2016 X5 eDrive

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW X5 eDrive

$33,707 - $51,015  MSRP Range
2016 BMW X5 eDrive

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

7 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 BMW X5 eDrive?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Owner

by X5 E from Los Angeles on Sat Jan 30 2016

Ive own an x5 since 2005, and finally bought a new one last month. We decided to buy the x5 Edrive, and have been very happy with the car. Ive been driving it for 4 weeks now.. You get about 18 miles on the charge, (city driving) and if you want sport mode, its been 14 mpg. This car is faster than my old x5 4.4 , and its shocking to see the gas tank not move for days ....if you drive in Max E mode. The size of the takes getting some use too, and the center counsel is not designed perfectly (it swallows up your key card-if not careful) On average driving 40 miles a day , you can get about 45 mpg with conservative driving. The car has the least interior noise I've ever not heard in a call... Its like being in a movie theater right before the movie starts...dead silence...really incredible. The biggest drawback is the battery drains fast, and it takes a good 6 hours to charge fully on a regular plug. Overall the car has exceeded our expectations E Lover!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice ride and economic

by Ks from Newyork on Sat Apr 08 2017

Great car to drive and give u the feeling of a powerful ride but yet you are somehow contributing to saving the planet. Handles nicely, rigid and has good space but could sometimes feel like a minor lag in power but nothing of concern

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good first attempt but held back from greatness

by MoMo from Malibu, Ca on Mon Jul 31 2017

This review is for the non-M-package X5 40e. Good first attempt at a Hybrid SUV for BMW but needs refinement to reach greatness. If your commute is around 12 miles a trip with a charger at each stop you can theoretically never fill up with gas which is a fantastic proposition. I've managed 41mpg (870 miles with one tank), but I've also managed 26mpg when I had to mix in a lot of highway driving (I drive very conservatively). The 4-cylinder turbo is a far cry from anything VW group makes - a coarse almost dieselesque feeling unrefined 4-cylinder that could benefit from more horsepower and smoother operation for this 70k 5000lbs+ beast. Keep this thing charged to benefit from the additional punch from the electric motor to keep it moving at an acceptable pace. On the topic of charging, it definitely is on the slower end of the spectrum. The suspension needs to be honed in, the additional weight of this car due to the battery coupled with the soft suspension creates a tidal wave effect when going over uneven surfaces and the body roll in the twisties is more than BMW should have ever allowed. The seats are best suited for small trips, after an hour of driving they get uncomfortable and I find myself shifting around a lot to find comfort. Both exterior and especially interior are showing their age, although a very handsome exterior it's definitely time for the update that's around the corner. The i-drive system is the best it's ever been, unfortunately BMW's slightly convoluted HVAC system isn't the best one on the market, VW/Audi are the masters of cold and hot air on demand from my experience. The amount of noise in relation to the amount of cooling and heating you get in the X5 is off...by a lot. Rear seat room is great, cargo space is good, even though you give up some trunk volume due to the battery it hasn't affected me negatively one bit. The tailgate I absolutely love having, as a photographer it's been awesome to be able to work out of my trunk when needed. The car is a good lease option for anyone in the market that needs an X5 and wants to capitalize on the hybrid benefits. Here's hoping the next gen addresses the issues and I'm sure they'll have a winner on their hands.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

most expensive piece of junk I've ever owned

by formerBMWlover from new Orleans on Tue Aug 08 2017

This car started having engine problems 2 years after I purchased it brand spanking new! Needs a 15000 engine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Terrific, efficient luxury SUV

by BayAreaDude on Wed Aug 02 2017

Needed a larger car to accommodate my growing family. But also wanted something on the fuel-efficient side. There are very few plug in or fully electric SUVs (Mercedes, Volvo, Tesla, BMW). The X5 40e has been tremendous - it's plenty peppy, allows all electric driving around town (I'm getting 12-15 miles on the battery). For commutes under 40 miles, if you need an SUV, you should consider this. My only two fill ups (in 3 months of driving) have shown 29 and 37 MPG, respectively. The more short trips you do, the better.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by ShirleyG from Monterey, CA on Tue Oct 31 2017

The right size SUV for my growing family. Very comfortable especially for a long drive and lots of room front and back. Has twin turbo, equipped with navigation and backup camera all features my hubby loves. I am up higher compare to my 2016 RAV4 and feels really really comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

zippy and god mpg for a large SUV

by robert from ca on Sat Jul 15 2017

I achive between 20 to 24 mpg wich is great for this size SUV. The m sport package is worth the money and the upgraded suspension ,wheels and body styling makes a big difference compared to the basic car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2016 BMW X5 eDrive

Verdict: New for 2016, the BMW X5 eDrive plug-in hybrid is a compelling choice for X5 shoppers, but those shoppers ought to drive the X5's competition, too.

Against the competition: The X5 plug-in hybrid boasts good performance and a handsome interior, but it faces strong competition, ranging from the opulent Volvo XC90 to several value-oriented Japanese alternatives.

Officially named the X5 xDrive40e (a mouthful), the plug-in hybrid version of the X5 is BMW's first plug-in SUV. BMW badges it under its eDrive moniker, and I'll refer to it as the X5 eDrive from here out. The five-seat SUV has standard all-wheel drive and slots in price between the six-cylinder xDrive35i and V-8 xDrive50i. (The X5... Read More