1998 Catera

Consumer Reviews
1998 Cadillac Catera

Change Vehicle
2.9 out of 5 stars

2.9

15 Reviews
1998 Cadillac Catera
3.4 out of 5 starsComfort
2.8 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2.8 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It drive well.

by Lavita22 from Memphis, TN. on July 28, 2017

This was a great car, it was enough room. The price was great. The mileage was awesome. Only downfall was the year of the car. I want a more up to date vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Love2Drive from Kansas City, MO on July 14, 2008

Okay, It's not the sharpest looking Cadi I've ever owned (on my fourth one now) but it performs as well as the V8's did on my Deville, Seville, and almost as good as my STS. It's an excellent in town traffic car and all I have to say on the hiway is "It's a Cadillac!"; it glides down the road at any speed effortlessly and passes without a glitch. Very strong transmission and passing power is the usual Cadillac standard - leaves everyone behind. This is a very solid, safe feeling car. It's heavy for its size but seriously handles like a much lighter car. It has all the usual bells and whistles one expects from a Cadillac product and the interior wraps you in leather and high quality materials. By comparison, I also have 2 other cars and when I want a comfortable, powerful ride, I hop in the Cadi. Bought mine used with just under 60K on it and have driven it for 2 years without any problems - I've only replaced the battery and obviously that's not a mechanical problem. Gas mileage is a standard 20+ MPG but considering what you pay for these awsome cars used, do the math and you come out way ahead of the game! I'll probably pass this one on to my teenager because I feel VERY safe in it and it's been reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by Rico from Chicago on August 12, 2009

I bought my 98 Catera brand New in Octyober of 98. Leased it. Car was awesome, never had a problem with the vehicle. Caddy dealer was great, service was done by them with a loaner. Only complaint, is that it could have used another 50 hp under the hood. I knew going in, but where can you go fast anymore anyway. Cruised at 90 no problem. Stereo was a Bose and was mind deafining. Chicago winters? no problem went through the snow without a hitch. I was sad to turn this vehicle in, but needed an SUV for kids.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best

by Frank from Laredo, Texas on May 7, 2007

This Vehicle is very Reliable and the best Car I've Owned, This Vehicle was Purchased Used in Florida and I drove it Back to Texas. It is a Great Car I Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable!

by yeah from new york, ny on September 21, 2011

best car you can get, gets you to where you need to go and is the best kind of car at and for comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by David from San Diego California on October 29, 2006

perfect car my first car ran great no problems ran as good as new great power great fuel all in all it iz a great car an im proud to own it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Looks nice but not reliable

by Catera Reviewer from KC on May 26, 2006

Many mechanical issues. Primary is the oil leak in to the spark plugs, b/c of W&T to the gasket. To fix the problem, the whole engine needs to be taken apart, which will cost in thousands. Additional problems are that the dashboard lights will periodically turn on for no apparent reason. Lastly, the transmission acts up once in a while and jerks the car. On the flip side, it looks nice both exterior and interior. Good luck with the car!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

bad

by badcar from san diego on November 4, 2010

Overall this car is trouble, i reccomend not to put interest, time or money in this car as i have wasted myself. it is only trouble and unreliable. A wanabe european car.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Mechanic's Nightmare

by Space Cowboy from Alpine, California on April 5, 2016

This is one of those cars that has to be maintained. Most GMC products, buy it used, and f it hasn't been kept up, you can replace the parts that are busted or worn and usually come out ahead. Not the Catera. If it hasn't been maintained, everything suffers, paint being the exception. The engine is solid, but one thing goes wrong, and the whole engine degrades. In 2016, I can't recommend buying a used Catera.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

worst car ever buy , waste of my money

by jeep from new jersey on October 4, 2008

this car love be in the dealer, to much trouble to keep , beside very expensived to be all the time on the dealer. without saying the mechanic call the catera.. catrouble

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2