Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 XLR

Consumer Reviews

2005 Cadillac XLR

$10,729 - $26,545  MSRP Range
2005 Cadillac XLR

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Cadillac XLR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

xlr

by chamba from dayton,ohio on Mon Jan 24 2011

i have owned corvettes my whole life. the xlr is so superior to a vette-i can not even compare them. the ride is like you are on a cloud and handling is excellant. interior comfort is very good. all the ammenties on this car is unbelieveable. i do not think anything else could be put on this car. other than pricing i do not see why g.m. quit building them. as a luxary/sports model you can not beat it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

by Joe from Maine on Wed May 11 2011

After researching this car for two years I finally bought one this spring. This is without a doubt the most fun you can have on four wheels; it is a dream to drive. I don't think you could get more stares if you were in a Ferrari. The technology in this vehicle only adds to the drivers enjoyment with the Heads-Up-Display projecting your speed on the dash (you'll never want to go without it again) to the adaptive radar cruise control, to the air conditioned seats to the power hard top. The engine is phenomenal at passing speed and the gas mileage is better than I expected (average 20+ all around). The downside is the lack of any meaningful storage (trunk is just large enough to fit a pizza); you'll definitely need another vehicle in the family with more capacity. I also cross my fingers every time I put the top down because I know it won't be cheap when one of those pumps let go. All in all this is the best vehicle I've ever owned and I can't imagine ever parting with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The car of my dreams

by Bubbley from Lynchburg, Tn on Wed Jan 25 2012

i saw this car in 2007 and said this is the car of my dreams...thinking i would be 100 years old before i could afford one...but now i own the car of my dreams and i laughingly say "it drives and rides like a cadillac" it is the most fun car i have ever driven or owned....cadillac of vetts..........vettish!! love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by Roo from Cody WY on Mon Dec 05 2011

Bought this car in September 2011...WOW!!! Very impressive car with all the bells and whistles!! Only has 17,800 miles on it, in BRAND NEW condition! This car is all we could ever ask for....if you can find one, BUY IT!!! Only draw back we have is that we bought it in the fall, so now we have to wait until spring/summer 2012 to have the top down. We can hardly wait!!! Drives and rides like a dream!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Honey!

by Dee from Midland, Texas on Sun Jul 20 2014

I had been looking for an XLR for a good while when I came across this one. It only had 26,500 miles and was in great condition! Not a scratch or mar anywhere on it! It runs like a Corvette and handles like my 1995 SL500! There was a problem with the top mechanism, but it was solved without a trip to the mechanic. Great car. . . Loads of fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

XLR

by Scot's XLR from Port Orange Fl on Mon Jun 03 2013

I absolutely LOVE my XLR. It is Cadillac thru and thru. Sexy as heck and a real head turner everywhere I go. The engine offers unbelievable power whenever I ask for it and the handling is firm. If you are going to spend 30-40K on a newer vehicle, spend it on a used XLR you will not regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Desriable and Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Car Enthusiast from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Apr 03 2017

One of kind Luxury Sports Roadster. I would describe it as driving a Corvette dressed in a fine Tuxedo!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Second Dream Car. First was the Corvette!

by David from Rio Vista, CA on Sun Apr 09 2017

This is a Dream car rides better than Corvette I own. A collector's car for sure, and would like to store it for 20 years for my grandson and him drive it around.....a real head trurner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite car of any I've owned.

by GMXLR from Palm Springs, CA on Wed Jul 12 2017

A luxurious hot rod with a sumptuous interior that exudes good taste. The heads up display and interactive cruise control were frosting on the cake.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WoW I Love this Toy!

by Vetteman from Las Vegas on Tue Mar 13 2018

I have had for Corvettes to date. A 1980, 1974 convertible, 1995 LT1 and a 2003 ZO6 Corvette. This one is better than all of them put together. Absolutely love the handling as well as a retractable roof by the touch of a button. this is definitely going to be a collectible in years to come. They are steal right now until people find out how excellentthey drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2