2020 X3 M

Consumer Reviews

2020 BMW X3 M

$61,083 - $82,868  MSRP Range
2020 BMW X3 M

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 BMW X3 M?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART

by BMWing from Delaware on Thu Dec 19 2019

As a long time lover of sedans, especially BMW, this X3M was a bit of leap for me. I've owned an M5, 650Xi, 5 Series and multiple 3 Series over the years. MB, Audi and Lexus performance sedans as well. This SUV is the bomb. Not meant for people who want a "sofa ride", but not harsh either. Its form factor, practicality and pure thrill of driving is astounding for an SUV. If you can catch a dealer doing an incentive, the price is remarkably reasonable as well. For me it is the whole package and a remarkable piece of automotive technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST fun SUV ever

by NH from MI on Wed Apr 08 2020

Lot of Power. Very comfortable, reliable. Good safety features. The interior finish is luxurious. Have no idea what kind of mileage it gets, not important.If that is your concern this car is not for you. Anybody that can afford this car gives 2 hoots for MPG.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Car has software issue and Bmw cannot fixed it

by Pawel from Thornwood ny on Fri May 01 2020

car has software issue Bmw says they cannot fix it they’re waiting for the software after spending $90,000 that’s what I get I’m driving with the check engine on

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2020 BMX X3 M40i review

by Bruce T from Superior WI on Wed Nov 27 2019

The new X3's are more roomy and have a much better exterior and interior look and feel than previous editions. The M40i has a powerful growl and great performance while meeting all the technology and comfort expectations

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the car!

by Bill H from Austin, TX on Thu Jan 23 2020

This car is so much fun to drive. The engine sound is fantastic. A real muscle car. If you don't buy one, at least test drive the car. You will be hooked!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wanted to buy it. Glad I did extended test drive.

by Xpeed7 from Durham, NC on Sat Mar 06 2021

Beautiful car with dual tone interior. Stiff, car like handling. Wonderful car on smooth roads. Downtown, the ride was brutal. Car needs to be between 2000-3000 rpm to be responsive at low speeds. Became annoying to always be in this rpm range. Would have purchased if comfort mode was more comfortable. But on right road surface conditions the cars is a blast to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No. It is not too stiff.

by Alvin from DE on Fri Mar 20 2020

The 1st thing I did when I test drove the X3M was to figure out the M1 and M2 buttons. The 2nd thing I did was set it up so it did not feel like it was understeering. After that I looked at what it had inside and outside, then what it did not have. It had everything - except massage seats. It could be louder. Now, the people who said the X3M was "too stiff" had to be very soft or unfit. Comparatively, the X3M drives softer than a GLC63, and stiffer than a Audi SQ5. But it is comfortable, strong, fast, and in comfort mode, just as good or BETTER than most sedan daily drivers. Not sure why anyone would say it's stiff. It's not as visceral or scary as the GLC 63S - but just as fast. And if you don't track SUVs - that is a plus. Great SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super fast SUV. Perfect for the city

by AI from Chicago Il on Sun Nov 03 2019

I did not have this car on my radar and drove it on a whim. This car is so much faster than the reported 0-60 time. I Chose the competition model. I owned an M6 previously and I have to say this is quicker. The car also has plenty of room. I am 6’5” and very comfortable in this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No compromise BMW

by Jaesee75 from NY on Wed Mar 18 2020

If you ever wanted an M3, but didn’t want to deal with the potholes, then this is for you. In addition, you get to sit higher and view traffic better. And, you get to have a decent trunk. And you won’t have to worry about the snow. Yes, it much more expensive than an M3. The model we test drove stickered at $94K. But, it also does quite a bit more than any sports sedan. So there’s that. It’s also easy to park due to its compact size. We love the x5, but it’s only a tiny bit bigger and still only offers basically the same amount of interior space. Power was awesome of course, at about 500HP. Handling was awesome as well. However, my wife thought it was a bit too loud and “showy.” Not for our age group (44). We need something a bit more refined and subtle. We’re not out there to show you how loud our car can get. Overall, a really fun ride. Definitely wouldn’t mind buying it used several years later.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Ultimate Driving Machine

by Nancy’s Toy from Greenwood, SC on Thu Mar 12 2020

Lives up to the title. Handles like a charm on long drives. Comfortable with all the features that make is enjoyable to be in. Smile every time I get in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2