1997 Z3

Consumer Reviews

1997 BMW Z3

$1,700 - $13,228  MSRP Range
1997 BMW Z3

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 BMW Z3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive!

by Brian 182 from Virginia Beach, VA on Thu Dec 23 2010

Recently purchased a 1997 BMW Z3 Roadster for pleasure. This car is an absolute joy to drive! Handling is fantastic and acceleration is great! I drove the car from Virginia Beach, VA to Salt Lake City, UT and back again, without any hiccups. I highly recommend this vehicle as a pleasure car, but not as a primary vehicle.. Pros - Acceleration, handling, HWY fuel economy, comfortable Cons - Virtually no trunk space, very small cup holders, sun visors do not rotate to side windows.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WHAT A DRIVING PLEASURE !!

by jerry from OHIO on Tue Mar 12 2013

I HAVE PREVIOUSLY OWNED 2 CORVETTES IN MY YOUNGER DAYS. I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 1998 Z3 W/ 43,000 ORIGINAL MILES FOR UNDER $10,500. I AM THE SECOND OWNER. WOW WHAT A DRIVING MACHINE. IT HAS BROUGHT ME TONS OF COMPLIMENTS THAT REALLY MAKES ME KNOW THAT I MADE A WISE CHOICE ! NO I AM NOT SUFFERING A MID-LIFE CRISIS,AT THE AGE OF 66 I AM ENJOYING MY LIFE. WE ALL DESERVE THAT FEELING !!! IF YOU EVER HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY 2 BUY ONE DO IT. YOU OWE YOURSELF THAT MUCH... DO IT!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I ever owned

by BMW newbie from PA on Sun Nov 17 2013

After years of trying to convince my wife that we should get a sports car to drive on nice weekends, it finally happened. My BMW Z3 looked great in the add photos, but to my surprise was just as good in person. And driving fun is a 10 out of 10. Wish I would have done this sooner. I am well past my mid life crisis. Now I see what BMW owners see in their cars. This car is a 1997 and standing 3 feet away, it looks like new. Runs like new and outstanding performance. Mine only has 86k miles on it and the engine compartment looks like the day it was manufactured. I hope to have many years of fun with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car

by Don Z from New Market, MD on Tue Dec 28 2010

Overall great. So was the seller. Fun car to drive. Really great styling. The price was very reasonable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car

by Smurf Car Driver from Mississippi Delta on Thu Oct 20 2011

I have owned four "sports cars" in my life, and this one is the best and most fun to drive. Handling is superb, the 2.8 engine has plenty of punch for the size of the car. The 5 speed standard transmission is tight and precise. I could not be more pleased.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun In The Sun

by Z from Weare, NH on Mon Aug 08 2016

This car was a good find for the money. It handles the road like nothing I've driven before. It holds the road, corners on a dime and gives you 9 cents change. This is the 3rd vehicle that I've found on cars.com in the last 2 years.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Find!

by Fortunado from McLean, VA on Mon Dec 02 2013

I've been searching for a clean, well-kept vintage BMW Z3 for years. Finally found one. Just 100K miles - well broken in. Love the looks, feel, safety and performance!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR!

by JJHIPPNER99 from Ferndale, WA on Sat Sep 02 2017

This is the funnest car I have owned. Cruising around with the top down, music blasting, there is no feeling in the world like it. Total freedom, wind in your hair. This car gets TONS of looks and comments. You just want to drive it, all the time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute and fun to drive!

by soooz from Tucson,AZ on Sun Oct 22 2017

I wanted a convertible when I found this one I loved it. A fun to drive car. Comfortable very sporty gets Lots of looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I've owned

by psy from MA on Mon Jun 12 2017

This is a second vehilce for me. Not that practical but a blast to drive. Handles like its on rails and very quick with a 2.8L 6 cyl. engine

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1997 BMW Z3

Just like you, I've wanted to drive this sexy Bavarian treat for a long time. But four cylinders? Hardly seemed worth it.

Now there are six.

Trust me, it's worth it.

This car is simply a sexy, shapely pile of sheet metal motivated by a hellishly fun engine. No wonder James Bond gave up his Aston. (OK, maybe it's not that good, but it is enjoyable.)

So what else do you get? Ok, here's the scoop:

When you ask for your Z3 with BMW's juicy 2.8-liter aluminum block in-line six-cylinder, you also get a car with a 2.6-inch wider rear track. You also get a car with a base price of $35,900, about $6,000 more than the four-cylinder.

But the extra width gives this car a more muscular rear stance, and... Read More