1998 Park Avenue

Consumer Reviews

1998 Buick Park Avenue

$1,191 - $5,967  MSRP Range
1998 Buick Park Avenue

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Buick Park Avenue?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

1998 Buick Park Avenue

by Bigvicli from Manorville NY on Thu Aug 12 2010

My Mom gave me this car. At 36 years old I was a little reluctant to take it cause it's not the nicest looking car and I feel like I should be 80 years old. Looks put aside, this car floats over bumps. So many options like heated seats, automatic intermittent wipers. And the bottom line...As the sun shall rise, this cars will start. The car is so reliable and I would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Car

by Street123 from nebraska on Mon Sep 14 2009

This car is stylish and eveything you could want. It drives nice and smooth and picks up when passing. the exterior styling is amazing its looks better than a caddi. the interior is luxury and space all the way with ac adapters in every possible space. I was going to get a key made and the guy was astounded when i told him what car it was. he said he would trade in any cad for this park avenue at anytime. It has the 3800 series engines which are built like a tank! and you just gotta get used to driving the long wheel base.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Park Avenue Owner

by Park Avenue Owner from Tennessee on Tue Dec 01 2009

I bought a base model 1998 Park Avenue about a year ago and I do love it! It's very roomy on the inside and the seats are comfy and cozy. My boyfriend likes that there are ac adapters in the front AND back of the car. We do our own oil changes and minor maintenance and the car has been running smoothly for us... even when we drove it pretty much nonstop for two days when visiting family out of state. I was surprised that a vehicle this large was good on gas. We spent $300 roundtrip traveling a total of over 4,200 miles when gas prices were around 2.50/g here in the south and $3/g on the west coast.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by Maraion from Atlanta, GA on Tue Jul 28 2015

This was my first car and it drove like a dream! Over 200,000 miles and it's still going great! The interior is comfy, it's like you're driving a couch. It's pretty high-tech for the late 90s. My favorite feature is the volume adjusters on the steering wheel. So reliable and perfect for new drivers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and super reliable

by Ed from New York, New York on Wed Jan 11 2017

I brought this car with 83,000 miles and drove mostly city driving through potholes and city traffic in NYC and it has over 100,000 miles with no problems. All electronics work gets decent gas mileage, peppy,spacious with a big trunk and is very comfortable to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Park ave man from San Diego, CA on Wed Dec 28 2011

I love this car, I've had it for over a year, smooth ride, quiet, good styling, everything I wanted. I had a little problem with the radiator, and a small oil leak, all caused by my mistakes, the folks at Buick really built a great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I Have owned 4 of these .

by Buck from Altoona, Pa on Wed Dec 27 2017

Very Simple . If I didn’t have A Must For A Truck I would not be selling this . It’s a Fantastic Comfortable luxury & Great Gas Mileage Car if Pulled up next to newer Cars it holds its own on so many levels .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellant Comfortable Car

by M on Thu Sep 14 2017

One of the best driving long distance cars. I use to have a Mercedes S550 and the drive was great on both of these cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Automobile

by Dave from Jackson KY on Mon Apr 30 2018

Other than difficulty with the heating / AC controls it has been excellent Handles great, very little problems, A really great car. I am well pleased

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1998 Buick Park Avenue

About a hundred miles south of Los Angeles, cruising in the serenely competent comfort of a new Buick Park Avenue Ultra, I was seized by a minor midlife crisis.

Throughout my career, I've always touted cars that were long on agility and short on curb weight.

Yet there I was, feeling increasingly affectionate about this big two-ton sedan.

What's going on here? This isn't a hard-edged driving weapon for attacking off-ramps or mountain switchbacks. This is a big ol' American luxo cruiser.

Could I be getting o...o...on in years?

The seizure was brief. Once I'd identified the source of the anxiety, it was easy to rationalize the neurotic notion that a Park Avenue Ultra is suitable only for those approaching... Read More