2006 XLR

Consumer Reviews

2006 Cadillac XLR

$7,522 - $41,686  MSRP Range
2006 Cadillac XLR

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Cadillac XLR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Definite Head Turner

by A Sandoval from Houston, TEXAS on Sun Feb 14 2010

Shopped the Mercedes SL500, Porshe 911, and the new Vette... the XLR is the definite value car among this group. With all the features, styling, and a convertible hard top, you just cannot beat the XLR. Three negatives: 1) I would like more space between the steering wheel and the seat, 2) the steering itself is too good, feels very light. I'd like a better feel for the road. 3) XLR itself has no heritage such as the SL class, Vette, or the 911. I purchased the Star Black version, #124 out of 200 made. LOVE this car! This car doesn't come out of the garage unless its a sunny day on the weekend. My only question: does it have timeless beauty and styling as does the SL500? Only time will tell but I have already bet on it! Great job Cadillac.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Alternative to Porsche 911 & Mecr SL500

by Rolandbrad from Fairfax, VA on Fri Feb 02 2007

Drove the car on the coldest day in VA. Heated and maintained cabin temp with ease. Power and acceleration were fantastic and if you like the old, deep, throaty sounds of power, step on the pedal of this baby! Seats were comfortable and supportive (heat felt good). The heads-up display kept me informed of my progressively increasing speed without distraction. Suspension felt firm but a little road-feel was missing. The auto handled bumps and uneven roading well as the fluid based suspenion system grabbed the movements and cushioned the cockpit and passenger from the feel. Instruments were intelligently placed and easy to use on the first try. Overall, an excellent display of where he Cadillac family is headed in the future. A definite reccomendation...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drop top caddy

by Drop top caddy from Austin TX on Wed Apr 13 2011

I bought an 06 Platinum XLR 3 months ago and I love it. It turns heads everywhere I go. I bought it for 30k which is a great value for this rare roadster. I've yet to see another one since I've bought it. I plan on upgrading to a V In a couple of years. I love the interior with the HUD display and the heated/cooled leather seats. The cherry woodgrain looks amazing with the black leather. The 9 Bose speakers and built in nav provide an excellent driving experience with this smooth ride. Depreciation is a wonderful thing when you can afford your dream car. :). As Borat would say "I want car that comes with magnet." (this is the perfect car for a single 29yr old!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very collectible Cadillacs BEST

by Sonny from Bethlehem on Mon Oct 17 2011

Porsche/Corvette/M-B/BMW cannot compete with this car! I have owned them all and none can compete with the handling system, supercharged engine or the LOOKS! By far the best looking! No mechanical issues , no electronic warnings that BMW owns, heating/air systems that are excellent, heads up display that no other competitor offers short of Corrvette.......will also be a collector car. The numbers built are very low and offer great collectibility.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fastest car I've ever owned

by the bear from long beach ca on Sat Nov 13 2010

This v series XLR is a dream to drive and has outstanding performance and styling. It truly is a race car wrapped in luxury trappings. Not many were made and I expect it will on day be a much sought after vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A head turner

by SBLIT from Gladwyne Pa on Tue Jun 23 2009

Looks great, drives great. Creates a lot of excitement wherever I park or drive. A feel good automobile.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Luxury Sport car

by Will from Branson, MO. area on Thu Sep 13 2012

This car runs and drives fantastic. I bought this car to drive and now with 88,000 miles on it it still looks drives and performs like the day I bought it. It turns heads wherever I go. I'm in my 60's and have a DTS Cadillac but end up driving the XLR most of the time. Don't think I'll ever sell this one. It's such pleasure to drive. Great Car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice & a pleasure to drive

by sports car enthusiast from pittsburgh,pa. on Sun Jul 10 2016

i bought this car in vegas and drove it home to pittsburgh pa. i have owned six mercedes sl. and this was the most comforable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best luxury sport car I've ever had

by Mike ex-Corvette guy from Dallas on Wed Dec 28 2011

Love the car, one problem in 45,000 miles. Brake pads went out at 40,000. Dealer replaced for free. Not only has the car been exceptional but the dealers have gone way overboard to satisfy me. I once left the car for servicing and they detailed it, not just cleaned it - they detailed it for free. Motor has a little too much grunt for an autoatic if you want to play in the curves, should have a standard. Otherwise this is the best (and most expensive) car I've ever owned. Going back to a Vette in 2012.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finding my XLR

by Robert from Kern County on Wed Jan 16 2013

I found what I wanted. Turns out it was much more that I knew I wanted. Price was great and car was better than expected. What a great deal I got out of this search. I would recommend to anyone taking your time and finding what you want with the price you are willing to pay.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2006 Cadillac XLR

Gazing out over the long, sharp-edged hood of the 2006 Cadillac XLR-V, you might ask: Is this a sports car?

Sitting as low as you do in the car's firm leather driver's seat, the answer has to be yes.

Yet considering you are at the wheel of nearly 2 tons of steel (and lots of aluminum just to keep from adding even more weight), you have to wonder how it is possible.

But then hit the gas -- hard. The supercharger that force feeds the 4.4-liter Northstar V-8 engine whines and those 2 tons leap forward, as though it were a far lighter car.

It's true, Cadillac has indeed built itself a world-class sports car, which is what it set out to do in 2004 with the XLR. That car was not as powerful as this one, and... Read More