1997 LeSabre

Consumer Reviews

1997 Buick LeSabre

$353 - $5,033  MSRP Range
1997 Buick LeSabre

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Buick LeSabre?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Underapprieciated car is one of the best.

by Not your typical Buick driver from Holt, MI on Mon Mar 12 2007

I have heard that this is one of the best selling cars GM has made. And it is definitely proving that value today. While it has had some annoying difficulties, such as a failing fuel sender (which turned out to be a weakening of the quick-connect seal), the car has never stopped running or not been able to get you where you need to go. Just now a 10 year - 100,000 mile car, it is going strong and powerful. New struts on the front and a new tie rod (this might be one of the few errors on the car, as it could have been a real hazard) have given the car a fresh, responsive feel again. The paint is glossy and very resistant to penetrations and rust. My main complaint would have to be how annoying it is to replace the lightbulbs on the tail. Again, no matter what anyone says about this car, the thing everyone one will agree with is that it always goes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

150K and still going strong

by buick guy from houston on Tue Dec 09 2008

Need i say more then the title. Ever reliable. starts in one go even after weeks of rest. very smooth and comfortable ride. No major repairs just regular servicing and other regular changes like timing belt, spark plugs etc as all those are 11 year and 150K old. However the engine and transmission is as powerful and smooth as new and has never been touched. it feels smoother then my 2002 accord. I will probably buy another newer buick with the same engine. This coming from a Japanese car fan speaks in itself about the value for money and reliability of the lesabre.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my LeSabre

by Lin from Vermont on Fri Jul 18 2008

The only "new" car I ever bought & I have NO regrets. It has 186,000 plus miles on it & have done no major repair other than the fuel pump & a new gas tank because the original rusted out. Now the body is too rusted to pass inspection(lots of salt on our winter roads). It is with great sadness that I'll be permanently parking the LeSabre!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car you can buy

by Lesabre lover 2011 from bushnell,il on Sun Dec 23 2012

i have had my 1997 Buick Lesabre Custom for going on 3 years now. i got it with 114,000 miles an its at 169,000 miles and i must say its still drives like a dream. mostly just drive to work in it. i have also taken it on a couple trips and have averaged 35-37 mpg on the interstate. i get about 24-27 in town. makes me laugh at some of these newer cars. besides normal maintenance and a couple minor parts here and there this has been a wonderful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most comfortable and relatively quiet car

by mickey from knoxvilkle tn on Wed Nov 10 2010

at 3400 pounds, the car rides like a 4500 pound car and the 3800 v6 is very adequate . is 13 yrs old but is built to last at least 20. if you can find a southern buick, buy it . you wont be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

With maintenance, great cars

by Rick from Indy on Sat May 17 2014

Mine's a '96 LeSabre. Bought it w/ 86k on it, now has 327k and still going. I drive a lot, am a little larger than most people, but always enjoy driving it. Very comfortable. Things to look for: lower intake manifold gasket, water pump, a/c compressor, radiator. I also rplc'd struts & shocks, a fuel pump, sub-frame parts, a wheel kit, some suspension parts here and there, brakes, tires, etc. Keep in mind, I have a LOT of miles with this car, and with that many miles you will have maintenance. They are machines after all. Too bad GM stopped making these. For the money, fantastic cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for teen

by mom from richmond, va on Sat Mar 15 2008

This is the best handling car we have ever driven. My husband drives rental cars most of the time, and he has never had a rental that drove as well as this car. We gave the car to our daughter when she started driving. It was not really the type car she wanted (to big) but she and her friends quickly came to love it. She is in college now and can put five of her friends in it comfortably. It is the chosen car when they are going somewhere. I got a 2004 crown vic when we gave her this car. HA I much prefer to drive the buick. It has 127,000 miles on it and we have replaced the transmission twice (a problem with the overdrive we have been told) and other than that, just normal repairs. A great, safe car for anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Give me another

by Cleatus from on Wed Sep 04 2013

Had a 1997 all the way through college. Wasn't the greatest vehicle for finding girls, but was an excellent car for me. I am 6'9" and about 265 pounds. This car not only has enough leg and headroom, but you can put a smaller adult behind me. Not to mention, I put 6 adults in this vehicle for weekend trips often. Mechanically you can beat GM's 3.8. Has a gasket leak that is relatively common, but a good mechanic will tell you when to replace. I averaged about 27 MPG combined. Hoping I can find another, but it is highly doubtful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned!

by ThatDoods from OAKLAND CA on Tue Feb 13 2018

I Bought This, Buick Lesabre Custom 1997, Back In 2015! Had An Engine Swapped, Placed New Tired & Brakes. It Drives So SMOOTHLY! Reliable , I keep Up W/ Maintenance. Which Hasn't Been Much. I Do A Lot Of Driving In This Comfty Car , Lots Of Leg Room, Head Room For Those Nearing 6Ft. I Wish The Side Mirrors Were Bigger, Rather Small. I've Driving Up & Down California(Boarders). I've Gone To Reno, Lake Tahoe &A Bit Further Out. No Complaints ! I Just Love It! Great On Gas! It's A Hit When Drive-Ins Are A Go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like this car

by vikingfan from Faribault, MN on Thu Apr 06 2017

Has the bullet proof 3.8. Luxury and mileage. Proven reliability. Very good in snow. Room for taller drivers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Buick LeSabre

The 1997 Buick LeSabre Limited is an old folks' car. It's big and roomy. When it moves, it galumphs -- bounding along highways in a self-satisfied, triumphant manner.

It's filled with old stuff, like the awkward, chrome-plated, power-seat controls mounted on the left interior front-door panel.

The controls include little linear buttons and a small disc, which are used to operate the lateral and vertical motion of the driver's seat. As presented, they make absolutely no sense. But they're pretty.

The LeSabre Limited's seats are wide, with a 55/45 split bench up front and a long bench in the rear. That means you can carry six people, instead of the usual five able to fit in the passenger... Read More