1997 Regal

Consumer Reviews

1997 Buick Regal

1997 Buick Regal

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

8 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Buick Regal?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever owned

by Performance Enthusiast from Clearwater, FL on Sun Nov 08 2009

Bought this car used October 2008 for $800.00. Car had 176,000 miles and was in good shape. Runs super good and this car is FAST!! In performance shift mode with traction control on, I have managed a 4.6 second 0-60 time with this car, and it is 12 years old !! Always use Lucas Oil Supplements in the Engine, Transmission, & Super Charger. Car now has 230,000+ miles on it and still runs like new. It also gets 32 MPG on the Highway with Cruise Control on, 5MPG better than the factory EPA Rating. Who could ask for more for $800.00, need I say More?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A hiden secret of great value

by Buick Buick and more Buicks from Fort Lauderdale, Fl on Mon Feb 11 2008

I purchased a 1997 buick Regal, three years ago at $1000 and 180+K miles. I had put close to another $800 into the vehicle for new tires, brakes and rotors about 6 months after purchase. The engined ran smooth and silent, the electronic system though old and with some problems, never caused any headaches. The horn stopped working and some dash board maintenance lights stayed on, but that vehicle ran strong and never broke down, ran hot or caused any problems. I put another 40k miles on the vehicle, before selling it for $700. GREAT VALUE, GREAT RIDE, EXCELLENT RELIABILITY AND A PLEASURE TO HAVE!!!!!!!!! I'll always put my money on a Buick, before I invest in any other old car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Sleeper Rod!

by Buickman from Washington, DC on Wed Oct 31 2007

I had a 1997 Regal GS from 35,000 to 241,000 miles and it was superb! The transmission went at 210,000, and the motor started having issues at 240,000. The car handled beautifully (for a Buick), and the supercharger made for a fast and smooth ride. Near the end, some of the control buttons were starting to fade and the passenger window wouldn't go down on its own, but if my needs hadn't changed, I would've kept going with it! This was a great car for my 20's, balancing carpool room with a need for a fun drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

O.K. For The Money

by Sammy from New York on Mon Feb 15 2010

Payed about 3K from my friends mom with 45K on the odometer in 2005. Needed a work car to run around while I kept mileage low on other new car. Now at 115K it leaks fluid daily, stuff falls apart on contact and constant mechanical attention is required. Just waiting for the tranny to hick-up and off to the scrap yard it goes. I would of given the car a B+ rating if I could of achieved 100K miles with only minor issues. Considering the small investment its been alright.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

275,000 miles and still going strong

by CoBuntyBuffett from MA on Sun Aug 13 2017

The GS version with the supercharger jumps! Bought used with appx 20,000 on it when my daughter was 5. Passed it to her at 16 and she drove it for 6 years before giving it back when she purchased her own car. Comfortable with minimum but enough options. The 3600 engine is a beauty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Car is in Excellent Condition

by Buick Regal LS from Tucson, Az on Thu Aug 03 2017

This car is an excellent value for the Money. It is in excellent Mechanical Condition!! It has new Brakes and Struts along with a new "Starter" The car was meticulously maintained by an Older couple

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 buick regal ls 4-door sedan disappointing car

by carmann from roland,iowa zipcode 50236 on Tue Jan 29 2013

this car is the worst car i have ever owned and i will never buy another buick regal 1997-2004 gs 4-door sedan or ls 4-door sedan. i have put more money into it since i have owned it and iam ready to get a 1997 chevrolet lumina ls 4-door sedan with 205,411 miles on it for $1,450 at george white chevrolet-pontiac in ames,iowa zipcode 50010 that is much nicer than my 1998 buick regal ls 4-door sedan and i have never been as disappointed in a car as iam in my 1998 buick regal ls 4-door sedan and i would strongly prefer to have the 1997 chevrolet lumina ls 4-door sedan instead of the 1998 buick regal ls 4-door sedan so much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fast family sedan!

by Plankman10456 from Benton city Washington on Sun Sep 16 2018

Great car good gas mileage family acomidations turbo charged engine spacious interior built in carseat great sounding speaker system enormous trunk reliable transportation heated seats very open window arangement

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1997 Buick Regal

If you haven't visited a Buick dealer in a bit, you might be a little surprised at the vehicles General Motors' luxury-car division has in its lineup.

The big, bloated soft-riding Buick road monsters of the past have given way to smaller cars with cleaner designs, sharper performance, greater comfort, better handling, and, most importantly, higher quality and more value for the dollar.

Buick has received a complete make-over in the last two years. And now many of its cars are real headturners. It's as if Buick visited Jenny Craig; the GM division went in as Nell Carter and came out looking like Whitney Houston.

Let's say you would like a luxurious, sporty sedan - one that doesn't punish you with... Read More