2008 Lucerne

Consumer Reviews

2008 Buick Lucerne

$3,765 - $11,105  MSRP Range
2008 Buick Lucerne

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

45 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 Buick Lucerne?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Better interior design than Cadillac

by jfneon from Kansas City on Sat Nov 15 2008

I have look at about all of the 2008 large size american sedans. The feel of this car is great. The main thing that made me buy this car was I could get it in a 6 seating 40/20/40. Lots and lots of room. This car is so quit I have had to roll down the window a bit when trying to detect a police siren. I like the interior design and exterior styling much better than the Cabillac model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice CAR

by Fertile from South Carolina on Fri Mar 28 2008

Just got the car and at this point of time I think its great. Good looks and comfort.I have the CXL with the diamond tri coat white. It cost more but to me it is worth it. The ride is awesome and plenty of power from the 3800 engine.lots of features come with the car.It was a deal for me ,employee discount and 0 PERCENT INTEREST.GREAT BUY FOR THE MONEY.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Compares to the Cadillac, but for much less money

by George in K.C. from Kansas City, MO on Sun Aug 24 2008

This car has performed great. I bought it new the last of Feb. and took it on a 4,000 mile trip through Kansas, Colorado,and Utah. Overall averaged 26.8 mpg. So far no reliability problems. Everything's working fine. It's the quietest car I've ever owned and since I've been driving for 58 years, there have been a lot of them. I do wish they would have put a six speed automatic in the Lucerne though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Car

by Rayalan from Seffner, Florida on Mon Jan 23 2012

An absolute gem. Technologically, ride comfort, curb appeal, could not ask for a better car at any price. It fits our needs to a T, we could not be happier. My wife has even taken a greater deal of pride with this car than any she has ever owned. Could not recommend it higher. Would give it 10 stars if that were an option.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

second Lucerne I've owned

by boomer from minneapolis on Tue Nov 08 2011

Just love the car, that's why i bought the second one. Only draw back is that the mileage is less with '08 than it was with the '06. We went with the cloth interior rather than the leather on both because it is so much more comfortable. Everyone to ride in it says it's the most comfortable interior they have ever been in. Either front or back seats.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great Car

by Jim from Iowa on Wed Jun 25 2008

I have the six passenger CXL. I like it very much, with the exception of some minor things. The driver cup holder is awkward to reach. The instrument dials have style, but hard to read. The right dials are in deep, and very hard to read in daylight with sunglasses. All the instru;ment lights should be on whenever the ignition is on. There should be a flat area to attach a GPS. Some states don't allow a GPS on the windshield. Got 27.3 MPG on a long trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Buick Lucerne CXL

by Buick Person from Valley, Ca on Fri Jul 11 2014

This is one sweet American built ride, Buick should still be selling this vehicle. Smooth, Quiet and a great 3800 Series III V6. Very reliable and a dream to drive. I am in outside sales and it's like being in my living room. Lots of room, I'm 6'3" and it has plenty of room in the front and rear cabin areas. Your friends in the back seats will think they are in a limo, lots-o-room. This is my third Buick, but it will not be my last. If I can get a good deal on a Road Master, that will be my long trip big American cruiser.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not reliable vehicle.

by DiJonDJ12 from Erie, PA on Tue Aug 01 2017

Car met all my needs. Had plenty of leg room and space. People wouldn't be so cramped together in the front or back seats. The trim CXL had a lot to offer. It had back up sensors, turn signals in the mirror, excellent sound system and etc.....I highly recommend this vehicle for those that need leg room and space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Among the best I have owned

by John from North Carolina on Sat Jul 19 2008

I drive a lot. Purchased black 2008 CXL just before Christmas 2007, and have 30,000 miles as of June. No problems and great ride on long trips with plenty of trunk space. Got the bench seats, heated & cooled: more comfortable during extended driving. Have no complaints. Gas mileage is good, but not as good as Park Avenues it replaced. Seems to average around 24 with 26-28 on trips (regular gas). Would be nice to have better dash accommodations for GPS, sunglasses etc., but no big problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

like a brand NEW Car [2008]

by Mr Buick from Brusly, La 70719 on Tue Jan 17 2012

I was well pleased with dealership, they were great !, the price was right, and trade in $ was very fair, and the Buick is like New, VERY pleased this great deal, and thanks to car. com, helping Me find this

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2008 Buick Lucerne

The Buick Lucerne full-size sedan's biggest change for the 2008 model year is the addition of a Super trim level, which turns the Lucerne story upside down. When it made its debut in 2006, the Lucerne was a Cadillac DTS at a 38 percent discount. Today's base Lucerne CX likewise costs about 35 percent less than the cheapest DTS. At that price it has the Caddy's roomy accommodations and relatively quiet cabin along with a 3.8-liter V-6 engine and interior quality that's on the high side, if not to the level of a Cadillac. You can also get a better-equipped Lucerne CXL for $29,920, or upgrade to the CXL Special Edition if you want the Cadillac's base 275-horsepower, 4.6-liter Northstar V-8, for $33,435... Read More