 cylinder engine. Fun to drive, comfortable and roomy! I was concerned about cargo space but it fits my dog crate with the back seats up - plenty of room for people and pets.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X3 XDRIVE35i - Sweeeeet

by Laura from Cumming GA on Tue Nov 14 2017

Sleek and powerful, capable and nimble, responsive and solid....This BMW X3 feels like it appreciates the driver as much as the driver appreciates the ride. This would be one of the few SUVs I've driven with a constant smile on my face. It turns like butter, handles like it knows the road, and the interior and technology is refined and surprisingly smart. Love at first drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bmw is the best car for the money you can buy!

by MCM on Tue Aug 28 2018

This car fits my need for a quality 2nd suv that my whole family can drive. The size is perfect for young drivers and the tech works flawlessly with a family of iPhones.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3