2005 X5

Consumer Reviews

2005 BMW X5

$3,711 - $10,135  MSRP Range
2005 BMW X5

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

39 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Tough luxury

by Dr Demento from Gig Harbor, WA on Thu Jul 21 2011

The BMW X5 sets itself apart from truck-like SUVs with the smoothly luxurious interiors, ultra comfy seats and quiet but sesponsive ride the 5 series is known for. Yes, it is for activity; four guys and golf clubs - yep, theres room; a buddy and skiis up for the first tracks at the ski hill - yep, done that; two couples going shopping in the city for the day - yes, there's room for all we bought. Throw the kayak on top and it will get you to the harbor or up the river on any kind of road. As a commuter car its not great on gas - barely 20 mph for usual use, up to 22 on hiway, but if you're that worried about gas prices, you should not drive a BMW. The X5 is the total package of space, comfort, safety, performance and looks. Oh yes, in Imola Red it is an irresistable eye turner anywhere. For true sports car nuts get the 8 cylinder, but the 6 is reasonably fast. You will not be embarrassed if you put the pedal to metal while merging on any freeway. You will quickly outrun everything else out there, except maybe a BMW M series.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the smoothest riding cars I've owned.

by Car lover from Indianapolis, Indiana on Thu Oct 20 2011

Was looking for a nice utility vehicle to drive for the winter since sport car is not practical in the snow. The BMW X5 has surprised me & met all my expectations. Very smooth riding vehicle with excellent handling & performance. Very impressed & an excellent experience in finding it on Cars.com.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most realiable car!!!

by Beamer head from Sacramento CA on Sun May 20 2007

Great performance..Everyone should buy one!!! My wife and kids really love it. Is the best car I have ever own. I wouldn't trade this for Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Number 1 In My Book

by The General from Portland, OR on Thu Oct 22 2009

Excellent styling, performance, handling, and reliability. What more could you ask for in an automobile? This is my second X5 and they are a fabulously engineered vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excelllent buy on the used market

by tomo x5 from ny on Mon Jan 16 2012

Even with the mileage on these cars, they are still awesome. Fast, reliable and better on gas then jeep. Comfortable too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Fun but high maintenance!

by Dakramp from Iowa on Fri Mar 30 2018

True luxury sports car in a suv package! Power, prestige, luxury....I could go on and on. Really enjoyed the last 4 years with my X5. On another note it didn’t come without its share of high maintenance costs. That was enough sell it while everything was in tip top shop and the fact I now have a “FREE” work car to drive. It outperformed pretty much everything on the road in all weather conditions and from a stop light. Bottom line- fun car to drive but very expensive to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I owned!

by Sohi from Meridian, ID on Wed Jan 31 2018

I felt really safe in that car with great performance. I purchased the car brand new and had it for 7 years, best car I ever owned, due to special circumstance I had to sell the car, but the first chance I get, I will purchase the X5 again. Loved it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built solid

by rocbiker from New York on Tue Dec 12 2017

The BMW X5 is built very solid and has performance in its blood. Handles better than many SUVs and has a sure-footedness about it. Lots of great features that aren't available on most cars today (or only in the priciest, most loaded ones) like HID headlights that move when you turn corners, hill decent, power rear recline seats, rear side window shades, etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The BMW X5. Unreliability

by Jrod from EAST FREETOWN on Tue Oct 09 2018

The X5 transmissions are very weak! I had a 03 X5 & 05 X5 and both vehicles the transmissions slipped. One the transmission needed whole new one , also the door handles on those vehicles when cold can break off , & are infamous for doors being jammed. I. Like the style they look sharp & are comfortable on interior.. I would only recommend if they have a Excellent warranty to cover bumper to bumper because it's only a matter of time before transmission issues. I've done research and alot of people have same problems , door handles & transmissions.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

just got ahold of one fast, plenty of electronics

by midnightdragon69 from warsaw, missouri on Sun Aug 13 2017

fun suv, never thought would like suvs proved me wrong, powerful engine, lots of room, bad mofo full of gadgets and gizmos, does have some rust though

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 BMW X5

It's been five years since BMW became the first automaker to market a sporty sport utility vehicle — that's sporty in the on-road sense, not the rock-climbing sense. When word got out about their plans, reactions ranged from "What are they thinking?!" and "Madness!" to "Cool!" and "It's about time." When it hit the market, it was clear that BMW had succeeded in making an SUV that was just enough of an SUV and completely a BMW. It looked, handled, braked and accelerated like a BMW.

Others have followed, and despite BMW's paving the way, Porsche's Cayenne announcement met with even more outrage — possibly warranted, because not all versions of the vehicle they delivered behave like a Porsche. With... Read More