Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2006 Z4

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW Z4

2006 BMW Z4

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

21 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 BMW Z4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A Driving Machine

by Rocket Man from Lake Geneva, WI on Sat Apr 30 2011

If you go back to 2006 reviews by Motor Trend or Car and Driver, they were right on. This car pound for car and HP for HP is faster than a Camaro or Mustang. The 330 HP engine is quicker than larger HP cars. It is pure driving. Noisy and a hard ride with tight and awesome steering. It's a race car not a Cadillac. You will feel the road, but if it is a bumpy WI highway, you will feel that too. German, yes, but made in Spartanburg (Greer) USA. All new Z's are made in Germany. I love the car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

the E85 BMW Z4 3.0si... One Ultimate Convertible

by BMW fanatic from Irvine, CA on Mon Jan 23 2012

As a successor to the previous generation E36/7 (roadster) Z3, BMW adds a tastes of Bangle-styling to the new E85 Z4. It is indeed a love-it-or-hate-it styling; but after looking at it for a while you kind of get used to it... it does look more proportional, more appealing, and more sexy than the Z3. Step into the car you will find the bucket seats hugs you comfortably while it takes you onto the fwy and windy mountain roads with easy. It is great fun driving this little convertible. You can fit 2 golf bags in the trunk but you do have to squeeze. Overall, this is a great weekend car for a trip to the resort or just for some driving fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

z4 3.0si CPO

by z4 3.0si CPO owner from on Wed May 13 2009

I bought a 2006 CPO z4 3.0si and have had it about a year. It is a blast to drive and I have not had any mechanical issues. Highlights: +The vehicle came with the optional hard top which I used during the winter and kept the car very warm and was easy to install/remove. +It gets just around 30mpg on the highway even at high speeds. +The sport mode really changes the dynamics of the car. Off, the cars is powerful but easy to drive in traffic. On, the car is aggressive and quick. I highly recommend the z4 for those looking for a balance of luxury and performance. My gripes with the car are few: -Cup holders are ridiculously awful. It holds cup at an angle and you're almost guaranteed to spill from anything less than a closed top container directly on your legs. -The ride on the 18" wheels is harsh and the car tracks with lines or unevenness on the pavement which can be uneasy. You need to actively control the wheel. I changed to non run flat snow tires in the winter and the ride improved vastly. My next set of summer tires will not be run flats for this car. Also the car did great in Chicago winter with the snow tires and traction control. -I knew there was not much storage space in the cabin when I bought the car. But the main storage compartment between the seats is surprisingly difficult to reach when seated and has sharp plastic edges. Lack of a ledge or other space behind the seats really makes you think twice about what you will tolerate in the cabin with you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have ever owned.

by College Prof from Auburn on Tue May 30 2017

The Z4 is not for everyone but if you like the wind in your hair and an exciting ride this a great sports car. You can't bet the performance for the money. It is in pristine condition with only 53,000 miles, no dings, no accidents, immaculate interior and no mechanical issues. The car just went through its 50,000 physical and was proclaimed to be fit as a fiddle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW Z4

by Z4Jeff from Miami, FL on Mon Feb 19 2007

Except for a few noises inside and a "boing" noise when changing gears it is a wonderful car to have. The Z4 is a completely different car when the top is down, and not many sport cars can come close to it's wonderful handling, especially any american one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car you can get for the money you pay

by Fotis from Greece,sarti on Thu Sep 07 2017

This car is the most comfortable car I've ever driven plenty of room inside as well as the aesthetically pleasing too the eye from outside. This two door roadster is the best car you can buy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the easiest way to sell or buy cars

by Z4ForEver on Tue Sep 19 2017

We had this Z4 Si convertible for close to 9 years. Great and FUN little car with a lots of power to own the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Creamy engine + a stout chassis

by SS on Wed Jul 05 2017

Owned and cherished driving one for 10,000 miles and loved every mile of it. Timeless exterior design with a potent engine makes the 3.0si a worthy and affordable option to its compatriot, the Boxster.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest looking car I owned

by BMW head from Vallejo, ca on Sun Oct 08 2017

This car met all my needs, great looking car love the styling and design from BMW on this model and 2006-2008 coupe z4, hope to find another to buy soon

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car that I would keep if I could.

by rockstarparade from Bellevue, WA on Wed Nov 01 2017

It's sleek and stylish, in great condition, has low mileage, and I've never had any issues with it at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2006 BMW Z4

BMW's Z4 has not created much of a stir since its arrival two years ago. Built in South Carolina, the two-seat roadster has polarized prospective buyers with a much more radical exterior design than its predecessor, the Z3, and sales have suffered.

With a mid-cycle makeover and a hardtop companion on the horizon, we thought the car merited a second look while there was still enough mild weather to take the top down.

We tested a lavishly equipped 2005 Z4 3.0i, with more than $5,000 worth of options. The bottom line: $47,245.

HE: I don't know how much more fun I can take -- a Pontiac Solstice one week, a BMW Z4 the next. Automotive fantasies don't get much better than this.

SHE: I don't think it's a... Read More