1998 Z3

Consumer Reviews

1998 BMW Z3

$228 - $17,364  MSRP Range
1998 BMW Z3

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

31 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1998 BMW Z3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1998 z3 1.9 is THE car for me!

by Ratsnout from St. Louis, MO on Sat Aug 27 2011

My 1998 Z3 1.9 manual transmission BMW has all the power I need, terrific handling and I can justify this toy by the fact that I truly get over 30 mpg on midgrade gas. The styling is perfect from any angle. I feel like I have an exotic without the high cost or lack of reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very good handling vehicle.

by SkiBop from Augusta, GA on Wed Jul 29 2009

I have never owned a BMW and never entertained the idea. But my boss had a 2000 when I first met him (7 years ago). I just recently purchased my first Z3. I love it and enjoy driving it. Mostly on the weekends and some times to work. It does draw attention!! But than again it's a BMW!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most beautiful car I have owned

by Tjoy73 from Leavenworth,WA on Mon Sep 11 2017

This car is always turning heads with its classic style..I always have people stop me and let me know what an amazing car I have..I love telling them that it is almost 20 years old and watch the look on their faces..they always say, WOW! It looks brand new!! BMW creates classic styling..and you would never know by looking at it, that my car is almost 20.. :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Willie from Howard City Mi. on Mon Apr 12 2010

Great car for handling runs strong comfortable on long trip plenty of power like the 5 speed.like the power top.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable automobile I have ever owned !

by Z-Bobby from Simsbury CT on Tue May 09 2017

I have owned "countless" types of vehicles over the past 55 years but this is the most pleasing and enjoyable experience of them !!! I absolutely Love this Car !!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car I've ever owned

by MaPa from Tampa, FL on Thu Apr 27 2017

Love this car. Such a beautiful design, and a great engine. Lots of fun having the convertible top. Fairly easy on gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE AT 1ST DRIVE

by CatMagyk from Raleigh, NC on Sat Nov 04 2017

Totally love my Z3 (Blu' Gryl). She still receives lots of compliments and best car I have ever owned!!!! Fun to drive, user friendly, no major issues except a new top. People are so surprised when I tell them her age (shh she doesn't know how old she is). I truly hope she lasts another 20 yrs. She is my only car, so for serious shopping I buddy up to the neighbor, but Blu' Gryl is the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE AT 1ST DRIVE

by CatMagyk from Raleigh, NC on Sat Nov 04 2017

I totally love my 1998 Z3 (Blu Gyrl). She is ever so user friendly and fun to drive. Very little issues besides having to replace the top. I hope she runs forever, I would hate to part with her.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable Car I have owned

by dawnfigher from atlanta, ga on Mon Jan 01 2018

This car just keeps on going. It literary stills drives like it's brand new. I love this car. This little car will be a jewel forever. It turns on a dime and so great on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 1st roadster

by Gilbert Grape from Tucson, AZ on Sun Apr 22 2018

I recently purchased this car from the previous owner and it rocks my world. The only sticky point is that it sits so low you literally have to crawl over speed bumps. It's a blast to drive, gets great mileage, and turns heads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4