1998 DeVille

Consumer Reviews

1998 Cadillac DeVille

$349 - $7,969  MSRP Range
1998 Cadillac DeVille

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

20 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Cadillac DeVille?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

caddy mechanic

by caddy fan from stroudsburg pa on Wed Dec 29 2010

always loved this generation deville. the only thing hurting these cars is the northstar headgasket problems. if it wasnt for that these cars would be the best in the world in my book, since when the motors are running properly the cars are a joy to drive. but. the northstars of this generation and the one after it all accumulate a blown head gasket at atleast 130.000 miles. i would never buy or own one with over 80,000-85000 miles, since at that point they are basicly a ticking time bomb. this problem can be a 1800-2500 dollar repair, and your replacing one hilage milage northstar engine with another middle-high milage northstar, wich will eventually due the same as the first did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Car Expert from on Thu Nov 06 2008

My dad bought this car in 2005 and I love it. After I messed up my car, my dad went out and bought a seville and let me drive this car full time. The handleing and braking power has saved me from numerous accedents and it is a very smooth car to ride in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If Ain't a Cadillac, Don't Drive It

by Only a Caddy Driver from Tallahassee, FL on Thu Jun 14 2007

This car has been great since day one. The Northstar engine is great and provides plenty of power especially with highway driving. The A/C gets cool very quickly (a plus in the Florida heat), and the 12 disc cd changer makes for enjoyable road trips to Miami from the panhandle. One problem with a ground wire breaking and the air suspension compressor going out, but the repairs didn't spoil the joy of the car. And about 26 mpg on the highway at 75mph ain't too bad for a car this size!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle, been in the family since new.

by Joe from MA on Sun Jan 14 2007

Excellent Car, one of the best I ever purchased, very reliable, good performance and great ride. This vehicle has beeen in my family since new and has always provided reliable transportation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pure Luxury

by Retired Traveller from Seattle, WA on Tue Dec 19 2006

We have owned our DeVille for 5 years. We have driven it all over the country and have never had a problem!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good mileage for heavy car

by Gammy from Texas on Wed Sep 13 2006

I only drive heavier vehicles because of highway traffic safety statistics which highly correlate with vehicle weight..better chance of survival in collision and fewer injuries. This car gets excellent gasoline mileage despite it's weight. Lots of room and very comfortable on long trips. No major problems. Love the ability to check vehicle functioning on the Information panel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pure Joy

by lwh1959 from Chandler, Tx. on Sun Feb 10 2013

This car, by far, is the most enjoyable car I have driven. I was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time, just when a person traded this Caddy in on another car. I have had to replace only the battery, and wiper blades, and a small leaking hose. The car had 96,000 on it and it has 103,000 now. It gets extremely good gas mileage, I have just now begin to have an A/C leakage problem. The controls on the steering wheel are a BLESSING, as I dont like to look down, while I'm driving to adjust the radio, or turn it up, nor adjust the A/C or heat. It can all be done on the steering wheel. The ride is excellent, and performance is out of this world considering the size and weight of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Expensive maintanence

by Rubble from Raleigh, NC on Sat May 13 2017

Problems abound with this my third Cadillac. Alternators, A/C compressors, heater core, reservoir tank, water pump, check engine light, rough idle, electronics... Nearing 160,000 miles and now a "crossover tube gasket" leaking coolant.. Very frustrating, cause when it's running good it's a dream, but when something goes wrong it's a money pit. Most of these somewhat common repairs in most all vehicles but with a Cadillac, it is much more expensive than other cars. Even regular maintenance is a little more, oil changes, filters, plugs, wires, batteries.. Is it worth it? It's tough to say. I love Cadillac, but this one has been a struggle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

full sized luxury at a reasoable price.

by Retired and loving it from Somerset, NJ on Wed Dec 13 2006

Extras you'll love: power, memory, heated leather seats.dual zone auto temp control. Rear windows that lower completly. Great audio system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Slot of car for the price

by Caddieman619 from San Diego, Ca. on Wed Mar 01 2017

This car looks great, feels even better and runs like new. You won't find another clean low mileage Caddie like this one. This one has been well taken care of and it shows.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2