2018 Regal Sportback

Consumer Reviews

2018 Buick Regal Sportback

$24,990 - $39,070  MSRP Range
2018 Buick Regal Sportback

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Buick Regal Sportback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A perfect choice!

by Sparky-Cranky from Dayton, Ohio on Fri Apr 20 2018

This car just makes sense. Occasionally needling additional space that a crossover can provide but not wanting to join the SUV crowd led me to this versatile sport back. Room for golf clubs, cart, and plenty of room to spare without leaving it all out in the open. Back seat room is spacious. The interior noise is quieter than any car I’ve ever owned. The 2.0 liter engine feels very robust and without the typical 4 cylinder noise. Love the quality without the insane price of comparable quality imports and yet this car delivers the ride and performance you’d expect from cars priced far above this car. Buick got it right with this one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I owned

by Buick lover from Denver on Wed Mar 07 2018

I personally love this car very comfortable to drive I have no problem jumping in it and going anywhere at any givin time the only complaint I have is the visibility factor from the way the body is built but still love this car alot

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very quiet, good speed, handles well

by Buick Regal Lover from white plains ny on Mon Aug 06 2018

Speed when I need it-Turbo doesn't make a lot of noise-Dependable burst of speed makes driving fun . Look forward to taking turns faster than the posted speed & seeing how car handles & stays within the lines. Thoughtful engineering & layout of dash. Previous car was a Buick Regal-What could be better?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great concept, but lackluster execution

by Elle from Chicago, IL on Thu May 17 2018

I waited six months for the Regal Sportback to come to life, putting my car search on hold, as I thought it would be the perfect combination of style, comfort, performance and practicality. The sportback concept is great, and the exterior styling is sleek and European, as promised. The engine is probably the most powerful one I test drove, with loads of power for highway driving and maneuvering. Steering felt nice and tight, and the ride was smooth. For a $40,000 msrp vehicle (Essence trim with tech and safety packages), however, there were a lot of disappoinments. The driver's seat felt very comfortable, but the rest of the interior was lackluster. As reviewers pointed out, there is a cheap, audible click when engaging the signal stalk. The dash is plain and, well, looks old school. More like my stripped down 1970 Chevy Monte Carlo than a 2018 vehicle. The rear view camera was fuzzy, the fuel door doesn't lock, and the only way to open the rear hatch is by pressing the Buick emblem on the back of the vehicle. No remote latch in the car and nothing on the key fob! Not only inconvenient, but carjacking hazard if you exit the car to open the hatch without turning off the ignition. (Airport pick up or drop off, picking up elderly passengers with packages who couldn't push emblem hard enough to open hatch, for example. ) Although the engine was quite powerful, the car was not fun to drive. It's a smooth, but floaty, dull ride. Again, felt a bit retro, like driving my Dad's old Ford LTDs in the 70s. Vehicle also uses premium gas, which adds to the running cost, and the mileage ratings aren't stellar. I found the stop/start engine a bit annoying at times, and I don't believe it can be disengaged. While I like the styling from the outside, I found the low profile almost too low, as I hit my head on the top of the door frame exiting the driver's seat. Overall, I was disappointed that the Regal Sportback didn't fulfill my need for a sedan with SUV practicality. It's a great concept, but seems Buick got a bit cheap in the execution. They lost the fun driving aspect reported on previous Regals, to boot. While I surely could have bought the car under the MSRP, I would rather pay more for the vehicle to have accoutrements truly consistent with a $40,000 sticker price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by rlk from long grove illinois on Wed Apr 11 2018

I'm enjoying driving it. My only desire would be for the seat to raise a bit more. The dealership and salesman were great! Highly recommend this dealership.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

REGAL SPORTSBACK

by Maggie/Paul VE from Cold Spring, NJ 08204 on Fri Oct 05 2018

We purchased this car to replace Paul's old Buick. He is delighted with the smooth, comfortable and quiet ride of this car. He thoroughly enjoyed his buying experience It was fun watching him enjoying himself so much. Thank you for the lovely experience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sharp looking car

by Barbara expert shopper from Prospect, CT on Wed Nov 14 2018

Car is really sharp looking both interior and exterior and fully loaded. I love the design of the dashboard. Computer system is fantastic and easy to use. Car performs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car!

by RegalLover from johnstown, PA on Thu Aug 16 2018

The car rides smoothly, it is good-looking, and handles well. The backup features are great! I purchased the two driver confidence packages and rely on them now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1