Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 XLR

Consumer Reviews

2008 Cadillac XLR

$6,971 - $54,135  MSRP Range
2008 Cadillac XLR

Review Score

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

6 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Cadillac XLR?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 6 of 6 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Corvette for baby boomers

by chart from warwick,ny on Fri Apr 27 2018

The car is beautiful, fast and comfortable. All the amenities as you would expect in a Cadillac. The hard-top roof disappears into the trunk and changes into a beautiful convertible.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Caddy built on World Class Corvette Chassis

by Enjuneer from Casper, Wyoming on Thu Nov 16 2017

I bought and -still- own this built in the Kentucky USA Corvette Factory 2008 XLR C6 chassis base in May of 2016 used with 14,403 miles. By 11/16/17 I have driven it 4,800 miles. 1,000 mile I-80 Road trip. Up steep graded Rocky Mountain switch backs, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole. I have been a car enthusiast since the 1960's owning some darned good ones, including 6 Cadillacs. I do cars shows with this XLR. It is a Cadillac'd C6 magnetic ride suspension with a great smooth running quick Northstar V8 engine & 6 speed auto transmission. It does 0-60 in 5.5-6 sec & quarters in the high 13's to low 14's. I don't know what the top is, but it's beyond 145mph with rock solid road handling at 145. It's a top of the line highway cruiser averaging 28.7 mph on a 1,000 mile I-80 road trip. Just like the World Class Corvette, you can't outperform or outclass XLR's with any other luxury sports car in the world without spending one heck of a lot more money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A road car with a forgiving suspension

by xlr driverman from Indiana on Sat Aug 03 2013

I purchased my XLR in January 2010, it had 8,500 miles on it. The car was garaged until March and then driven on a daily basis (as long as it wasn't raining! The handling and comfort were exceptional. I should not that I traded a 2002 Lexus SC 430 for this car and I purchased the Lexus new in 2001. The XLR is far more car than the SC 430 and performs better. The Lexus did offer more interior and trunk space, but I gladly gave that up for the style and performance of the XLR. We drove the XLR from Indiana to Gaspe', Quebec, Canada a trip of over 3,300 miles and did it in nine days. The car performed superbly and got 28 mpg on the highway. The suspension was the big difference, it never was sloppy, but it did provide a reasonably controlled ride regardless of the road conditions which was hard to believe since the tires were "run flats" which always give a rougher ride. If you look at used XLR don't be surprised at the higher than normal mileages, people who own them love to drive them!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

2005 XLR

by Supersonic Tom from Palm Springs, CA on Wed Sep 14 2016

The most disappointing car I have ever owned. Much maintenance needed, replaced the Trans, entire center stack, radio, disc, nav system, front sway bars, radiator, roof retracting jammed over and over, and much more too numerous. I practically gave it away at 16,000 miles, took a beating on my purchase price, Bought for $78K, traded it in for $39K. I will never buy another Cadillac product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Mercedes

by Mo from Cullman Alabama on Thu Nov 23 2017

It’s good and I would love to own one again They need to make it v6 It was bad on gas but it’s fast car Also many people interested to have this car The space for the passengers and driver need to be more bigger

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

OMG

by roadkill from on Thu May 23 2013

Please just crush it! This car is only worth the value of the parts that can be stripped of it. I think the price has a type and is really $7500

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1