2006 Z4 M

Consumer Reviews

2006 BMW Z4 M

$6,423 - $29,951  MSRP Range
2006 BMW Z4 M

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 BMW Z4 M?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The last true M car

by M driver from on Mon May 03 2010

With the high-revving naturally aspirated S54 inline-6 motor, this is the last BMW M car that hasn't gone to a V8/V10 or forced-induction. The S54 is a true piece of engineering art and was rightfully awarded the "Best 3-4L Engine" title from 2001-2006. By the time the Z4M was introduced (2006) the teething issues from the S54 had all been worked out, so reliability has been much better then what you'd expect. Keep in mind, it is still a high-strung performance motor and maintenance is crucial. M cars are not cheap. The car can be civil when driven around town, but hints at it's true nature. You can't help but blip the throttle while sitting at a light. It's raw, twitchy, rough, unapologetic, and wants to be driven at 12 out of 10. The harder you drive it, the more rewarding it is. Best suited for the track of twisty mountain roads vs the rush-hour grind. BMW built a true sports car here. Definitely a collector car in the making!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Z4M: Performance benchmark

by 330indy from Indianapolis on Fri Apr 30 2010

This car was the deal of the decade for me, as I found the untitled 2006 car at a dealer in Feb. 2008 with full warranty for 15k off the 57k sticker price, with only 100 miles on it. I told my wife: "I will regret this for a long time if I don't jump on this deal!" She made me promise not to ask for a Porsche in another five years or so.... deal! And, as a bonus I found the exact color combo I always wanted, silver gray, black leather, aluminum trim, no navigation! I mainly bought the car as it's the last production model BMW containing the incredible S54B32 naturally aspirated M motor with a 6 speed manual gearbox. Now most BMWs use turbos; been there, and don't want the high complexity and maintenance that goes with a turbo engine. The M also has a limited slip diff, as all M's come equipped, to put the 330 horses to the ground. The M is big fun to drive, makes you want to do bad stuff, handles like it's on rails, is also quite comfortable and makes you feel like you're in a race car especially when the top is down and you can hear and feel the engine. I could not otherwise afford it, and will never drop 50k+ / full retail price for a two seater. But ... I bought this M Roadster for the price of a standard Z4! This one is a keeper, and I highly recommend it if you can find a well-cared-for pre-owned car. I think it will become a classic. Oh yes, it also has a dipstick! cool :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Little rocket

by MorpheusRS from North Jersey on Wed Oct 05 2011

I have to take my hat off to BMW, the car, despite being small, very roughly sprung and not too powerful in the low rpm range, is a true racer at heart. It handles like I never imagined a car could, it gets good gas mileage for the power it puts down, and it is very fast once you pass the 4K rpm mark. The interior is very minimalistic, yet luxurious at the same time. the exterior styling is aggressive and the lines flow very well. The engine is a gem and the brakes are truly supreme. My only gripe is the roughness over bumps, but that is a price we have to pay for telepathic handling. It has been very reliable over 5 years of ownership, and NOTHING needed to be changed besides the usual: oil and filters, air filter, tires, brake and coolant fluid, and brake pads. The clutch is an original unit and performs flawlessly after 45K miles! Overall I am very very satisfied with the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything the regular Z4 should be but isn't.

by Max Yavinsky from Atlanta, GA on Mon Jan 15 2018

I have owned regular Z4s and loved them. Very reliable, but the electronic steering is vague and made them twitchy when changing lanes. The M has hydraulic rack and pinion steering like you would expect in a real sports car. Tons of power from one of the truly great engines, precise handling, (once you learn to handle the over-steer),comfortable sport seats with proper side bolsters, and a level of fit and finish that you expect from the M Division. The last analog BMW, and last real M car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Affordable sleeper

by doug06896 from redding, ct on Thu Jun 29 2017

The Z M, as this site calls it, is actually the M Roadster. It's skin id a Z; it's guts are pure M3. Fast as heck. Stops on a dime. Turns without a bit of lean at crazy speeds. Huge (for a roadster) trunk. And you can have it for (well) under $20k. Cons: it's a BMW, so parts and service are astronomical. Ride is stiff (flat turns, remember). So, so mileage -- I get 21mpg no matter highway or local. In-cabin storage is limited (owner's manual lives in the trunk) Not to everyone's cup of tea, but if you want a truly breath taking driving experience and can stand driving a car that turns heads, the M Roadster is worth a look.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Slightly modified now....but still a Z4M

by Supercharged Z4M from San Jose, CA on Tue May 04 2010

I too bought mine from a dealer new but a year old and saved about $10k off sticker. This car introduced me to tracking and now have made many changes enhancing the overall original M configuration. Starting with bigger brakes, wheels, tires, coilovers, strut supports, exhaust and finally supercharger now to 480+ horspower. I sometimes really question if I had left it all alone I would have had just as much fun, I think the answer is YES. The car is very capable right out of the box and performs admirably with other comparable cars with much more preparation for track. I never had one hick-up with stock configuration, but I was looking for something to compete with 911 turbos...I got there. The shifter could be a bit better, but trans has not been a problem even with a 50% increase in HP. The S54 engine is very robust and can be driven like it was meant to. The car just tends to be fun. If you want to go to anything but Autocross events with BMW clubs, better opt for the coup. Also it is better for track as well, little safer, but I still track my Rdster a lot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 BMW Z4 M Roadster

by DonCold from Huntington Beach, cA on Mon Apr 03 2017

Great value for the money. Car is extremely reliable. It is a great driver's car. The level of driver engagement is bar none especially compared to modern cars that are mostly all turbo charged and automatic. 6 speed manual combined with a high revving naturally aspirated with a short wheel base provides lots of driving pleasure.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A really exciting ride

by DBH Driver from Central NJ on Sat Sep 16 2017

This car is pure fun. Put the top down, tour the countryside or head out on the open highway. Feel the sun on your face, the breeze in your hair.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extreme summer fun

by DutchdolphinD from Olympia on Mon Jun 04 2018

Let's pretend were coming down a hill made skipping rocks, smoother than diamonds. No control yet smooth like sliding on ice. Silence falls in the final stretch of the hill and all of a sudden, blam! Back into reality and your smoothly ripping through the beautiful landscape of the high Alps. Clash of lightning, your vision readjusted and you are a king/queen of all the lands... light fades again- you just bought a z4m.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1