Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2015 X6

Consumer Reviews

2015 BMW X6

$33,995 - $50,455  MSRP Range
2015 BMW X6

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 BMW X6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

An Unusual Car Design For Sure

by BMW X6 Fan from on Tue May 30 2017

I've always loved the lines of the X6, a sport coupe with a hatchback that doubles as an SUV. More oriented towards performance than utility, this fits the use of the executive vehicle and not the grocery getter or kid hauler. The X5 is the soccer mom car that fits those needs. One this you might note, you taller people, getting in and out is a bit of a squeeze and it is for me and I'm only 5' 9" where upon entering I have to really bend my neck towards my shoulder to clear my head of the roof. I've tried multiple ways of approach and I still hit my head most of the time. Once inside, there's plenty of head room to the ceiling. From my seated position, yes, those contour optional seats are soooo comfortable, but the power adjustable steering wheel does not go low enough for my optimal relaxed driving position. I like to freeway cruise holding near the bottom of the wheel. Spirited driving the steering wheel feel great in the 10 and 2 position. Visibility is bad out the back, with the long sloping fastback design, there's not much glass to look out of. Otherwise visibility is fine and the side view mirrors are big enough to make lane changed easy, though I don't find the traffic lane warning lights very attention getting to warn you of traffic on the other lanes. The cameras included with the package take some getting used to and the controls are not that great. Rear camera is good, but I'd skip the rest of the options. Getting on to the driving, the ride is very smooth and quiet, even with the low profile 35 and 40 series tires on 20 inch rims. Big complaint on the OEM tires, you only get run flats with the M Sport package. Run Flats ride rougher than regular tires due to the thick sidewalls needed to support the car in case of a flat and the main thing, if you get a flat, you can only drive a very limited distance to a tire shop like max 50 miles. ell, what if you're way out in the middle of no where and you get a flat? I recommend ordering the compact spare tire from your dealer. BMWs with run flats don't come with any spare or jack even! My MPG is better than listed ... I'm getting close to 30 mpg on the freeway keeping a steady 65 mph. City MPG is so variable, I say highway is the best comparison. The navigation system is way harder to use then say a Garmin unit as far as entering and storing locations and recalling them quickly. With BMW Nav system, unlike the Garmin, you have to pay for all map updates. Garmin is free. Just 2 years lag time and I have businesses listed that have gone out of business long ago and new ones I want that are not listed yet. The updates are dealer only for around $100. The sound system is very good with out upgrading to the super expensive option. The BMW iDrive system takes some real lessons to figure out, lucky all BMW dealers have a person called the BMW "Genius" that will walk you through any questions whether you purchased you car at that dealer or not. Over all, I'm happy and see this car as a long distance highway cruiser capable of quick drives on curvy roads. I do feel a little isolated from the road and outside world when inside, but that can be a good thing if you like that. This will never handle curves like a BMW roadster or BMW M3, but it's the quiet mature luxury that the X6 excels at. A fine car to take to fancy dinners or wine tasting with your partner .... and no kids.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

7-series BMW in SUV Package

by Fraz on Wed Jun 13 2018

I have owned 2009 BMW 750Li and wanted an suv that gives you a luxury feeling but in an suv package. This vehicle has strong performance and all the bells and whistles of my previous 7-series. Just a wonderful and fun car to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW X6, an uncommon car that stands out

by BMW owner from Reno, NV on Tue May 09 2017

This styling may not be for everybody, but it is an extroverts car, that's for sure, with it's muscular stance and lines, people ask , "What IS that?" The base inline 6 engine still moves the somewhat heavy SUV quickly, about as fast as a VW GTI, still fast but not super fast. This car is available with a 560 hp V8 if you need to go fast, like 0-60 in 4.3 sec. What I really like is the optional contour seat napp leather option, OMG! It's like a fine leather couch in a living room, soft and supple to the touch. The seats adjust like 20 ways, even the headrest is a power adjustment up and down. The drivers assist package with all the cameras is a blast! Parking is so easy now, it even gives you an aerial view from on top to guide you! The heads up display is so Star Trek, I love it. Now I'll need lessons just to learn how to use all these features and adjustments. Lucky, every BMW dealer has a person "BMW Genius" that will help you figure anything out, even if you didn't but the car at that dealer! The Certified BMW program is a load off my mind, buying a used car. New car coverage extended to 6 years or 100K miles. OK now for the few negatives aspects. This car comes with run-flat tires, so that means no spare tire or jack. You can drive supposedly 50 miles with no air in a tire. Well, what if your travels take you beyond 50mi from the nearest tire shop? That's easy to do in NV! Plus, run-flat tires cost a lot more to replace and last about half as long as regular all season tires. The tires it comes with are summer only tires, so no good for driving below freezing or any sort of snow. Best bet, get the spare tire option as there a place for it under the rear floor, and when you wear out those summer run flat tires, replace with regular all season tires, unless you live in real snow country, then get a second set of tires in snows. One more gripe I have with the BMW inline 6 cylinder engine. There is NO DIP STICK to check the oil! I wanna know how much oil is in there, and not have to depend on some electronic sensor to tell me on the function screen in the car. What if a sensor goes out and you get way low on oil? There's no way to physically check the oil level! OK, a third minor grip, the visibility out the rear or this car is really bad. The window is small and , well, good thing for all the cameras this car has! Overall, I still think this is a great car, despite the short comings. It has an excellent ride, plenty of power, decent cargo space and a street presence like no other SUV. It brings a smile to my face every time I walk up to the car and look at it. It's a car for someone who wants an SUV and not look like a soccer mom! They drive the X5 not the X6!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Vehicle

by Bello from New Jersey on Tue Dec 30 2014

Very smooth drive and great shifters for sport drive with the paddle shifters. Would definitely recommend test driving one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very luxury car

by anyas from salt lake city, ut on Sat Oct 07 2017

i love this vehicle. the best german vehicle. good sunroof, great driving. like everything about it except that it goes down in price very fast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW LOVER

by Panda=X6 from Grand Prairie on Tue Jun 06 2017

I like the sporty body style for the X6 and the performance. I test drove other cars but haven't liked any better than BMW. Quite pricy but still eyeing the X6M for my next car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Technology and Handling

by DM from LAGUNA BEACH on Tue Aug 22 2017

The adaptive cruise control allows me to drive from San Diego to L.A. without touching the gas or brake. The Head's Up Display is fantastic, and the auto-hold feature is surprisingly great and useful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car thx to cars.com I found a winner!

by sophie b from Chagrin Falls on Wed May 03 2017

It is amazing, so comfortable, sporty and exotic. This car makes me so happy when I drive from long days to short days, driving kids to school and back!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best suv

by Val from San Diego on Sat May 27 2017

Comfortable and reliable and fun to drive! Perfect for strollers and big suitcases and road trips! Going this summer across the country-western hope I don't get speeding tickets!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good look sav

by Jl from WA on Tue Feb 06 2018

Very good looking and fun driving. is different between x5. enough space even small than the x5 but still good enough.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2015 BMW X6

The BMW X6 makes absolutely no sense. It has all the performance-sapping mass and heft of an X5 SUV, with none of that car's passenger- or cargo-carrying usefulness.

BMW would like you to believe that this is a coupe. Never mind that it's enormous and rides tall or that it has four full-sized doors and a hatchback. But since the German epidemic of labeling vehicles like this as coupes shows no signs of abating, we'll just nod and smile and quietly roll our eyes at this obvious silliness. What the X6 really is, is a BMW X5 SUV that's had its top chopped, its cargo and headroom slashed, and its body modestly restyled — all for more money than BMW wants for an X5.

There haven't... Read More