2013 X5

Consumer Reviews

2013 BMW X5

$13,457 - $27,789  MSRP Range
2013 BMW X5

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

54 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

new to Bmw's

by bmwmomma from Colts Neck on Thu Jun 07 2012

I owned an Acura MDX for 7 yrs and traded it in for an X5. The Acrua was great, just wanted something different and the x5 wasn't much more than a new acura with navigation. The power and drive of the BMW is far superior. I will give up some of the seating comfort for the way it handles. Really amazing and Im not a big "handling" person but you can't ignore it. Its a solid driving machine. Just wish it was a bit more sculpted or comfy as the Acura inside.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

True Driver's Car

by BMW_R_US from New Jersey on Mon Oct 08 2012

This is my first BMW X5 and I am happy I bought it. Driving this not so light truck is a real pleasure. Confident posture, tight corner handling and abundant power let?s you know you are driving German machine. A few improvements I would love to see are mostly electronic gadgets, standard on Japanese models that allow easier access to the navigation, etc. Overall, great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a great vehicle

by pixma from San Francisco Bay Area on Sun Sep 08 2013

First BMW and I am glad I bought it. I got the 35i premium. The handling is great, nothing like the cars I used to drive. Power is adequate. You really feel you are in control as the driver. Also drove the Audi Q7 and there is no comparison. The BMW is far superior in terms driving dynamics. Gas mileage is around 20 for me on average and I am satisfied. The top view camera and the HUD are very convenient. Only put 70k miles on it so can't really comment on the reliability, but no problem so far. Some stuff that can improved: the recommended service interval is way too long. This makes the BMW free service of not much use. The navigation needs some learning abilities to know which roads I avoid always and which I like to take because it doesn't use traffic information very wisely by itself. The voice command is still in its infant state, a minor disruption would put the address into a total different state. Like another reviewer said, the brake paddle is positioned weirdly. My foot ankle hurts after stop and go traffic for a long time. Overall I don't think you can do much better for your money for a mid-sized SUV. The only other worthy option is the Cayenne but you have to look above the Cayenne S, which is way more expensive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by BMW X5 50i from Raleigh, NC on Mon Jun 25 2012

Im very happy with my purchase of the X5 2013 50i. It's much faster than its counter part 35i and burns almost the same in fuel. The X5 M is just too expensive and burns much more fuel. Mitch

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Sports SUV

by GSmith from on Thu Feb 23 2017

Handles and drives like a 5 series car, which is the chassis it is based on. It seems most sorted and comfortable at 90mph plus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd X5

by Crzycatmama on Wed Aug 23 2017

This vehicle was a great find. A 2013 with 22K miles. It's like brand new! It's my 3rd X5. I love these SUV's. They drive smoothly, look sharp, spacious interior and a large cargo area with folding rear seats. I highly recommend X5's!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2013 X5 35D Blue Performance, wow

by Bryan from Ruapehu on Sun Jul 08 2018

Honestly you want one of these! ok when you see a land cruiser owner look at your car his face says he wants one but has gone for the safe option. 3500kg tow bar and excellent at it and can corner like a sports car, I have nailed it and I mean foot hard down around tight corners in the wet and where I steer it goes..... don't ask me how I can't explain it it's heavy and should not do that!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle

by Stacylynn from Joplin, MO on Mon Feb 20 2017

This vehicle is sporty, comfortable, roomy and handles great! I absolutely love the spacious interior for all passengers and yet it doesn't feel like I am driving an oversized SUV. The back also has Plenty of room for luggage, groceries, etc...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle. Expensive to maintain.

by Brad from Cumberland, RI on Tue May 22 2018

Awesome to drive. Handles well at higher speeds. Bought the diesel due to great gas mileage. Purchased with 41,000 miles, 1 owner well maintained. I just hit 100,000. Within the last 5 months I?ve replaced egr cooler, full brakes, frm module, diesel spray meter and passive tank which this was under warranty. I have done all recommended pm?s to vehicle and as they say ?xxx happens? if you decide to buy the x5 35d be prepared for hefty unexpected repair bills.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BMW x5

by Scott t from Midway ky on Fri Dec 09 2016

Went from a x3 to a x5 both great vehicles just don't own one without warranty. They are very expensive to work on.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2013 BMW X5

I recently saw a 1967 BMW ad titled "Why is BMW a Man's Car?" According to the ad, the answer is, "Because it was designed to suit a man's taste. Fast, lean, tough. No frills, no nonsense. Just a handsome, totally dependable car that gets you there with a minimum of fuss and a maximum of driving pleasure."

After of week of diverging opinions between my husband and me about the 2013 BMW X5 xDrive35i, I'm starting to think the characterization of BMWs as "man's cars" is true — at least in our family.

There are very few stereotypical gender roles my family and I subscribe to. (After all, the five of us spent Father's Day at the nail salon getting pedicures, and my... Read More