1997 DeVille

Consumer Reviews

1997 Cadillac DeVille

$120 - $5,788  MSRP Range
1997 Cadillac DeVille

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Cadillac DeVille?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Saved my life

by caddy fan for life from Minneapolis,mn on Sun Feb 15 2009

2 caddy family, we was in my wifes 97 Deville with 123,000 still ran like a new car when a person in a 1-ton Dodge pick up t-boned us in the drivers side doors, all air bags went off, we wound up in the ditch 75 feet from impact the driver was going 50 mph, we walked away with only scratches from glass, his head light was sitting on my lap. along with grill parts, very scary but I never broke anything and the Paramedics was called as a precaution they said 99% dont make a t-bone crash with a large pick up, even the sheriff said your caddy saved your life, Yes we still drive the Caddy's and love them great Northstar power, Very safe and extremely relaible

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not Your Daddy's Caddy

by Pops from Nottingham, Pennsylvania on Fri Aug 10 2007

This is an all around great car. It still looks stylish despite being almost 11 years old. This car rides like a dream. It is easy to go over the speed limit without noticing it! My car is also very quick. It surprises many people because they expect a Cadillac to be heavy and slow. The interior has a good design, with fan and radio controls on the steering wheel. You know it makes a statement when my grandchildren like to take it to the prom and school dances! That's why it's not your Daddy's Caddy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by Matt from Atlanta on Sun Oct 08 2006

Infamous Northstar engine is awesome. Nothing negative about it. Its a must get and its perfect for the money. real powerful and huge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by fatngs from south jersey on Sun Apr 12 2009

If you told me one year ago that I'd be driving a 97 Cadillac Deville, I would have said you're insane. But here i am a proud owner. I got the deal of the year on my concours model and i love it. At first i wasn't crazy about my caddy because quite simply it's a "grandpa" car; thats all i see driving them around here anyways. Even the owners video shows only "senior" people as owners. But, being a teen with little money anything was a step up from my old busted up minivan. I must say the quality of this car is right on par. Also i'm very glad that i got the concours model. It has 25 more HP, a floor shifter, exterior upgrades, and anolog gauges instead of the stupid digital ones. Anyways the interior is made with quality materials. Theres 8 ways to change the seats, 4 way lumbar, and tilting headrests. I love the heated seats. The powertrain is awesome!!! The engine is very powerful, yet civilized and the tranny is right where you want it. I love being able to pull up to stoplights and suprising people how quick my caddy is. Although my car only has an AM/FM cassette, the sound quality is perfect. The acoustics are right and the bass will rumble you. However there are a few things i dont like so much. The turning circle is as big as a bus; also you can't see where the back of the car is, so parking is a pain. That is quite wierd because the caddy has a shorter wheelbase than my van did but it turns alot wider. The only other complaint that i have with the car quite simply is the fuel consumption. I'm lucky if i can average 18 MPG. The other killer is that i REQUIRES premium fuel. Aside from those bad things i still like my car. It rides like you're floating on air. Although the car is over 12 years old it still looks and runs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Concours Lover from Irving, TX on Tue Oct 10 2006

What a great car this is. We just "put her down" with 225,000 miles and she still rode like she was new. Any lux car that will go that far gets my vote! If you can find one get it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Great Automobile!

by Mike from Newburgh NY on Tue Aug 22 2006

I have never ridden in a vehicle that still has that new car ride such a length of time! This vehicle was indeed well kept by the owner! Whoever purchases this vehicle will have a car that would last a long, long time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best riding car ever

by F&Mnorthern from Clayton, NC on Sun Jul 08 2018

This car met all of our family needs. It was a pleasure owning it. A very stylish and luxurious ride, great traveling under normal conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

mick's cars

by mick from Dent,mn. on Sun Aug 07 2011

the very best car i have ever owned and I have owned 27 cars personally.have 3 cadillac's now.one a clasic 1976 eldorado convertible,love it,also have had a 1955 crown victoria,purchased i 1956,was also a good car,traded it in 1959 for a top of the line Ford galaxie 500,used only 2 years,traded for a buick,fords were alway good,but wanted to try something different.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

first car, awesome car

by BC Caddy man from Bland, Virginia on Fri Nov 02 2012

This car is great, my parents bought this car a few years ago to replace our original family car. A couple of months after I got my license, they gave me the car after they got a '96 Cadillac Deville. We have had no trouble out of these vehicles, and they run great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful car

by Toronado from Fredericksburg VA on Thu Jan 31 2013

Bought Concours with 85000 miles, now has 180000. Wonderful power, stereo, quiet, comfort. Love the automatic climate control, rain sensing wipers, heated seats. Decent gas mileage (20 running errands, 28 on hwy). Hate the automatic rear view mirror and tiny outside rear view mirrors. My wife says the styling is too much of an old geezer car, but I enjoy the "sleeper" image. Starting to have issues now, but it has been pretty reliable but difficult to do most repairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Cadillac DeVille

By now you've seen the commercials for Cadillac's new Catera, a car being advertised as a different sort of Cadillac. It's small, like the Cimarron.

Well, this review isn't about that one. It's about your daddy's Caddy, the DeVille Concours.

This is a real Cadillac, tipping the scales at slightly more than 4,000 pounds, a tad more than 209 inches long and reveling in the big-barge glory that is Cadillac. All the cues are there, from the subtle deck-lid ridges that echo the glories of Cadillac's fins, the big chrome-y, egg-crate grille up front.

This car is as big and confident as they come.

Although not as large as the leviathans of the past, this one still would be considered large... Read More