2017 X3

Consumer Reviews

2017 BMW X3

$40,050 - $48,950  MSRP Range
2017 BMW X3

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

52 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2017 BMW X3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Dream car for my wife

by Andre from Campbell, CA on Fri Mar 17 2017

New X3 is a bit larger than it's used to be in the past and we like it. Ride is comfortable and quiet, perfect for long trips. Handles the snow easily. Plenty of power, expected mileage, not bad at all for an SUV. Absolutely gorgeous inside with brown leather. All technology is there but I'd say a bit cumbersome to access with a dial stick - no touchscreen. Great sound. Navigation is OK, spot on, but doesn't adjust to route changes as easy as some others. Overall my wife is very happy and it helps her to feel great after a long day in the office.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car! Small but powerful and fun to drive

by Susie C from Charlotte, NC on Wed May 17 2017

I have always driven the BMW 5 series and loved them. I was nervous to try an X3 , but was happily surprised at the room, power, and comfort in the newer models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent choice of a SUV

by MAUI Bob from Norwell, MA on Fri Aug 18 2017

This car is the third X3 that I have either owned or leased and thus far the best in terms of safety and appearance. It's not as peppy as my 2015 was, but that had the 6 cylinder engine - it certainly has more than enough power, pick-up and speed. The handling is typical excellent BMW handling. The advanced safety features are what I'm appreciating most, since I have a better sense of security when driving it than I have had with any other car I have owned or leased (or rented when trips) - and that goes back for more than 60 years. The styling of the 2017 X3 has improved over my 2015. From what I've seen of and heard about the 2018 X3, it didn't make sense to wait several months for it, based on its obvious higher cost and its expected marginal improvements/advantages. We compared the X3 to a Mercedes GLC-300 and found the X3 to be superior in many ways that count. The Mercedes supposedly was manufactured "better" than the BMW, but we found in our test drives, that there was a serious air leak at the top of the passenger side front window and the workmanship on the dashboard was of borderline quality. The 2017 BMW X3 handles "like a BMW" - meaning you have an excellent feel for the car and for the road - a good solid sense the you are in control and the car responds to what you want/ask it to do. The 2017 is a good looking, great driving example of BMW engineering.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Deam car

by Dreamer from Anaheim, CA on Mon Mar 27 2017

BMX X3 has good performance and very confortable for drive. The design is beatiful and the size is decent for single or couple.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good so far!

by Lurcat from on Thu May 04 2017

Nice car...worth the money...has been reliable so far. My wife really enjoys driving and all available features. I like the idrive user interface.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X3

by travldc from Chicago, IL on Sat Apr 29 2017

Awesome car - beautiful color. Lover the mocha interior. Rides like a dream and handles like a sports car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best midsize SUV in its class

by Lisa_Cincy from Cincinnati, OH on Thu Jul 13 2017

This car fits all of my needs. I wanted a mid size SUV but one that's still luxurious and the new X3 is it. It has a sophisticated system with the bluetooth connection for music/Spotify which has been great for on the road. It also handles very well and isn't "floaty" like some of the Mercedes I have driven (I used to own a GLK). It handles like a small car with the space of an SUV (you can put all the seats down). I was able to fit an 8x10 rug in there. It also looks sleek and expensive without being overly expensive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Run Flats are brutal

by Yakamatsu from Tulsa, OK on Wed Jul 19 2017

I leased a 2017 BMW X3 after returning a leased 2014 320i. The current X3 has 13,000 miles on it and I love the car. I think it's the best looking X3 since BMW released this car. I like the fact that I can actually haul a lot of stuff including 4 sets of golf clubs (drivers have to be pulled out of the bag). The acceleration is decent and when I need a bit more power, Power mode is way more adequate. My only complaint continues to be run-flat tires. We have some pretty pitiful roads in Oklahoma and I've been shopping to replace the factory ones. The ride is a notch below my friend's Ford F250, which isn't acceptable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new car

by Ted and Becky from Whitewater Wisconsin on Thu Apr 13 2017

It is so stylish and sporty, great lines and the comfort is awesome. I am petite and the BMW X.3 fits me perfectly

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still the best car co

by robert from Wrightsville Beach on Sun Apr 15 2018

Great suv for comfort, fuel efficiency (28 MPG around town)and style. Love the heads-up display and park assist. Super quiet and well mannered. Great interior and cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6