2013 X5

Consumer Reviews

2013 BMW X5

$9,606 - $21,966  MSRP Range
2013 BMW X5

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

76 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by BMW X5 50i from Raleigh, NC on Mon Jun 25 2012

Im very happy with my purchase of the X5 2013 50i. It's much faster than its counter part 35i and burns almost the same in fuel. The X5 M is just too expensive and burns much more fuel. Mitch

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a great vehicle

by pixma from San Francisco Bay Area on Sun Sep 08 2013

First BMW and I am glad I bought it. I got the 35i premium. The handling is great, nothing like the cars I used to drive. Power is adequate. You really feel you are in control as the driver. Also drove the Audi Q7 and there is no comparison. The BMW is far superior in terms driving dynamics. Gas mileage is around 20 for me on average and I am satisfied. The top view camera and the HUD are very convenient. Only put 70k miles on it so can't really comment on the reliability, but no problem so far. Some stuff that can improved: the recommended service interval is way too long. This makes the BMW free service of not much use. The navigation needs some learning abilities to know which roads I avoid always and which I like to take because it doesn't use traffic information very wisely by itself. The voice command is still in its infant state, a minor disruption would put the address into a total different state. Like another reviewer said, the brake paddle is positioned weirdly. My foot ankle hurts after stop and go traffic for a long time. Overall I don't think you can do much better for your money for a mid-sized SUV. The only other worthy option is the Cayenne but you have to look above the Cayenne S, which is way more expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd X5

by Crzycatmama on Wed Aug 23 2017

This vehicle was a great find. A 2013 with 22K miles. It's like brand new! It's my 3rd X5. I love these SUV's. They drive smoothly, look sharp, spacious interior and a large cargo area with folding rear seats. I highly recommend X5's!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle. Expensive to maintain.

by Brad from Cumberland, RI on Tue May 22 2018

Awesome to drive. Handles well at higher speeds. Bought the diesel due to great gas mileage. Purchased with 41,000 miles, 1 owner well maintained. I just hit 100,000. Within the last 5 months I’ve replaced egr cooler, full brakes, frm module, diesel spray meter and passive tank which this was under warranty. I have done all recommended pm’s to vehicle and as they say ’xxx happens’ if you decide to buy the x5 35d be prepared for hefty unexpected repair bills.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Stacylynn from Joplin, MO on Mon Feb 20 2017

This vehicle is sporty, comfortable, roomy and handles great! I absolutely love the spacious interior for all passengers and yet it doesn't feel like I am driving an oversized SUV. The back also has Plenty of room for luggage, groceries, etc...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall best vehicle I have owned

by WhizFamilyBimmer on Mon Feb 26 2018

By far the best vehicle I have ever owned in this class. I have owned and driven many SUV’s in my time, but the X5 is by a wide margin first on the list for styling, dependability, performance, and creature comforts. It blends perfectly performance and comfort in the same package. I bought the xdrive 35d for fuel economy that has the needed power on tap. It is a blessing to go from a Jeep Commander Hemi averaging 11 mpg to a vehicle with the same performance getting closer to 30 mpg. The power is there when you need it but for cruising at highway speeds the smoothness is no comparison. Although the car basically drives itself, I find you have to be more aware due to the fact the real to perceived speed ratio is about 10-15 mph off. I live in northern West Virginia and the roads are very twisty with lots of hills and valleys. Its common in the X5 to be going 10 mph faster than the recommended speed around turns as this vehicle handles like it’s on rails. I have read other reviews complaining of the steering being very stiff, but I find it to be very tight and responsive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5

by Rick’s Car from Battle Ground on Sun Nov 26 2017

This was the best car I’ve owned ever and I put over 190,000 miles on this car. The car was excellent in cold weather, in warm weather and for long drives. Great BMW Sound System and cold Weather Package made this a super car to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the nicest vehicles I have ever owned.

by RANDALL from LONGVIEW on Mon Mar 25 2019

For the money, the BMW X5 is one of the nicest vehicles I have ever owned. My wife and I own another BMW model. They know how to design and manufacture quality vehicles that last. Not uncommon to drive a BMW 300,000 miles without any major repairs if properly maintained. Great value for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very safe and reliable. A lot of power.

by BMW from Noblesville on Sun May 12 2019

Never had any issues, very well built, performs outstanding in the snow. The all weather package is one of the best features, not to mention the power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW SUV Fun

by Mark K from Kingsport, TN on Wed Aug 15 2018

The X5 has the right fit and luxury for my needs. A fun vehicle to drive, but not too overwhelming. The engine power is enough for what I require.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2013 BMW X5

I recently saw a 1967 BMW ad titled “Why is BMW a Man’s Car?” According to the ad, the answer is, “Because it was designed to suit a man’s taste. Fast, lean, tough. No frills, no nonsense. Just a handsome, totally dependable car that gets you there with a minimum of fuss and a maximum of driving pleasure.”

After of week of diverging opinions between my husband and me about the 2013 BMW X5 xDrive35i, I’m starting to think the characterization of BMWs as “man’s cars” is true — at least in our family.

There are very few stereotypical gender roles my family and I subscribe to. (After all, the five of us spent Father’s Day at the... Read More