2005 X5

Consumer Reviews
2005 BMW X5

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

36 Reviews
2005 BMW X5
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Tough luxury

by Dr Demento from Gig Harbor, WA on July 21, 2011

The BMW X5 sets itself apart from truck-like SUVs with the smoothly luxurious interiors, ultra comfy seats and quiet but sesponsive ride the 5 series is known for. Yes, it is for activity; four guys and golf clubs - yep, theres room; a buddy and skiis up for the first tracks at the ski hill - yep, done that; two couples going shopping in the city for the day - yes, there's room for all we bought. Throw the kayak on top and it will get you to the harbor or up the river on any kind of road. As a commuter car its not great on gas - barely 20 mph for usual use, up to 22 on hiway, but if you're that worried about gas prices, you should not drive a BMW. The X5 is the total package of space, comfort, safety, performance and looks. Oh yes, in Imola Red it is an irresistable eye turner anywhere. For true sports car nuts get the 8 cylinder, but the 6 is reasonably fast. You will not be embarrassed if you put the pedal to metal while merging on any freeway. You will quickly outrun everything else out there, except maybe a BMW M series.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the smoothest riding cars I've owned.

by Car lover from Indianapolis, Indiana on October 20, 2011

Was looking for a nice utility vehicle to drive for the winter since sport car is not practical in the snow. The BMW X5 has surprised me & met all my expectations. Very smooth riding vehicle with excellent handling & performance. Very impressed & an excellent experience in finding it on Cars.com.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most realiable car!!!

by Beamer head from Sacramento CA on May 20, 2007

Great performance..Everyone should buy one!!! My wife and kids really love it. Is the best car I have ever own. I wouldn't trade this for Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Number 1 In My Book

by The General from Portland, OR on October 22, 2009

Excellent styling, performance, handling, and reliability. What more could you ask for in an automobile? This is my second X5 and they are a fabulously engineered vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excelllent buy on the used market

by tomo x5 from ny on January 16, 2012

Even with the mileage on these cars, they are still awesome. Fast, reliable and better on gas then jeep. Comfortable too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I owned!

by Sohi from Meridian, ID on January 31, 2018

I felt really safe in that car with great performance. I purchased the car brand new and had it for 7 years, best car I ever owned, due to special circumstance I had to sell the car, but the first chance I get, I will purchase the X5 again. Loved it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built solid

by rocbiker from New York on December 12, 2017

The BMW X5 is built very solid and has performance in its blood. Handles better than many SUVs and has a sure-footedness about it. Lots of great features that aren't available on most cars today (or only in the priciest, most loaded ones) like HID headlights that move when you turn corners, hill decent, power rear recline seats, rear side window shades, etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Fun but high maintenance!

by Dakramp from Iowa on March 30, 2018

True luxury sports car in a suv package! Power, prestige, luxury....I could go on and on. Really enjoyed the last 4 years with my X5. On another note it didn’t come without its share of high maintenance costs. That was enough sell it while everything was in tip top shop and the fact I now have a “FREE” work car to drive. It outperformed pretty much everything on the road in all weather conditions and from a stop light. Bottom line- fun car to drive but very expensive to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Sunroof Problem

by Jesse from Hammond, Indiana on July 1, 2013

This Vehicle was in the Shop every 4 mnths. I loved the way it drove and handled but way too many problems with front light assembly, I had to replace the whole assembly becouse the front light bulb kept on giving out. Bmw warrantied this problem when it was still under warranty. Then when my Panoramic sunroof malfunctioned , I was told I had to replace the whole assembly plus the glass also. This, I was told was going to be about $4500 plus and now Bmw wouldnt cover it becouse they had already covered the front light assembly of course this happened when the warranty had just expired.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Sporty Car

by LadyX5 from Ridgeland, MS on April 8, 2008

I love this SAV! It is my first BMW, but it will not be my last. It is just right for me and it rides very smooth. I have great gas mileage, which is not what I expected. There is a slight blind-side on the passenger side rear when driving, but it is not that bad... Did I tell you that I love my X5?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2005 BMW X5