2000 Catera

Consumer Reviews

2000 Cadillac Catera

$2,277 - $4,409  MSRP Range
2000 Cadillac Catera

Review Score

2.8 out of 5 stars

2.8

9 Reviews
22% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
2.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
2.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Cadillac Catera?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I like this car, not for mechanically challenged.

by Al from Gary, IN. on Fri Nov 15 2013

I have owned this car for 6 years. In this time I have replaced. Timing belt, thermostat, and water pump at 114,000 miles. Replaced the heater bypass valve 3 times(average 2yrs). Valve cover gaskets twice(avg 2years). Rear shocks at 100K, Crankshaft position sensor at 85K. Current mileage 143k, needs fuel pump. Still looks and rides great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Love hate relationship

by fan from south dakota on Tue Mar 25 2008

I loved this car whenever it worked properly; which was seldom. Lets see, beside the constanst check engine light, there was constant coolant and power steering fluid leaks. This car is high maintenance and low reward.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Falling Apart at 40k miles

by Fish from Colorado on Tue Feb 22 2011

I recently bought a used 2000 Cadillac Catera for about $3,000. It only had 40,000 miles on it, so it seemed like not a bad deal. Took the car to a mechanic before buying it to check it out, and they said it would require about $800 in repairs, which was fine with me. However, there ended up being much, much more wrong with the car than what we were told, and within 3 months of owning the car we had spent over $3,000 on repairs. Even minor repairs on this car were expensive, and even the Cadillac dealer did not identify everything that was wrong with it. Bottom line, DO NOT BUY A CATERA. Sure, it was 10 years old but no car should be falling apart at 40k miles. I'll say it again, DO NOT BUY A CATERA!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!

by Catera is the best Car ever Made from Ohio on Tue Nov 17 2009

Wonderful automobile, drive one and you will fall in love with it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

WOW!

by YV from San Antonio on Mon May 04 2009

The engine light is always on, and they charge 1-2,000 to replace the computer. Had to replace the Mass Air Flow sensor and that was $300, now I have to replace the speed sensor and that's another $300. The AC has never really worked correctly, never strong enough and eventually it gets cold. The odometer and speedodometer don't work so I don't know how many miles it actually has. And I don't know how fast I'm going. Problems!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Too pricy too maintain

by joey from atlanta georgia on Sat Jun 09 2007

too mny problems with finding any one who woudn't charge ''an arm and a leg'' to fix its numerous cooling system problems

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Cost to much to maintain

by luxury car lover from California on Fri Feb 08 2008

What a lemon. Looks great feels great but to many problems with them. Like electrical, the heating core, you name it. Most deffinetaly a money pit. Most mechanics wont even take it on to fix it so even if you have the money to your out of luck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Hmmm....nice but not

by CateraOwner from Dallas TEXAS on Fri Oct 25 2013

I actually really enjoy driving this car! It RUNS fantastically, handles well, and is quick for its size. However it DOES have it's many issues....my speedometer and odometer haven't worked since I got it, nor the cruise control, radio or interior lights (most of them anyway). Lots and lots of electrical issues and leaks, oil leak, power steering AND coolant, gotta keep them filled on the regular! Quite a high maintenance car but for someone who doesn't mind it, it is a rewarding drive! I feel like I'm driving a Mercedes or BMW going down the highway or in city! If you have one, take care of it, keep it WELL maintained and check fluids! Also, I'm not understanding the suspension issues others are having, with all my issues I thought for sure I had seen them all, but my auto level and suspension has always been a dream!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Quality & Repair Problems

by Go Sox from Boston, MA on Sun Feb 17 2008

I owned the car for 7 years. The first couple years were good, with great handling and decent performance. The alignment is extremely sensitive though, and gets misaligned from minor road bumps that did not affect my other cars. But after a couple years, there were some repairs for parts that malfunctioned earlier than they should have, including the transmi$$ion. The warranties, regular and extended ($1700 for up to 100,000 miles - got it as insurance since Cadillac/Opel is still a GM) minimized the costs but not the wasted time. After 5 years, it just got progressively worse, especially with the electrical stuff. The battery started drained after two years, and the last one lasted less than one year. The Check Engine constantly came on. Dealers tried but were unable to pinpoint exact causes, but were willing to replace parts. With parts from Germany, the costs are high. Private garages avoid working on the car. One of the national tire chain stores would not replace the shock absorbers. The car quality seems targeted to last for 2 to 4 years, after which things go downhill fast.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1