Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Z4

Consumer Reviews

2008 BMW Z4

$8,775 - $18,787  MSRP Range
2008 BMW Z4

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 BMW Z4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

An eye catcher'''

by Smooth Operator from Connecticut on Thu May 08 2008

The Z4 I drove was a nice experience.They handle so nice you would think you were in Nascar''The 2.5 has a big difference in power loss compared to the 3.0.The highway ride is so smooth and this car has power to spare.City driving on roads with pot holes is another story.You do feel every bump in the road. I would tell all my friends to buy one if they could afford it. Donny.y

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

z4 3.0si

by GP from Chicago on Tue Sep 23 2008

I have a 3.0si version and love it. The ride is a little harsh with the run flats, but the acceleration and the dynamics of the car are superb.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive, draws attention, SEXY!

by Jack from Carolina Preserve on Mon Jan 16 2012

Just turning 68 I needed some spark in my life and this was it! Fun car to drive, really feels like a true sports car. The 6 speed is fun to shift and what an awesome sound system!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performance vehicle

by CGambforZ4 from Connecticut on Fri Jul 08 2011

Love this car! Great acceleration.Takes turns well even at high speeds. Find it to be roomy enough inside as well as having ample trunk space. Have looked at Cayman and Z4 Roadster but Z4 coupe the best. Performs like a true sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great performer and hot attention getter!

by greenspire from Rochester, NY on Mon Jan 09 2012

I chose a Z4si Coupe after researching Cayman's and discovering lots of facts and rumors of major engine reliability issues there. I have never looked back! The Z4 is amazing with lots of power, great handling and amazing grip on the road. I have had more people compliment me on its looks than I can count. It is currently stored for the Winter and I have to be happy with photos of it but I am anxiously awaiting Spring! Find one, you won't be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by clearwaterpalms from Port Richey Fl on Mon May 12 2014

Great car for the money. Very well built car if the car has been taken care of. I saw some that were and some that were not. I lucked out and got one that wasnt smoked in and was garage kept.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling car I have ever owned.

by Ronsz4 from Fargo, ND on Mon Apr 16 2018

The performance of the z4 is great even with the 3.0i. The interior is a little small for a big person but for a average size person it is great. Very nice interior design. Love how the automatic top works. It is a great all around Roadster.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Own the dream

by Slide79 from Brookfield, WI on Thu Aug 03 2017

Love this car! Very smooth and responsive. Always attracts lots of attention. Takes curves at high speeds without drifting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Timmy256 from Marion ar on Sat Mar 24 2018

I love this car. It’s fun to drive lots out pickup. Great for summer with the top down. Sporty car great look fast and fun

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OWN THE DREAM

by SLide from Milwaukee,wi on Fri Aug 18 2017

This car is so smooth. Love the speed! Handles corners. excellent acceleration. Heating system is super hot!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 BMW Z4

Like Stacy's mom, BMW's Z4 has still got it going on. Munich's two-seat runabout hard-top or soft-top convertible remains a compelling choice for driving enthusiasts in a way some of its quicker, fresher competitors do not. Throw in decent reliability and gas mileage, and it's easy to see why it's been a Cars.com Best Bet for two years running. A replacement is on its way soon, but if you can tolerate the current generation's styling — sorry, I really can't — it's worth a look.

My review focuses on the two-seater Z4 coupe. Little has changed for 2008, so it still comes in one trim, the 255-horsepower 3.0si. The roadster comes as an entry-level 215-hp 3.0i or a beefier 3.0si, and both... Read More