2006 SRX

Consumer Reviews

2006 Cadillac SRX

$2,368 - $10,432  MSRP Range
2006 Cadillac SRX

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

31 Reviews
74% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Cadillac SRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2006 SRX V8

by druckus from Texas on Tue Jun 23 2015

I chose the SRX with the Northstar V8 over the V6 because my research indicated the V8 has fewer problems than the V6. The V6 engines are plagued with timing chain defects where the V8's are not. I very am happy with my decision. The V8 has so much more power and the gas mileage difference is only 1mpg on the highway. The SRX is a pleasure to drive and maneuver. It rides and steers more like a car and an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Cut Above the Rest

by Nole fan from Tallahassee, FL on Mon Jan 22 2007

Best driving, handling, and looking car that i have owned. Interior finish and design doesn't measure up to the rest of the car. A friend recently purchased a 2007 model and interior has been significantly upgraded. . I like the size and design of this car, and hope cadillac will continue to tweak the details. I have had no mechanical problems thus far; car now has 6800 miles on the odometer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty decent experience

by Bill from Ann Arbor, MI on Sat Nov 18 2006

I bought one of the first SRX's and it has been pretty good. GM offers a Cadillac loaner for all warrenty service, that's nice. It did not need much service, but a couple of nagging problems. The key gets locked in the ignition and won't come out, the front end was noisy and the dealer really resisted fixing it. Perhaps the newers models don't do this. Big thing though- the large sunroof seems really cool. But, after a bit of use it can be VERY squeaky because it is so large. They don't really seem to be able to deal with the noise in service. So, I would caution against getting sold on that feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A cut above what I have owned over the last 30 yrs

by Dale from Frankfort, KY on Tue Sep 12 2006

It's not perfect but it is well put together. Not many trips back to the shop on things that don't work and taking a vehicle of this type, one is treated a tad better than what I havd been accustomed to taking other cars in for service. One is treated as if you are credible!! The only thing I dislike about the vehicle is the gas mileage isn't the best, but hey, I knew that when I bought one, usually runs 17-18 in town and above 22 out on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW!!! Fantastic

by Lori from Norwalk CT on Sat Aug 05 2006

I have 4 kids and they all love this car. The car never broke down on me and this was my first car that i loved. We bring it everywhere with us like to Mexico or even Florida. It is even better in snow!!!! I would say this is the best SUV out on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd SRX I've purchased!

by Henry "Canadian Consumer" from Toronto, Ontario, Canada on Fri Jan 13 2017

This is the 2nd Cadillac SRX I have purchased used. Fantastic SUV with very dependable V8 engine and smooth performance. Gas mileage is acceptable with the usual expected service and maintenance costs of this type of vehicle with 181,989 km's on it. Highly recommend this vehicle to anyone with the only minor negative comment being the Navigation system is typical for the 2006 era of technology. I would buy this vehicle again, hands down over a BMW, Lexus or Mercedes anyday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good solid vehicle

by fleetman from Brighton,Mi. on Wed Jun 28 2017

runs great, great leg room ,smooth ride, looks awesome, tires and brakes have at least 20,000 remaining on them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SRX has been good to me.

by Waccamawneck from Georgetown SC on Wed Mar 29 2017

So far I've gone 146000 with routine maintenance and few repairs and the only major repair was my fault.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good one

by wayne from WALDORF on Thu Mar 15 2018

the car was great for all needs lots of room fast cool car nice riding every one likes it i want a new lasted a long time great for hauling to airport

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good Car

by Unexpected from Boston, MA on Thu Dec 15 2011

This is a very good car. We have a 2006 Cadillac SRX V6 AWD and it's been great to us. It only has 69,000 miles on it, but those miles have been majorly highway. We have all the options on it Xenon lights, the ultraview plus roof, the navigation/bose package, power third row seat, and the 18" chrome wheels. There is no option we don't have. It was my grandfather's vehicle before he passed, and then my grandmother gave it to my father and we use it on an everyday basis. A big improvement over a 1999 Toyota Camry lol. The only slight quibbles I have over the car is the way the Navigation system looks. It looks like it was created by fisher price. The ride could be smoother for a Caddy, but I will take that compromise any day, because the car handles great and the 18" chrome wheels look great. Also, the second row seats are a bit hard, but they have great room, and the third row seat has decent leg room if you get the second row occupants to move up a bit. The 3.6L V6 makes 260 horsepower and 252lb/ft of torque and is mated to a 5 speed automatic and then through all four wheels on our car, and it's a fantastic power train. Great compromise on fuel economy and performance. I've driven the northstar equipped caddy srx and it doesn't have much better pep but much worse fuel economy. Overall a good vehicle. Would recommend to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2006 Cadillac SRX

Crossover SUVs are the hot ticket because they mix the best of both worlds. They blend the function of an SUV with the handling of a car in a package that is lighter and more fuel-efficient than larger truck-based SUVs.

Cadillac's SRX is an excellent example of the concept. It can function as a luxury sedan one minute and an SUV the next. Such flexibility is appealing, particularly when it comes in such a well-designed package.

The SRX is derived from the unibody platform of the CTS sedan, but the wheelbase has been stretched to 116 inches. The creased edges, angular shape and vertical headlights reflect what has become the design vocabulary for the Cadillac brand. The SRX is one of the best-looking models... Read More