2009 Lucerne

Consumer Reviews

2009 Buick Lucerne

$4,469 - $11,981  MSRP Range
2009 Buick Lucerne

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2009 Buick Lucerne?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE LOVE LOVE MY CAR

by Myrtle Beach Amy from Myrtle Beach, SC on October 27, 2010

I previously owned 2 Cadillac El Dorados. After totalling the last, I tried the DeVille...hated it! My husband asked me to just "look" at the Lucerne. I'm glad I did...the Northstar is same motor of the Cadillac with pretty much the same luxury items offered on the Buick AND the spacious interior I loved! With the 4 front vents that are only on the V8, it turns this "granny" car into a VERY SPORTY car and I get lots of compliments! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by mikesgun from southern Iowa on February 25, 2011

Having owned several cars over the years, I have had great luck with Buicks. The Lucerne is a great all around car. It is big enough to travel in comfort, yet small enough to drive around town. Buick has done a really good job overall with this car. The heated steering wheel is a nice item. The cooled seats are also very nice in the summer. This is my first car with remote start and I won't be without it ever again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice car like the v8

by candy from Raymore Mo on April 1, 2010

i bought this car used (pricey brand new)and like the way it looks and handles. I have the v8 and i love the pickup when i am getting on the highway. The only thing i do not like is the turning radius. I have the cxs model and it comes fully loaded except for a 6 disc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kzimmer

by Kz from Roseville mi on April 25, 2017

Great car rides nice and smooth Love all the features remote start ,backup assistance ,navigation ,heated seat and mirrors

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This Buick Lucerne CXL is Excellent.

by C.S. Farmer from Detroit Michigan on June 5, 2017

I've owned many cars and this Bick Lucerne CXL Special Edition is at the top of its class for an Economy, Reliable, Value for money, Spacious, Smooth Design, Large American Automobile. I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone for business or pleasure. C.S.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very relaxing and reliable transportation

by Gkclair from North Little Rock, AR on April 21, 2018

It runs and drives like a dream. I purchased car with low miles. I love and drive everywhere. I will be traveling across the state soon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance with value

by Boston Tom from Boston, MA on January 12, 2010

The Lucerne is a true Buick and better in styling than recent generations. From the heated steering wheel to MP3 jack, the bluetooth to cell phone and available On-Star, as an intro-luxury automobile the CXL edition will more than meet your needs. Add the grit of the V8 and its a hammer in a silk purse. Great in summer and handles well in snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Steering problems

by Peggy from Florida on October 24, 2009

I like the car, but it has given us problem with the steering. This has happen on 4 occasions. It feels like the front end is draging. When we take it to the dealership, the problem will not repeat itself. Buick is saying that there is not problem, but there is a problem.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

250,000 miles and still going strong!

by HorseChic from Green Bay, WI on August 23, 2017

It's a shame Buick stopped making the Lucerne. It is an exceptional car. Sportier than a LaSabre, but still a luxury vehicle. You can get it decked out with heated seat, steering wheel and mirrors - all fantastic for Midwest winters.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

luxury interior

by BigBrownsFan from Youngstown, Ohio on August 23, 2017

Very Comfortable, flex fuel, interior very similar to any same year Cadillac. I rented a 2009 lucerne, for a 350 mile trip. I was very happy with it's handling and performance and it was very comfortable. I've driven Many Cadillacs in my life and it was very similar in comfort and extras.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Buick Lucerne

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2008 about the Super version of the 2008 Buick Lucerne. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what details are different this year, check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The Buick Lucerne full-size sedan's biggest change for the 2008 model year is the addition of a Super trim level, which turns the Lucerne story upside down. When it made its debut in 2006, the Lucerne was a Cadillac DTS at a 38 percent discount. Today's base Lucerne CX likewise costs about 35 percent less than the cheapest DTS. At that price it has the Caddy's roomy accommodations and relatively quiet cabin along with a 3.8-liter V-6 engine... Read More