Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 X5

Consumer Reviews

2002 BMW X5

$1,982 - $9,138  MSRP Range
2002 BMW X5

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

35 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good solid SUV

by BMW guy from minneapolis on Wed Jan 19 2011

I have owned this car for 4 years. driven it about 50,000 miles and still love it. I have the manual transmission..lets you enjoy the engine more. I have to say that it is spendy when things break..i had to replace the radiator, battery ( normal), tires, pads and rotors as well as belts and lights. so all together it was a big chunk.. car drives well..get the packages..they add value like the tech pack ( navigation parking sensors ) or the winter pack ( heated wheel and seats).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle, Great Value

by finedesign from Raleigh, NC on Wed Sep 05 2012

This is my daily driver with 187,000 miles! I have been pleasantly surprised by the limited amount of money I have spent on maintenance/repair with this vehicle. The LED display did require repair which I had completed by an independent provider and only cost $100. The key to these vehicles is to PROPERLY maintain them at the recommended intervals. I've owned other SUV's and this is by far the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5 4.6is - Wolf in Sheeps Clothing

by BMW Driver for life from SLC, Utah on Wed Jun 21 2006

The BMW X5 4.6is is an awesome drive. It is fast, responsive and the handling is super tight. You would think you are driving a sports car. I love the fact that it has all the advantages of a sports car in an SUV body. With the seats folded down I have tons of cargo space and the AWD makes it feel even more solid. It is certainly pricey but it also holds its value better than any SUV I have researched and the 4.6is has every imaginable option. Love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Jim from Wash, DC on Thu Jul 07 2011

My 2002 X5 is the best car I've ever owned. Very reliable, stylish and comfortable. I have the 6 cyl. with stick, which is not for everyone. It is a truck transmission, and it has the sport suspension, so it is a stiff ride. the 6 cyl, only makes 225 hp, which in my view is slightly underpowered for a 4500 pound vehicle, but overall this is a great car. I have 140,000 miles and I"ve only replaced the brakes once and it is still the original clutch. It is still going strong. BMW has the best balance of performance with luxury and style on the market today, IMHO.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my '02 X5 4.4i

by CarGuy from Chicago, IL on Mon May 22 2006

Bought my 2002 X5 4.4i a little over a year ago as a Certified Pre-owned vehicle. My wife and I love the car's overall design, performance and reliability. I believe that the X5 is still the best looking and best proportioned SUV on the road--especially with the available 19" or 20" wheels. The Range Rover and Cayenne (Turbo model only) come in a close second. The X5 is a heavy vehicle, but the 4.4i, in particular, has great acceleration and torque. Handling is also one of its strongest qualities, especially for an SUV--limited body roll, and it doesn't dive during braking or squat during acceleration. The X5 is absolutely rock solid and stable on the open highway (showing it's Autobahn roots), and resists strong cross winds. Braking is excellent (be ready for copious amounts of brake dust, though!) The interior is gorgeous, with beautifully polished wood, excellent materials, and top notch fit and finish. It has held up well over time. Negatives are few. Gas mileage is one (about 14 mpg), but I was willing to make the tradeoff for better performance. Also the rear hatch has a tendency to rattle over bumps. In addition, the turn signal was stuck in the on position during one winter drive home. It was fine the next day, though. And one of the teeth in the front cupholder has disappeared from it's foundation. Overall, however, the car seems to be very durable and well made. In sum, I would highly recommend the X5 to anyone looking for a sporty SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Vehicel

by ecoarchitect from lawrence, kansas on Wed May 25 2011

these are 'king of the road' in terms of handling. a very safe very good view of the highway with excellent road feel. only problem areas ever were electrical.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'02 X5 4.6is, one of BMW's all-time greatest hits

by carsly on Mon Apr 02 2018

I've owned a 2002 BMW X5 4.6is for the last five years which I purchased used with 36K miles and now has 56K on the odometer. Having owned three other BMW's, and numerous other cars, I can honestly say that the X5 4.6is is not only one of the rarest BMW's (only ~2,200 ever made) but also a top-performer. It's large-displacement naturally aspirated V8 has an intoxicating low-RPM rumble that's dead quiet inside at a stop but comes on with a roar if you put the hammer down. Despite it being 16 years old, build quality has been very strong with only minor age-related issues and everything works perfectly as it did when new from the heated seats, nav and bluetooth to the in-dash tape player. The 4.6is model is nothing like the regular 3.0i or 4.4i models in terms of performance, handling and comfort and I'd rate it as superior to the 4.8is that followed which has the troublesome six speed auto trans, air bags on all four corners and panoramic moonroof as expensive hot spots. You will pay comfortably more for a low-mileage, documented, 4.6is than you will a beat-up 3.0i but it's well worth the expense. Much like it's more well-known contemporaries - the E46 M3 and E39 M5 - this was one of BMW's greatest cars ever produced and a true joy to own and drive every day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smooth riding truck

by X5black from Queens NY on Tue May 16 2017

Check engine light is on but car runs great with minor scratches. Leather seats are in great condition.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by twig from Minnesota on Tue Jul 03 2018

Havent had it for long but another dream car its big and fun and comfortable has a sun roof and handles the road im going to miss it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car but costly to maintain

by Kamaile from San Leandro, CA on Mon Apr 24 2017

This car is great up until it starts to breakdown. Repairs are costly. But I definitely feel extremely safe in it and I do love its style

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 BMW X5

When the 2002 BMW X5 4.6is was delivered, I stood there, looking at its tires.

The sidewalls were as low as an elephant's toe.

Up front were 275/40R20s, which looked massive. But they weren't nearly as massive as the rear 315/35R20s. Yow!

Couple that with the new number on the front fender -- 4.6 for the new performance-tuned 340-horsepower V-8 -- and you have an SUV that promised a lot more fun on-road than off.

The X5 is available in three trim levels, 3.0i, 4.4i and 4.6is, the last one being new for 2002.

Actually, the big news is the new V-8 model, which takes the 4.4i's V-8 and enlarges the engine's size along with adding a host of performance enhancements. They include higher... Read More