2006 DTS

Consumer Reviews

2006 Cadillac DTS

$2,676 - $10,676  MSRP Range
2006 Cadillac DTS

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

59 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2006 Cadillac DTS?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever owned

by Happy owner from Edina mn on Sat Jun 06 2009

We purchased a 06 DTS Performance package, loaded with heated & cooled / memory seats /bose 6-cd changer /sun roof/ power sun shade/ Performance package has only 17 more H/P than the other DTS however it really shows, the large 18" chrome wheels and wide tires handles very well. and plenty of power this car is so smooth on the highway you glide at 85 MPH and this car does not float with body roll, Solid car beautiful looks and comfort, watch the speed as this car easily rolls at 80+ mph and you dont realize it, very quiet no road or outside noise my neighbor has a 07 Lexus and admits he likes this car much better and will likely trade to a Cadillac, his Lexus looks like a fancy Camry. My DTS Performance dont look like a fancy impala this car is the best car we have over owned 1-trip to the dealer for warranty item and that was tire pressure monitor thats it in 44,382 miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best American Luxury Car On The Road Today!!

by Cadfan from Miami, FL on Sun Jan 23 2011

I've owned many luxury cars over the years, but for the money, the DTS tops them all. It has incredible luxury, great performance, quality workmanship and PHENOMENAL gas mileage! I routinely get 25 MPG on the road. Detroit is NOT what it used to be... and that's GOOD!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bremen Ford Indiana

by Low Mileage Buyer from Austin, TX on Tue Feb 17 2015

Be Careful! Ad stated struts replace (wasn't done) and asked if there was needed work, they said no--car came shipped with "Service Power Steering" warning light on! Total repairs immediately cost over $1,500. Yes, I bought from internet and "trusted" their word (authorized Ford Dealer). The car was low mileage (55K) and otherwise a lovely car, performance, smooth ride, great options, etc. Would definitely recommend the 2006 Cad DTS---just NOT the dealer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by BlackJackel from Goose Creek, S.C. on Tue Oct 21 2008

My wife loves it. Cadillac's 4.6-liter Northstar V-8 comes in a choice of two configurations in the DTS. The L37 edition produces an estimated 291 horsepower at 5,600 rpm, while the LD8 is rated at 275 hp at 5,200 rpm. The L37 is designed to rev higher, while the LD8 emphasizes quick launches and has greater peak torque. Both engines work with a four-speed-automatic transmission

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned.

by Mr.Happy from Arvada,Co on Wed Feb 17 2010

Comfort,ride,handling,features,room,visibility and power are just some of the quality that the DTS oozes.What a great value compared to the competetion.Who knew that Cadillac had truly reinvented itself.What an unbelievable driving and ownership experience.This coming from a person with an eagle eye and high standards. This Cadillac is what you expect from GM,the best of the best. Good job!P.S. Love Onstar and hands free phone too.Makes me feel safe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Many more features than my '02 DTS.

by Bulldog from Alaska on Thu Nov 30 2006

Like the heated & cooled seats. Love the Remote start & the fact that it turns on the seats,either hot or cold depending on temp. The adaptive cruse control works great, & if you just turn it on but don't set the speed, it acts as a crash avoidence sys. The massaging seats up front are always on, we love them. HID lights are what we need in the winter up here. The heated steering wheel heats up fast & feels great, just wish the whole wheel,(360*) would heat up. Not just about 30* around 9AM, & 3PM. Wish the Nav system would work in Alaska. Wish there was a 6 disk CD changer w/ the Nav sys. The DVD works great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It

by Bud from Louisville, KY on Mon Nov 21 2011

Went from a Lexux to STS to the DTS, rides like a dream. Love the exterior . Couldn't be happerier. Will buy another .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value

by StuRev from Roanoke, VA on Fri Dec 31 2010

People that jump in imports without looking at what GM has accomplished with this vehicle are making a huge mistake. Excellent driver - tremendous value - great performance - super quality. Just a great all around car that does so many things well. Engineers are going to be challenged to improve so they'll probably just re-style the body and add some electronic gadgets. Do yourself a favor and test drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful luxury car

by CopR from Chandler, In on Wed Apr 11 2012

this is a fantastic, luxury car. gets lots of attention, all the toys, great ride and gets decent fuel mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good value

by Bn_Tripp from Rochester, NY on Mon Dec 12 2011

I just bought the car and love it so far. The power is very good and impressed with all that I can get for that amount of money. I was surprised how well it handled in the turns but it is by no means a sports car. If you are looking for a great crusing car that gets pretty good gas milage, the Caddy DTS is for you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2006 Cadillac DTS

As I was motivatin' over the hill, I saw Maybelline in a Coup DeVille.

''Maybelline" Chuck Berry's Maybelline is of a certain age now and her DeVille is history, replaced by the 2006 Cadillac DTS.

And unlike the scenario in the song, an old V-8 Ford would not catch this newest Cadillac -- not with 275 horsepower echoing from a 4.6-liter V-8. The car also has electronic stability control to keep it straight and even an alarm that pings if a turn signal is left on too long.

The turn-signal warning is worth mentioning because it flies in the face of the company's mission. Like all Cadillacs of recent vintage, the DTS is marketed to younger drivers, not older ones. Yet Cadillac does not want to leave Maybelline... Read More