Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 LeSabre

Consumer Reviews

2001 Buick LeSabre

$37 - $7,005  MSRP Range
2001 Buick LeSabre

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Buick LeSabre?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

How to enjoy a 10 year old treasure.

by Practical mom, walker, bicyclist, quilter & sailor from Boston, MA on Mon Jan 09 2012

Well, it's ten years old with miles less than 3/4 of a century! But...there has been care, the first important thing to check on. Though the gas gauge bounced, a window wiper needed replacement, and there is a spot needing paint on the bumper...this car is fabulous! When everyone else is paying high dollar to get into the 30's we get a very respectable 27 mpg on city highway travel. The engine hums, car turns on a dime, inside is plush with bells and whistles that work, and the dealership fixed everything and put on a new pair of tires. She'd been sitting on the back of the lot for three months. The dime on the dollar is wonderful and promises to last us through many future adventures. Don't overlook those previously loved oldies!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BUICKS ARE THE " YOU CAN'T LOOSE " WAY OF TRAVEL

by long time owner of GM vehicles from AKRON, OHIO on Tue Apr 16 2013

I OWN 2 LA SABRES. A 1993 LIMITED WITH 167,000 MILES AND STILL RUNNING. ALL OPTIONS ARE WORKING AND HAS NO SIGN OF GIVING UP. I RECENTLY BOUGHT A 2001 CUSTOM THAT TURNS HEADS AND ENJOY 21 MILES IN THE CITY AND TOOK A TRIP TO UPPER MICHIGAN (600 MILES ONE WAY ) AND WAS HAPPY TO GET 31 MILES ON THE FAST- WAY UP. IF YOU DON'T OWN ONE, THEN YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT THEIR RELIABILITY.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by H from Canada on Sat Sep 13 2014

Great car. Very comfortable & extremely reliable. I have owned more than 10 cars in 25 years & this is by far the best.The only problem is the power windows that need to get looked at. My car is 2001 Custom with 160 000 miles & never had a major problem. The fuel range is excellent for the size of the car. I have no regrets that I bought this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned

by Donnag from MLPS minnesota on Sun Aug 13 2017

Great in every way. You get you money's worth and more. Got it 3 years ago and luv it. Small repairs. Great mileage and drives like a brand new car. Has a great kick to it when you push on gas pedal. Have to take a second to make sure car is turned on. You can't hear it...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The repairs have been cheaper than a new car.

by Middle aged mom from Michigan on Mon Oct 26 2015

My 2001 limited had lots of nice features, many of which no longer work like driver's side AC, heated driver's seat, gas gauge, several lights in touch controls. BUT the ride is smooth and I will hit 300,000 miles next week! I feel the loss of amenities and cost of repairs over the lifetime of the car have been a better deal than buying a new car once or twice since.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Ever OWNED

by LeSabre owner from Washington, NC on Wed Jan 19 2011

I own 2 LeSabres. They are the best vehicles I have ever owned. I have a limited that gets 34 MPG highway and a custom that gets 36 MPG highway. Yes, the 3800 engine is great on gas. My brother made some minor modifications which gives me this mileage. On an average al of my friends that own the LeSabre get 30 to 32 on the highway and 26 to 28 in town. Maintenance is minimal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car i have ever owned

by Buick from TX on Wed Apr 06 2011

This car has room ,class and is very very dependable .Which should not be surprising since it is a Buick. We bought this car used and now have owned it for 7 years .The car is still DEPENDABLE.. I do not plan on getting rid of it anytime soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not great, but not bad either

by bolo from Las Vegas, NV on Mon Apr 20 2015

Excellent vehicle, but it does have some issues. Window regulators almost always need replacing. (2 rear ones on mine) Upper and lower manifold gaskets will need replacing too. Coolent elbows are made of plastic, they will break, and leak. Gas gage may stop working....mine did. Some other things will need replacing too, but not too expensive to take care of them. Most problems will happen after 60,000 miles. If all the maintenance is taken care of this vehicle and engine should last well over 200,000 miles, maybe even to 300,000.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great full sized car

by Brad from Glendale, AZ on Sun May 25 2008

Best road gas milage ever. across desert 85 mph, 110 degrees, 25 mph crosswind and still get 28 mpg in comfort. Many small cars won't.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 LeSabre Limited

by First Buick from NW Florida on Wed Jan 21 2015

Bought the car from my father in law with 177,000 miles due to needing second car after our van was totalled just before Christmas. My wife always commented on how much she liked it, and now I know why. We use it as a family car, and I commute 30 miles a day to work and back. The ride is smooth, interior still looks good for its age, the paint is smooth and shiny (garage kept since new) and the fuel mileage is amazing; I average close to 30 mixed, can hit over 40 instant on the interstate. Rear air level works like new. Not all is rosy. i know, going in, that there were issues; with this many miles, I test drove it for a night. So far, it's needed 4 motor mounts, both sets of control arms and links, sway bar bushings, intake and valve cover gaskets and tie rods. Another common issue is water intrusion, and mine has had it for a while; passenger carpet was soaking wet when I pulled it. Underneath, the floorpans front and back are starting to rust, so this was caught in time to be repairable in the driveway. The battery is under the passenger seat; spilling acid over the years ate a 6" seam in the metal that must be repaired. One final gripe concerns rear suspension thump; either my control link or upper shock mounts (or both) are bad and cause a nasty thump over bad pavement. More minor gripes concern burned out HVAC button lights (can't tell what's what in the dark), non-working driver's seat heat, so-so audio quality and non-leather wrapped steering wheel that is peeling paint off the grip and a couple of control buttons missing labels due to wear and tear. Overall, I expected more issues than what I found, and the car has been a boon to my commute. All the importaant stuff still works, and I can count on it to start. As a bonus, parts are realitvely easy and cheap to source, the 3800/4T60 combo is nearly bulletproof, and it's as reliable as the sunset.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Buick LeSabre

Ahh, youth.

No worries, no cares.

Trading baseball cards with friends until the new model year Chevrolet or Ford zipped by, starting an argument about which looked better and moved faster and which each of us would tool around in when the time came.

If memory serves, no one in the group stood up to defend the Buick LeSabre. And no one, even the guy who eagerly collected Washington Senators cards, admitted to aspiring to own a LeSabre.

Though that was then and this is now, we still don't hear anyone say that they can't wait for the mortgage to be paid off and the kids to be out of school so they can sit back, relax and purchase a Buick LeSabre.

Not that it isn't a fine car--it's one... Read More