2005 Rainier

Consumer Reviews

2005 Buick Rainier

$2,565 - $8,381  MSRP Range
2005 Buick Rainier

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

9 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Buick Rainier?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

More bang for the buck

by 1st time Buick owner from Hartford, CT on Sun Mar 30 2008

Lots of high end features. Higher ride like a SUV but rides comfortable like a car. Might not have purchased new because of the original sticker, but it makes for a really great ride now. We bought as a certified vehicle, so that gives us an additional sense of well being on the purchase of this vehicle. Love everything about it. Very classy. Strong & even acceleration. Mine has adjustable pedals also, which is great for my wife's 5 foot hight. They are 2 driver save positions, so she is programed in to have the pedals & seat adjust automatically when she gets in. Dual heat/air controls for both front passengers saves alot of arguments also. It even lets you know when you need an oil change. For a 2005 this vehicle came equipped with alot of extra features!!! no complaints. Always heard that Buick made a solid vehicle and now I am inclined to agree. Feels solid on the rode, with a quiet ride .Very pleased with our purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Another Great Buick

by Buick Lover from Syracuse, NY on Tue Apr 07 2009

This is the third Buick I've owned and all have been great. Little to no repairs and very reliable. I've had the Ranier for 2 years and it is a pleasure to drive. Very comfortable with plenty of room. Great performance whether in thecity or on the highway. My next car will be a Buick again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wow! Beautiful vehicle

by Bargain Hunter from Hayward, Ca on Sun Jun 22 2008

I think this vehicle handles exceptionally well and has a smooth ride. Acceleration power is sufficiently responsive. Mine is loaded with all the extras and so far isn't too difficult to figure out. The stereo programming buttons are a little confusing but after less than one day of driving, i think i've found most of them. Some may find all the buttons confusing. anything else i've had a problem figuring out is only by lack of experience (Onstar, bluetooth). This is a beautiful vehicle and even has a compressor built in in the rear side panel to inflat the tires! Comes with manuals w/instructions for every feature including onstar.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Winter champion, MPG is pretty bad though.

by Personafan from Milwaukee,WI on Thu Apr 06 2017

Overall, great car. Been through so much with this car. The MPG is the only reason I can't really give it 5 Stars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hidden Gem

by RichardWV from Fairmont, WV on Wed Mar 22 2017

Few people know that Buick made this SUV, but it is a top-of-the-line (best version) of the GM Trailblazer/Envoy SUV. Air shocks make it extremely comfortable to ride in - my friends with Mercedes are always amazed how nice the ride is. The ones with the V-8 engine are a joy to drive - plenty of zip to for the interstate and any other quick accelerating you want to do. The straight 6 is adequate, but not as fun and the same mileage as the V-8. The AWD handles the snow and winter slickness very well here in the hills of West Virginia. Not as many cup-holders as newer cars, but a great adults car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I've ever owned.

by Sherry from Fa.leetwood, P on Thu Dec 14 2017

Very comfortable and just a joy to drive. Handles great ! Feels like a luxury car. Still enjoying finding all the bells and whistles!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Who says American vehicles are not great!

by Nothing but Buicks! from Dallas, TX on Thu Sep 10 2009

I bought my Black 05 Rainier V8 used from the original owner. Awesome vehicle! It now has over 100K miles and you never would know it. I did have the airbags replaced recently on the rear suspension the truck would not stay up. Rides great now. The truck gets a lot of looks and comments. :) It tows great as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The Money Taker

by AJ from Georgia on Fri Oct 05 2007

I bought this vehicle and heater coiled busted antifreeze in front and back left me standing on side of road, vehicle was 2.5yrs old 47K miles Buick or dealer would not help with repairs, had it in prior for check engine light they could find problem. I prefer companies that have customer service and stand behind their products.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Mountain rig I have ever owned!

by Cat Idahored from Boise, Idaho on Sat Mar 24 2018

This all-wheel drive is so quiet I find myself Whispering when I'm driving it! It has been a very reliable vehicle and I feel very safe driving it up into the mountains and on back roads. I am so happy I own this vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1