1997 Z3

Consumer Reviews
1997 BMW Z3

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

22 Reviews
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive!

by Brian 182 from Virginia Beach, VA on December 23, 2010

Recently purchased a 1997 BMW Z3 Roadster for pleasure. This car is an absolute joy to drive! Handling is fantastic and acceleration is great! I drove the car from Virginia Beach, VA to Salt Lake City, UT and back again, without any hiccups. I highly recommend this vehicle as a pleasure car, but not as a primary vehicle.. Pros - Acceleration, handling, HWY fuel economy, comfortable Cons - Virtually no trunk space, very small cup holders, sun visors do not rotate to side windows.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WHAT A DRIVING PLEASURE !!

by jerry from OHIO on March 12, 2013

I HAVE PREVIOUSLY OWNED 2 CORVETTES IN MY YOUNGER DAYS. I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 1998 Z3 W/ 43,000 ORIGINAL MILES FOR UNDER $10,500. I AM THE SECOND OWNER. WOW WHAT A DRIVING MACHINE. IT HAS BROUGHT ME TONS OF COMPLIMENTS THAT REALLY MAKES ME KNOW THAT I MADE A WISE CHOICE ! NO I AM NOT SUFFERING A MID-LIFE CRISIS,AT THE AGE OF 66 I AM ENJOYING MY LIFE. WE ALL DESERVE THAT FEELING !!! IF YOU EVER HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY 2 BUY ONE DO IT. YOU OWE YOURSELF THAT MUCH... DO IT!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I ever owned

by BMW newbie from PA on November 17, 2013

After years of trying to convince my wife that we should get a sports car to drive on nice weekends, it finally happened. My BMW Z3 looked great in the add photos, but to my surprise was just as good in person. And driving fun is a 10 out of 10. Wish I would have done this sooner. I am well past my mid life crisis. Now I see what BMW owners see in their cars. This car is a 1997 and standing 3 feet away, it looks like new. Runs like new and outstanding performance. Mine only has 86k miles on it and the engine compartment looks like the day it was manufactured. I hope to have many years of fun with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car

by Don Z from New Market, MD on December 28, 2010

Overall great. So was the seller. Fun car to drive. Really great styling. The price was very reasonable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun car

by Smurf Car Driver from Mississippi Delta on October 20, 2011

I have owned four "sports cars" in my life, and this one is the best and most fun to drive. Handling is superb, the 2.8 engine has plenty of punch for the size of the car. The 5 speed standard transmission is tight and precise. I could not be more pleased.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun In The Sun

by Z from Weare, NH on August 8, 2016

This car was a good find for the money. It handles the road like nothing I've driven before. It holds the road, corners on a dime and gives you 9 cents change. This is the 3rd vehicle that I've found on cars.com in the last 2 years.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Find!

by Fortunado from McLean, VA on December 2, 2013

I've been searching for a clean, well-kept vintage BMW Z3 for years. Finally found one. Just 100K miles - well broken in. Love the looks, feel, safety and performance!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun to drive and great gas milage too.

by ChestertheK from Tucson on August 4, 2017

I am over 6'2' and this car fits me well. I love driving in the mountains with the top down. Easy to maintain and MPG 22 city and 32 open road. This cars handles well right out of the box.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Unsung Hero

by Dnoveau from Rockville, MD on November 26, 2017

My Z is 20 years old. It has 94000 miles, so it’s been used lightly. It has none of the typical problems with the cooling system or differential mounts. It’s built like a tank, but it gets 25 mpg (2.8L 6) and it’s pretty fast for a ‘97. It’s sports car with super cold AC, power windows, seats and locks. (I wish it had a power top though.) Four years ago, I paid $8500 for it and put $4000 into it for “renovations”. Now it looks like new, drives like new, and is more comfortable that a brand new Miata. Parts and labor are no more expensive for this car than any other. But, it’s for sale because I can’t think of anything more to do to it. I need a new project.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive

by JCRonline from Waynesville, NC on November 22, 2017

Fun to drive, good performance, a little hard on gas, excellent handling, turns heads, my dog LOVES it !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1997 BMW Z3