Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 1500

Consumer Reviews

1997 Chevrolet 1500

1997 Chevrolet 1500

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

13 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Chevrolet 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck - Hard to find

by Truck Guy from CA on Fri Dec 10 2010

This truck is a hard-to-find unit. I used to own an exact matching Z71, and I still regret the day I sold it. Nice find!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCK

by Timmy69 from Davie, FL on Fri Dec 31 2010

I have had 3 of these. GRRREEEAAAATTTT TRUCK! With everything this truck has on it, it is a steal! I wish I lived closer to go look at it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GM pickups

by diesel dan from colorado on Tue Apr 16 2013

Excellent vehicles. 1988 thru 1999, all models of GMC-Chevrolet. I own 3 of them. Buy it!!! I just bought another one with 165000 miles and it runs and looks like its new!!!! 400,000 miles is not unusual for these trucks

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Always like style & reliability of this model

by Lefty from Kent, Wa on Sat Sep 07 2013

Had many experiences using others truck models like this, 1991-1999. Always been reliable, easy to repair, built to handle any job I've needed it for, and extremely duable(see lots of these models on the road today).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

97 chevrolet silveraldo z714x4 5.7l

by truck enthusiast from Richburg, SC on Sat Jul 26 2014

This truck is like none of the newer models in my opinion. It runs great, has pretty good gas mileage, sturdy frame, easy to work on, and is extremely reliable. Never have had any major issues with this truck. Has 170000+ miles and runs like it's new! If you're looking for a great truck, this would be it! I bought a new car last year and WOW what a difference! Yeah, it's more "modern" but everything scratches and tears up so easily in comparison to this truck!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck

by bama1990 from Chico Ca. on Mon Jan 13 2014

I have 7 of these trucks and they all have been great my favorite one is a 97 2wd ext cab it has 311000 miles on it and its all stock it still has the original water pump and fuel pump and alternator this truck still looks great and I drive it everyday

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCKS

by GO4X4N from Boise,Id. on Wed Jul 17 2013

Hi, I own the 93 Silverado, 4X4, 1500, 5.7L, std. 5spd. Great truck, it will take you anywhere you want to go in comfort. The biggest draw backs to these old trucks are the small parts like alternators, water pumps and wiper motors. I must also mention my trucks MPG. City 11, Hwy 15. That's acceptable to me for a dependable truck. I hope this helps somebody make a good choice on a truck. Good Luck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Oldie but Goodie

by KikiC from Canton on Wed Jul 11 2018

It's been a reliable truck that has the comfort of a car. The heater will keep you toasty in Winter. It also has a new battery and runs great. Has some rust, dings and wear. The topper / shell will keep your stuff dry. 8' bed is perfect for hauling drywall, lumber or whatever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

One of the best trucks i have ever owned

by Jeffdickson40 from Melber ky on Thu Aug 24 2017

Yes if you can get a truck like this .With low mileage. Please feel free to topuchase one. Mine has the 5.7 Engine with tow package.3/4 ton suspension. Which gives you a Smith ride.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Could not of asked for a better truck

by Kingchris39 from Zanesville Ohio on Sun Sep 17 2017

I have 300000 miles on mine and it still running like a champ same motor 3 transmissions best truck for the money plenty of room inside room for 5

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2